We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wild and beautiful with sweet staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Yasawa Island Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yasawa Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I do believe it’s important to know what you are booking, going to Yasawa Island Resort.

This is the only resort on the island, with only 18 villas in vast and lush lands. This means that you will not only have the long beach in front of the resort more or less to yourself, but also the rest of the beautiful beaches with well perserved corals along the 22 kilometers long island.

Waters are turquose and crystal clear. Perfect foe snorkelling.

It’s like being a luxury version of Robinson Crusoe; wild, private and beautiful with a lovely interaction with the ever so friendly staff, most of them from the closest village.

Villas are basic and could do with some maintenance, but very spacious. There are fans, but only AC above the bed. If you want the bling-bling show off kind of villas, go somewhere else. But if you feel like relaxing in genuine village-like surroundings where all villas have perfect sea views, Kasawa resort is a very good choice. This view is shared with the high level of repeat guests, who love the beauty of the surrounding gardens and sea.

The Spa is a beautiful haven with skilled therapists and treatment beds with a lovely breeze from the sea.

Excursions to the caves, the local village school and picknicks to deserted beaches are relatively inexpensive and good fun.

Breakfast is really good, with a broad choice and fine flavours. The only area - apart the need for some maintenance in a few villas - would be food and beverage, which does not really live up to expectations of a high end resort. Desserts, yes, but not all the main courses we tried. Nor drinks from the bar, apart from smoothies and fruit juices.

But all in all, Yasawa resort is a lovely haven and I would love to go back again.

Stayed: January 2018
1  Thank morrhoppan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2018

Yasawa is a nice simple hotel. Food is good and location excellent. But way overpriced for what they give you.
We stayed at this resort previously and decided to return with my parents, but with just a few weeks prior to our booking we received an email to say they were going to cancel.
We were devastated. They offered nothing and despite numerous phone calls and emails repeatedly asking to speak to the manager I never received a single phone call. Only after many calls and emails did I get some assistance to book elsewhere, but it could take them three days before they returned calls.
Fortunately after a great deal of effort and anxiousness (we already had all our flights booked) we managed to book into Vomo. As it turned out we could not have been happier. Whilst a little more expensive than Yasawa the resort is far superior. The rooms are luxurious with air conditioned, spacious and well appointed rooms, huge beautiful bathrooms and staff who could not make you feel happier. There is also a lot more to do on Vomo, plus the usual activities such as fishing, walking, diving and snorkeling. The food at Vomo was excellent and certainly superior to Yasawa.
Obviously we had been happy at Yasawa on our previous visit but given their unbelievable poor treatment of us, their lack of communication and seeing how much better a resort can be for a little more cost we would never return. Do not consider Yasawa - go to Vomo.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thommo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YasawaResort, Owner at Yasawa Island Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Bula,

We appreciate you taking the time to post on Trip Advisor. Vomo is a beautiful family resort.

We are extremely sorry that our group booking last year affected your stay with us. The group departed some months ago and the resort has reopened after some significant upgrades.

Unfortunately having not stayed with us for a number of years your stay with us was prior to our many upgrades and renovations.

Whilst we appreciate that you are disappointed by the cancelation of your booking Yasawa offers numerous amazing and unique activities such as 11 private beaches for uninhibited picnics, snorkeling excursions to the Blue Lagoon Caves, visits to an authentic Fijian village, nature hikes and many water sport activities - all of which are complimentary during your stay.

Once again we are sorry for the cancelation of your stay and we hope we can welcome you back in the future.

James McCann - Owner
Yasawa Island Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

A piece of heaven, celebrated my wife’s Birthday and the staff made us feel at home from the start.

Location, just wow.

Accomodation, more than wow, feel you are on a private beach in a huge well appointed Bure.

Food, all included, very nice.

Speciality or resort signature, private picnics in the most deserted beaches. Yaweni the favourite for us.

All of the activities you want or just chill.

The staff sensational, very traditional Fijian makes that important difference and something special.

Special thanks to Manasa, Wati, Sammy and Tasi.

Remote, private, pampered, special and perfect for us.

Vinaka Vakalevu.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

We have just returned from 5 nights at this amazing resort, and could not have had a better time. The resort has just returned to "normal" after 6 months of film crew living there, and the service was amazing. The staff went above and beyond for us to make our stay enjoyable. We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and couldn't have been made to feel more special. The staff are all so kind to the guests, and typical of the Fijian experience when the staff live at or near the resort, you are made to feel like you are inside their homes.

The bures are very comfortable and extremely large compared to anywhere else we have stayed in Fiji. (we have been numerous times)

There are new chefs at this resort and the food was exceptional. Every meal was creative, delicious and plentiful.

This resort is so remote, it quite often feels like you are the only ones there. Each bure is very private and there are plenty of private beaches on the island, plus there is the option to do lunch-time picnics on other surrounding beaches, which was a "Must-do" experience.

We visited the spa each day and had massages and facials with the sound of waves lapping out our feet.

I couldn't recommend this property more highly.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
3  Thank Margot R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

I am happy for those folks that were able to get a new booking to another resort, we are not as fortunate. We made our reservations in March, I paid my final payment on Sept 22nd. 4 weeks before we were set to leave on a dream celebration, for our 30 year wedding anniversary. Yasawa Island resort notifies Costco Travel that they are closing due to filming.. I have tried to call Mei at Yasawa Resort Island on the mainland, I was promised he would call back today at 4pm, that was 4 hours ago. I am so sad and disappointed, I have called many of the other resorts and they are booked solid.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
6  Thank Swedenmamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YasawaResort, Owner at Yasawa Island Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Bula Vinaka,

Thank you for your comments, we are sorry to have disappointed you and upset your travel plans to Fiji.

Your travel agent was working hard with our reservations team to secure the best possible alternative for you. Your requested alternate resort of Tokoriki was reserved by out team and on hold for you. I now understand however that you have now chosen a full refund rather than to visit Tokoriki.

Again we do sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused by the change in filming dates by the production company.

Vinaka,
James McCann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yasawa Island
22.6 km away
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Nacula Island
1,462 reviews
32 km away
Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort
26.3 km away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Tavewa Island
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.2 km away
Nanuya Island Resort
Nanuya Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Nanuya Lailai Island
546 reviews
28.1 km away
Turtle Island
Turtle Island
#1 of 1 in Nanuya Levu
347 reviews
22.5 km away
Oarsman's Bay Lodge
Oarsman's Bay Lodge
#2 of 3 in Nacula Island
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yasawa Island Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yasawa Island Resort and Spa

Address: PO Box 9779, Nadi Airport, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Yasawa Islands > Yasawa Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yasawa Island
Price Range: $1,037 - $1,812 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Yasawa Island Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yasawa Island Resort & Spa is an exclusive retreat on one of the most remote and unspoiled islands of Fiji. Just 18 luxury bungalows are hidden among luscious tropical greenery, each only a few steps from a pristine, silky white-sand beach. Celebrated for its pristine location, Yasawa Island Resort & Spa has offered guests from around the globe unique, authentic and enriching travel experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yasawa Island Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yasawa Island Hotel Yasawa Island
Yasawa Island Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing