We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time around.... and we can't wait for our third!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Matamanoa Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Second time around.... and we can't wait for our third!!”
Reviewed 21 January 2011

This was our second trip to Matamanoa. Having been so impressed in July last year, we booked again before we left! I'm so glad we did as this place is truly special!!!!

We loved it so much that we dragged friends back with us. They loved it too which is making me think that I should keep this special place a secret from now on.... I guess this review undoes that :o)

The staff are AMAZING... and nothing is too much trouble. We leave feeling as if we have made a whole lot of new and very good friends. The rooms are beautiful and are kept pristinely clean. The new spa facilities are outstanding!!! Having a massage in what feels like a treetop oasis is nothing short of spectacular.

If you're after a beautiful, relaxed, friendly, romantic, idyllic (can I say anymore?) holiday then Matamanoa is the place for you. I recommend it whole heartedly and we can't wait to go back again.

To all of the grumblers out there who complain about the food.... please realise that we small island nations have to work a little harder at times to get produce to where it's needed. Matamanoa does an amazing job (given that it's an hour and a half from the mainland) to provide the fantastic food on offer. May I suggest that if you'd like the food to be more like what you have at home..... then stay home :o)

Thanks Matamanoa for another truly wonderful holiday!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank LeeLeeBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    662
    273
    83
    37
    24
See reviews for
42
858
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2011

Fantastic! Friendly! We would go back in a heart beat! Absolutely loved our stay!

Rooms were spacious, we were in a beach front bure, the artwork on the ceiling was amazing. Rooms were air conditioned and there were fans also. Rooms were serviced constantly, we would go to dinner and they had done a clean up when we got back.

Service was amazing, it felt like we were part of a family. Everyone was so friendly, they knew our names and every time they saw us asked if they could do anything for us or help in any way. Louie is wonderful!!

The back door does not lock but this was not an issue as there was no trouble at all on the island as this was the only resort there and anything of value you can put in the room safe if you find it necessary.

The food was AMAZING! So yummy! It was hard to decide what to eat every day because there was just so much to try! The curry is AMAZING!!

We absolutely loved it and if we were to go to Fiji again we would stay there!! Such a lovely place to stay, relaxing, plenty of activities to do and try. Loved it!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank micandbec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We were at Matamanoa for 5 nights over Christmas and had a fantastic time. The island was only at half capacity because of the renovations which made our time there even more special as it felt extra exclusive.

The Bure was amazing. We were on the sunset side which was lovely but if you get the choice I would request the sunrise side as this goes straight out on to the main beach and you have sun umbrellas by the sun beds close to your Bure. This didn’t majorly affect us as we both much prefer sunbathing around the pool – which itself was very chilled and relaxed.

The snorkelling was spectacular. We went on one of the snorkelling trips, snorkelled straight off the beach and when my partner went diving I went out on the boat and snorkelled above the dive site. They have a free dive tryout session each day which is a good way to see if you like it before you commit any pennies.

The food was good, not outstanding but with the island being an hour and a half away from the mainland we hadn’t thought it was going to be good at all so we were very pleasantly surprised with the food we were served. We did however both get ill. My partner one day and me the next, but we went prepared with some tablets and it didn’t ruin our holiday. A poorly tummy couldn’t spoil the beauty of the island and the great time we were having.

I can honestly say that it is the first holiday I have been on where the photos on the website truly represent the beauty that greats you when you arrive. I would definitely recommend it to anyone.

For those heading there soon and wanting to know what impact the renovations are having (I know I was trying to find out some info before we went) here is my input ...All of the Garden Rooms are currently closed. There was no work going on whilst we were there. There was green meshing covering the front of the area where the garden rooms are and after the first day I didn’t even notice it all that much. It definitely doesn’t intrude on your holiday in anyway.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank hanbanaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2010

we stayed there for three nights beginning of december. the island is beautiful and the bure are awesome. Now the negative points: the people there were digging holes and threw rubbish in it and filled it with sand. this seems to be the way to get rid off rubbish. Once they made fires to burn the rubbish at the beach where the guests were liying. the worst was that the food was really bad. most of the people got sick of that (4 out of 6 we got to know). we stayed in the bluewater lodge in Nadi before coming to Matamanoa and paid just about 15% of the price from Matamanoa but the food was just amazing there. In a nutshell: Wonderful place with horrible food and absolutely no understanding for the environment. And watch out for the sea snake which are even present at the beach and the screws in the sand!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dgotteron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

I had a recommendation from a colleague's brother in-law about Matamanoa as he works on a lot of the Fijian Islands. I feel like buying him a thank you gift because our honeymoon was amazing! We spent some time on the main island before going out to Matamanoa which made us appreciate it even more. We snorkelled straight off the beach below our beach bure daily, climbed the mountain and I had a great massage at the new spa. It is a place to relax and unwind, and feels like a community. Everyone is so friendly!

The food was really nice especially for a tiny island! There is lots of variety especially at dinner time as the menu changes daily.

Staff were amazing - so friendly and helpful. The housekeeping was great - our room was like brand new every day.

I would highly recommend for anniversaries or honeymoons. It is not that expensive for what you get at all! Islands off the Australian coast are a lot more expensive and not as beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Leish233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matamanoa Island
15.8 km away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Island
595 reviews
20.3 km away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
725 reviews
7.4 km away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 km away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
876 reviews
12.3 km away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
907 reviews
6.9 km away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki ...
#2 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matamanoa Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matamanoa Island Resort

Property: Matamanoa Island Resort
Address: Matamanoa Mamanuca Group, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Matamanoa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matamanoa Island
Price range (per night): $409 - $770
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Matamanoa Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matamanoa Island rated 4 star, is an intimate and secluded, adults only Fijian Resort. We are set in the beautiful Mamanuca Islands approximately 30 kilometers west of Nadi International Airport - experience a true gift of nature. The Island boasts a volcanic cone jutting out of the azure waters of this unspoiled marine sanctuary. Clad with native bush and palm trees, the brilliance of the vegetation contrasts magnificently with the white curved sandy beaches and pristine coral reefs. Combined with nature, we have created a haven for those who want to relinquish the pressures of a busy lifestyle. This is for those who dream of peace and tranquility. To achieve this special atmosphere, Matamanoa Island Resort has adopted a year round policy of not permitting day-trippers or children under the age of 16 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Matamanoa Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matamanoa Island Hotel Matamanoa Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing