We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Boutique Hotel”
Review of Hotel Puri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Puri
Ranked #13 of 170 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2017

Everything about this hotel is lovely, the staff, the rooms the anitquity and of course the location. It is an antique Chines carved hotel with a generous breakfast around the corner from a variety of local food and western food restaurants, museums, shopping malls and right int he middle of parades as well

Room Tip: Lower floors are convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank puriris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

91 - 95 of 1,273 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

I had occasion to stay here for two weeks recently. I kept a garden balcony room on the top floor. I was quite comfortable in there. Clean, nice bed. Lots of lighting options. A little fridge. I made coffee in the room a few times. Plenty of hot water. Pictures on the walls. Nice.

The common areas are quite classy and the front lobby is cool, comfortable and inviting. Fresh ground coffee options are available there. The WiFi is beyond reproach.
The staff were quite helpful. Always a ready smile.

The breakfast buffet was good. Egg station. A variety of Asian options were there, and that side had more details. Typical for this part of the world, the infamous chicken cocktail franks figure prominently. I'll never understand that. Every day? Ughhhh. There is other variety every day. Little pancakes a few times, French toast. I was quite happy overall and compared to the dozens of this type of buffet I've attended over the years I give it a top ten spot. I speak in class. I have had the high end stuff. This worked fine.

The location is perfect. Right over one street from Jonker Walk. A distance to the malls. Little India is near. Everything is close enough. If you like Über, you'll be impressed how good the coverage is at truly affordable rates.

I would have to say, I saw a few balconies from the breakfast garden hall. They had a little table and two chairs. Mine, however was a bit harsh. The space was big enough for a chair and table. The hot, noisy A/C compressor occupied the floor. When I opened the door I got a scorching blast. In a world where these things are put everywhere; this one was given no thought. You could see where it would've gone if my needs were considered. My needs were not considered. I was quite disappointed. I certainly would have enjoyed coffee on the balcony if it was set up properly. This was the only glitch in the stay.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Iratdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Hotel Puri is situated at Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock . It is a Peranakan Boutique Hotel
built in 1822 and bought by a Famous Chinese Mr Tan Kim Seng. The Hotel is newly renovated and furnished, it even have a lift now. I was there with my wife and friends for a night on 1 Feb2017 during Chinese New Year. The Junior Suite was clean and well equip. It has a staircase leading to a mezzanine bedroom. The Breakfast is fine (we are vegetarian). The Hotel Service has improved. It's location is very strategic as most of the main attractions are within walking distance. The shops around Jonker Walk opened till late and no problem on meals as Café is everywhere.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jameson N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Off of Jonker street, but walking distance to everything! This is a great place in Melaka. the rooms are nice and the hotel is pretty clean. Breakfast is nice and was included in our reservation. We had a spa day at the Puri spa and it was excellent! The only negative is the staff is a little lackadaisical and cleanliness could be a little better. Minor things, no major bads, but not a 5/5 rating because of that. Location is perfect and had a great 3 night stay!

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank uncle_albert5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

Melaka is one of my fav place to getaway. Especially for the food. puri hotel is the most fav hotel to stay with grwat value.. great location.. and great food on breakfast..

Peranakan style with oldschool taste .. so pretty. The room also simple with a good aircon and bathroom
With classic window

Walking distance to all area in old town. Like dataran pahlawan, red square, jonker street and nearby.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank SofiaSariDewi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 km away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.8 km away
The Rucksack Caratel - Garden Wing
0.2 km away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#7 of 170 in Melaka
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 170 in Melaka
679 reviews
0.4 km away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 170 in Melaka
1,566 reviews
0.9 km away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#4 of 170 in Melaka
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puri

Address: Hotel Puri Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Melaka
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#13 Best Value Hotel in Melaka
Price Range: $57 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Puri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Puri Melaka is a boutique hotel in the heart of the old city of Malacca. The hotel is a carefully restored Peranakan house which once belonged to the decendants of an eminent philanthropist and rubber plantation owner, Tan Kim Seng. Extending 100 metres long, its distinct characteristics are its beautiful and intricately decorated façade & the impressive length of the house. Retaining its old charm, Hotel Puri Melaka provides modern amenities to its hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Puri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing