We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-situated boutique hotel”
Review of Hotel Puri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Puri
Ranked #11 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Well-situated boutique hotel”
Reviewed 25 January 2017

Situated on a road parallel to Jonker Walk and about 5 minutes walk away. Secure car parking is available about 70m downstream on a one-way street. Umbrellas essential in rainy weather - no covered parh from the hotel to the carpark, no covered porch for the hotel for alighting/pickup and Jonker Walk is basically uncovered. The hotel is beautifully decorated and packs a lot of atmosphere. We stayed in a superior room on the ground floor looking out to the interior garden. Airconditioning was not working properly, but was quickly rectified with a call to reception. There was a noticeable foul smell from the drainage hole in the shower cubicle though. Superior room had a mini-fridge and safe. Standard room did not have the fridge and was significantly smaller. Room lighting was generally dim - too dim to read at night. Breakfast was adequate. Egg and noodle stations, but no meats in the buffet. Coffee not freshly brewed. There is a small stall in the lobby with decently priced local foodstuff. The electronic room keys were easily deactivated, but were reactivated with a smile!

Room Tip: Go for the superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank updoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    609
    197
    42
    18
See reviews for
309
465
85
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2017

Hotel has expanded since the last time i stayed a few years back. Parking is very far from hotel so you might want to drop off your luggage and passengers outside the hotel before you park. Lift to every floor level is good. Staff friendly but room dated, TV ancient, there were ants when food was placed in the room. Breakfast is okay but options limited.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrYeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

Hotel staff require significant hospitality training. When I arrived, one male who worked there stared at me in a most disconcerting and inappropriate way - this meant I felt uneasy from the outset. Concerning to read on Trip Advisor that this is not the first time for this type of feedback from a female guest. First hotel I've stayed at in Asia that doesn't take your bags to your hotel room!!! Room had the most awful smell, like it was newly painted? Hotel changed it for me immediately but the new hotel room had dirty sheets. Booked a driver with the hotel to the airport. One driver said a number of inappropriate things which made me uneasy. Got a different driver through the hotel but recommend you try a different service if you value feeling safe - he spent almost the entire journey messaging whilst driving! If the hotel staff took more pride and care in the quality of the service provided it could be a nice place.

Stayed January 2017, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank PBLette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in a superior double. First impression was the entrance hall which had lots of furniture to keep one interested, with couch and a table with chairs which we made use of in the evening. Further into the hotel is a small museum and picture gallery.

We were located on the 1st floor. The room was small but adequate, if not a little dark, with good bed, storage, tea/coffee, fridge and safe.

I could find no fault with the simple breakfast other than the coffee being rather weak, which was not as extensive as a large hotel can offer, but enough to suit Eastern and Western tastes.

I had a problem with my Malaysia Airlines domestic flight being altered, but the receptionist was able to help by contacting my transfer company to change arrangements.

As for location, it is in the heart of Chinatown, a mere 2 minutes walk from Jonker Street, so is close to all the interesting parts of town.

Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterLanky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mermaid Beach, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2017

I really enjoyed our 2 night stay at Hotel Puri. The rave reviews were spot on. The location, staff, atmosphere and even breakfast are great. I absolutely loved staying in the UNESCO World Heritage area. The spa is also really nice and affordable. Judy gave me one of the best massages of my life, which was much appreciated after several days of traveling. Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrinaDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 km away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.4 km away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
1,390 reviews
2.8 km away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 166 in Melaka
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 166 in Melaka
725 reviews
1.1 km away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 166 in Melaka
2,365 reviews
0.9 km away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 166 in Melaka
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puri

Property: Hotel Puri
Address: Hotel Puri Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Melaka
#6 Family Hotel in Melaka
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
Price range (per night): $53 - $127
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Puri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Puri Melaka is a boutique hotel in the heart of the old city of Malacca. The hotel is a carefully restored Peranakan house which once belonged to the decendants of an eminent philanthropist and rubber plantation owner, Tan Kim Seng. Extending 100 metres long, its distinct characteristics are its beautiful and intricately decorated façade & the impressive length of the house. Retaining its old charm, Hotel Puri Melaka provides modern amenities to its hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Puri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing