We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Portugese Food”
Review of Portuguese Square

Portuguese Square
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
US$97.50*
and up
Private Full Day Malacca Tour including Lunch from Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Portugese Food”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Good place to taste Portugese Food especially Portugese Sea Food! Many stalls to choose from!

Helpful?
1 Thank KLMystic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    43
    38
    12
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Langkawi, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Battered, boring, empty”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We trekked for such a long time next to a motorway for the most part, on the misconception that we might see some nice colonial portuguese architecture here. Mistake! There was nothing there except paint-chipped tables and chairs. Don't waste your time here!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank katiebridges27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice seaside”
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We went to Portuguese Square on an ordinary day, evening, nothing much happening there, but the seaside is nice and breeezy. A nice hotel next to it (Lisbon hotel) and stalls selling toys, titbits, and quite a number of seaside restaurants -- but we did not try any of these. ample parking too. A place to remind us of the Portugese heritage of this city. This place is only 10 min drive from Melaka Raya, i think visitors to Melaka should come here for a short visit at least.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank tanmalaysia_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Feel the Christmas Mood Here!”
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We were driving around Portuguese village and notice many houses were decorated Christmas decorations and told ourselves, we will go back there in the night. The night scene was so much nicer, some of the houses were sponsored by some local brands and they actually allow you to their garden to shoot photos with the decorations. If not, most of the houses were nicely decorated and you can just feel that Christmas is round the corner. We ate at one of the restaurant in Portuguese Square. It is stall no 1, just next to the drink and grill seafood stall. Be prepared that it is very crowded during this period of time and the the wait is about an hour for your food to be served. The price was very reasonable. We played fireworks and fire crackers. During this season, they was a group of children who went round to sing Christmas songs.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Yohyoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“dinner with nice sunset view”
Reviewed 6 December 2011

1st time here. I was impress by the scenery. Food was nice here and very nice good sunset view.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank mickyng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Portuguese Square also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Portuguese Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing