We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
366 results
Traveller rating
30
140
144
34
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
30
140
144
34
18
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 366 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2012

The room we stayed in was on the ground floor, right at the back of the hotel, with a window and AC. Basic and small room, but clean with a decent shower and a safe for your valuables. Breakfast was simple, not a wide variety, but served in a nice open-air atrium type of room. The massage in the hotel was good and very relaxing. There's free wifi everywhere, unfortunately the signal wasn;t strong enough in our room.

The location was very good, close to Jonker street and any other points of interest, but still quiet at night. Make sure to check out the local market close to the hotel on Saturday (exit from the back side) if you want to avoid the touristy Jonker street with it's night market.

Staff was friendly and very helpful. We booked a bike-tour via Eco-bike tours which was a great 2-3 hours easy bike-ride outside of the city with a lot of info on local vegetation, rubber, herbs etc. Can be booked via the hotel.

Room tip: Make sure to have AC switched on at night, we forgot one one night and woke up covered in mosquito bites
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I love boutique hotel, somehow it feels personal and nostalgic. Baba house holds lots of memory and it is rustically elegance and it pay attention to details like porcelain door knob, sink and decoration. You feel like you are in China Emperor movie. However, this place are lacking of TOUCH, it is a shame because with a history and theme like this, you can go far. But anyway, I will definitely come and visit again as it is in the middle of the city and i love boutique hotel!

Room tip: Select the room with the window as not all room comes with window
Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pixie-alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Just got back from Malacca, had a fantabulous trip though it was a short trip but it is good enough as Malaaca was a a small town & we only targetted on Jonker Walk.
Parking is available at the back of the hotel, convenient !
Check in was very smooth (only the receptionist not friendly at all, eventhough the next day check out time also she doesn't show any smile face but there is the note on the wall to smile everyday) Unfortunately our room are just next to the construction/upgrading area@3rd floor, very dusty.
Bed are comfy & as per others tripadvisor reviews, their basin are located outside of the toilet, simple & nice.
For those long hair & need hair dryer better bring along cuz they do not provide portable hair dryer & adviced to blow my hair nearby the staircase (fix hair dryer) which is totally unacceptable by me.They shall have some spare unit.
Breakfast are so so & acceptable. The best of this hotel was the strategic location, just 5mins walk to Jonker Walk, we enjoy the short walk very much. There is a beautiful church just next to the hotel, we really enjoy the heritage buidings & was an enjoyable trip or us ^.^

Room tip: Room at the center would be better as ours was Superior King B right at the corner which they having upgrading/construction.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank conniehoo8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Friendly staff, small rooms and Lack facility service. Poor Wifi.
Reasonable price for accommodation.
In the heart of jonker street where thyere is lots of good restaurants around.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reddevi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Friendly service, small (though a bit dark) air-conditioned rooms, very basic breakfast - but as much coffee as you like :), plus a reasonable price for accommodation in a traditional Baba house that is about 10 minutes walking distance from the city center and just 2 minutes from a cluster of restaurants and bars - so good value overall.

Pay attention when booking - if the photos do not show a window, there isn't any in the room. Only the most expensive rooms have a window (and sometimes still not a "real" one to the outside - in my case, it was just pointing to the inner corridor). Not that this is really important for the quality of sleep - but it may be good to be aware of this, to avoid any disappointment.

After check-in, you may also receive a free ticket to nearby Bird's House - it's worth using it, you can learn the history and all kinds of peculiarities behind the bird's nest soup - and to watch the process of cleaning of the nests before cooking. Animal lovers - only abandoned nests are used, at least that is the official version they give you there. :-)

Room tip: Pay attention when booking - if the photos do not show a window, there isn't any in the room. Only the more expensive rooms have a window (and sometimes not even "real" one to the outside, just to the corridor).
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank the_vj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews