We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Family Holiday”
Review of Vomo Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vomo Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Vomo Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 December 2017 via mobile

As a family we travel the world to find winter sun. This year as we were travelling to Australia for Christmas and New Year we decided to hit the beach in Fiji and chose Vomo. We made an excellent decision. Fiji and especially Vomo are now both definitely the best beach experience we’ve had.

The hotel is beautiful with landscaped gardens, golden beaches and even a golf course. The Fijians must be the most naturally friendly people we’ve come across, taking time to know our names and even our preferences for food and drink. This also goes for the Management Team who are wonderful.

Our son celebrated his 12th birthday whilst on Vomo. They decorated his bedroom, reserved a table in the restaurant and decorated it with balloons and then the Fijian band sang ‘Happy Birthday’ when bringing out a beautiful chocolate birthday cake. They made him feel very special.

The food is wonderful with a mix of nationalities on offer and the menu is very child friendly (which goes for the hotel in general).

A special mention must be made for Ocean Play (or the surf shack as we named it). Complimentary snorkelling everyday - which we enjoyed immensely. Not only do you get taken out to the reefs on a speed boat but one of the Dive Masters accompanies you to help you explore the underwater world - clown fish, angel fish and the odd meter long shark are all common. We also hired a crew to go fishing (both line and trawler). They made it fun and also ensured we went home with our supper, which the restaurant cooked to perfection.

If you’re lucky enough to be able to visit Fiji you cannot go wrong with visiting Vomo. All we can say is “BULA, Vomo”.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Shanni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, Director of Sales at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Bula Shanni B
Happy New Year! We hope the rest of your vacation was wonderful. To be given the accolade of your 'best beach experience' is quite something thank you! It sounds like you really made the most of all the facilities on offer and created some wonderful family memories. We are so fortunate to be the caretakers of Vomo Island as it truly is one of the most beautiful of Fiji's islands. We are also fortunate to have an amazing team of talent to look after our guests. The Vomo family are very special and we are so delighted to know they made you feel special too. We hope we can welcome you back some day. Our thanks and 'vinaka' for taking the time to write a review for us. Wishing you a wonderful 2018. Lolomas from your Vomo family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2017 via mobile

The whole family agreed this was one of the best destinations we have enjoyed.

The food is excellent, superb. Kids really enjoyed the daily snorkelling trips (free) and we also had a great fishing trip and caught our supper.

All the team are very & genuinely friendly towards their guests. We had interconnecting villas (3&4) which worked well for us as a family. The villas were clean and well appointed.

Laundry service was really useful to us.

Just loved it and highly recommend this destination.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank JonnersB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, Director of Sales at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Bula JonnersB
We are so grateful for your lovely feedback. It's fantastic to read that everyone in the family enjoyed their stay. When it works well for everyone, everyone works well. Thanks again to taking the time to write a review for us. We'd love to welcome you back again sometime and hope this can happen. Lolomas (love) from the Vomo family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017

Extraordinary. Been to a lot of places all over the world and this place was close to the best. Food as good as a high end Sydney restaurant, our beach side villa was beautifully designed and appointed, the activities are all free and great fun and the staff were wonderful. Snorkelling was amazing and close to the best in Fiji. There are daily boat trips but you don't even need them as 50m of the beach, the reef drops off and the magic is all there! You just swim out whenever you want. This is high end resort accommodation as good as it gets. Memorable place and for sure will be back.

Room Tip: choose a stand alone beachside villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bigdanMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, Director of Sales at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Bula! Vinaka for your thoughtful response. We are so humbled by your review.
Hoping whilst you continue your travels all over the world, you will keep a place in your heart for VOMO and return to stay with us again.
Lolomas and festive greetings from the VOMO family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

This is our second visit to Vomo since getting married on the beautiful island and once again we were not disappointed. This visit included our daughter and we cannot think of a more perfect family holiday destination. The staff, the amazing food, the refurbished bures, kids club and the rocks bar, the fishing and the beautiful scenery is out of this world. This island is a little slice of heaven for us and we really can’t wait to return (hopefully next year!). The only small negative comment I have is that the adjoining walls between the bures are very thin and you can hear babies crying, so would probably request a free standing Bure next time. See you soon Vomo!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Sam011313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, Director of Sales at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Bula!
It was so lovely that you were able to return to your wedding island and bring your daughter with you. That is so special. We hope there will be many more of these visits to make memories as your family grows.

The freestanding villas you are referring to are now called Beachfront Havens and can be booked with Reservations at a small supplement. Alternatively there are the Hillside Villas which are all free standing.

Sote tale! See you next time
Lolomas from your VOMO family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

Before deciding on which island to visit in Fiji I did quite a bit of research and Vomo came up as a good choice. Many of the reviews reported on how amazing the staff were. Well, I never believed it would possibly be as great as they claimed but after spending 8 nights there I can assure you the staff are amazing! Warm, friendly and they will go out of their way for you and really make sure you are happy. I really would like to compliment the manager Mark and his second in charge Jacques on the amazing job they are doing in ensuring the standard is top notch!
Vomo is a small beautiful island and the snorkeling is the best I have ever done in Fiji. The coral is beautifully preserved and a huge abundance of fish like I’ve never seen before. Best part is you can snorkel straight off the beach!
Rooms are comfortable, good size and well appointed. A couple of negatives are that most of the beach villas are interconnecting with another room and you can really hear the movement of the people next to you and if you are not travelling with any children you can be unlucky and have a young baby in the room next door and hear them crying in the night. All that being said management did all they could for us to minimise any disturbance to our holiday. I look forward to them building more individuals villas around the island.
The food was fantastic, better than I’ve ever experienced in Fiji before. Some of the meals were really top restaurant quality and always beautifully presented.

I look forward to visiting Vomo again!

Room Tip: Beach villas if you like walking out your room into the beach
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank BermA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, Director of Sales at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Bula!
Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay at VOMO and it is nice to read that you also, were taken by the genuine warmth and hospitality of our family of staff. Its hard to articulate how wonderful these people are, yet once you've experienced their beautiful manner, their friendliness and care, you never forget it.

We are designating some of our stand alone villas on the Beachfront to a new category called Beachfront Havens, so if you really want to ensure a stand alone villa, you can book one. Of course, the Hillside villas, with their beautiful elevated position (some with outstanding water views) are all free standing as well, so there are some good options.

Hoping to welcome you back again in the future for more VOMO hospitality. Warmest regards from the VOMO family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vomo Island
34.3 km away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Naukacuvu Island
788 reviews
33.5 km away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
776 reviews
33.3 km away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 km away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,533 reviews
31 km away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
969 reviews
30.5 km away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 4 in Malolo Island
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vomo Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vomo Island Resort

Address: 26 Nasoki Street | Lautoka, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Vomo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Vomo Island
Price Range: $1,097 - $1,835 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vomo Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst endless warm turquoise waters, bountiful coral reefs and fringed with sand so soft and pure is Vomo Island, easily the most beautiful of all Fijian Islands. Privately-owned and occupied solely by Vomo Island Resort, guests enjoy world-class cuisine, professional 5-star service, sophisticated Villas and a full range of activities including magnificent snorkeling. Vomo Lailai, Vomo's tiny private island, sits 1km to the west of Vomo and offers guests an afternoon of extremely indulgent privacy and isolation with Gourmet Champagne picnics delivered to you. Vomo offers luxurious Beachfront, Hillside and Garden View Villas for two plus the three-bedroom private residence, The Royal, and the four-bedroom private residence, The Residence, ideal for larger parties or if you crave complete privacy. A full range of non-motorised water sports are offered alongside 9-hole chip and putt golf, a fully staffed day spa and floodlit tennis. The Vomo Turtle Protection Programme raises and releases Hawksbill Turtles born on the island and Vomo is surrounded by a marine protection zone which guarantees magnificent snorkeling. Vomo welcomes couples and families of all ages. Supervised care for children is provided by The Turtle Club. Rates include all meals in the restaurant, non-motorised water sports including snorkeling, golf and tennis, welcome gift and daily laundry service. Vomo is truly the hidden jewel of the Fijian Islands and offers a unique and personal experience to all who choose to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vomo Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vomo Island Hotel Vomo Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing