We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice with good location”
Review of Hotel Puri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Puri
Ranked #11 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Bellingham
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice with good location”
Reviewed 10 March 2017

Very nice with good location for walking around. Sid's at the end of the street overlooks the water and has some good appetizers. I didn't use the spa but two of our group did and they loved their treatment. Lots of common areas, well maintained. Quite nice rooms. Totally adequate, not luxurious. Breakfast buffet was fine. Solid selection, nothing exciting.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TropicalLorax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    609
    197
    42
    18
See reviews for
309
465
85
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2017

Great stay within the prime location of Jonker Street. Value for money and certainly worth it. I am particularly like to sit around the courtyard both the lobby and at the back of the main area. It gives me a good sense of touch with historical artifacts and amazing ambiance.

Furthermore, the breakfast is good!

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KahFui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2017

If not for anything else, the location deserves marks! Right in the heart of China town, if one happen to be in Melaka on weekend as we did, then you can't ask any better place for Jonkar walk.

Good heritage Nyonya building and an excellent breakfast with ample choice. Room we stayed was Ok. Over all a very good base for visiting sights of Melaka. Try to visit Melaka on weekends as Jonkar walk is a must visit item

  • Stayed May 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBird74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2017

We've stayed at the hotel twice. Great location - a stone's throw from Jonkers Walk in the old part of Meleka. Rooms were well furnished and met our needs. Staff were helpful. The hotel maintains its Peranakan charm and feels like an oasis of calm amidst the hustle and bustle of Melaka.

Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank grey_hare63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Footscray, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
544 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2017

you can't fault the location, nor the architecture but i feel quality of cleanliness has dropped.
the first thing i noticed was the filthy glass entry door which wasn't cleaned until the last day I was there. dudes, this is the very first impression of the hotel!
it was really wonderful to be upgraded to a suite, thank you, but when walking in, i found the bathroom shower screen had soap scuds, the mirror spotted, there was debris under the sink and taps were unclean. however, all this was attended to immediately once I informed reception. neither was daily vacuum was done properly.
i was also so sad to see the shading frangipani trees gone at the breakfast area.
but i do thank the eficiency of staff when i had to book another room in emergency at 2am. it was handled most smoothly as with checkin. however, checkout was lacking in warmth and impersonable a stark contrast to arrival.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank 1mightymouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 km away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.4 km away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
1,390 reviews
2.8 km away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 166 in Melaka
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 166 in Melaka
725 reviews
1.1 km away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 166 in Melaka
2,365 reviews
0.9 km away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 166 in Melaka
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puri

Property: Hotel Puri
Address: Hotel Puri Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melaka
#6 Best Value Hotel in Melaka
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
Price range (per night): $53 - $127
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Puri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Puri Melaka is a boutique hotel in the heart of the old city of Malacca. The hotel is a carefully restored Peranakan house which once belonged to the decendants of an eminent philanthropist and rubber plantation owner, Tan Kim Seng. Extending 100 metres long, its distinct characteristics are its beautiful and intricately decorated façade & the impressive length of the house. Retaining its old charm, Hotel Puri Melaka provides modern amenities to its hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Puri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing