We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quintet Bed and Breakfast Guest House
Ranked #6 of 814 Shanghai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 September 2011

This was our first stop in China and it was great, especially breakfast. The staff was helpful and arranged train tickets for us and gave many recommendations for where to go in Shanghai, the neighborhood was really cute with lots of nice restaurants within walking distance, and the rooms were clean and nicely decorated!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SharukaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 69 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

Our first trip to Shanghai, for the Expo, we had booked into 2 B+B's. Our first B+B was Quintet, a cute spot near to the Changshu Road Metro. Nice rooms, easy to find.
The owner Faye, was quite helpful but we pretty sorted ourselves out.
We had a lovely stay there, unfortunately our visit coincided with some renovations which meant that we unable to have our breakfast on the premises. Instead we got vouchers for a nearby coffee shop, Jamaica Blue, which did an great decaf soy latte. The bacon options did get a bit tiring after a few days, so we ended up buying their (delicious) muesli out of our own pocket.
It was wasn't until we moved to the next B+B that we realised what we really missed… One of the reasons we prefer small guesthouses is because of the friendly chats that develop around the breakfast table, with both the owners as well as fellow travellers. We totally missed that at Quintet :( I'm sure this is not a issue as the renovations finished just as we left.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank noodle12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

My wife and I stayed at Quintet for 4 nights this summer.
All staffs of Quintet are so helpful that they were able to give us any information we need such as shopping, restaurants, transportation and so on.
Especially, my wife enjoyed her first nail care according to the kind recommendation of the staff.
The location of Quintet is in the middle of so called French Concession. You can find nice shops and restaurants near Quintet. Building of Quintet is old fashioned three-story garden lane house. We can feel intimate taste which we cannot get from five star hotels.
We are sure to stay at Quintet when we visit to Shanghai again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taroTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

I stayed this B&B back in December 2009.This was my first time travelling to China and I was solo travellor.My impression of Shanhai travel is so good because I chose to stay here!! It is such a romantic destination..I miss it there so much.I surely can recomand this place to anyone and someday I would like to go back.
Staffs are friendly and was very kind.
In the place there were candle lights displayed and was beautiful.
For the sightseeing,I was not sure how others get to the main area,but I used subway.
It was a little challenging but was OK.However,I was not able to do sightseeing by myself much, being not used to the city and culture..so next time I stay Quintet, I would like to find tour service hopefully group one.Quintet offers private one.I am not sure if there is pick up place nearby to join in group tour.I hope there is but not sure.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanahana35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Me and a friend stayed at AURORA Room in Quintet B&B for 3 nights and we honestly must admit it was such a lovely time there. We always felt welcome, our room was cute and small but we had a kind of private roof top balcony/terrace too. The staff was friendly and helpful. And dont forget to tick the box for breakfast choice C: you will love the yoghurt and fresh fruits. Awesome!
The B&B itself is in a wonderful area called French Concession and in walking distance to all main sights of that area. The metro is not far away (5min to Chengshu and 10min to Ja'an Temple, Airport Line).
The prices are moderate compared to B&B in other cities in this world. So try it and feel like home :-)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SydneyPerla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
URBN Boutique Shanghai
URBN Boutique Shanghai
#49 of 5,205 in Shanghai
620 reviews
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#5 of 5,205 in Shanghai
2,019 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#7 of 5,205 in Shanghai
1,532 reviews
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Waigaoqiao
Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quintet Bed and Breakfast Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quintet Bed and Breakfast Guest House

Address: No.808 Changle Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Huaihai Road
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 814 B&Bs / Inns in Shanghai
Price Range: $161 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintet is a boutique B&B located in the historic French Concession neighborhood of Shanghai. Stay at one of our six stylish, individually designed rooms in this three-story 1939 garden lane house and experience the bygone elegance of Old Shanghai. All rooms come with private baths, satellite TV, DVD players, and iPod-ready stereo. Enjoy gourmet breakfast in our downstairs lounge dining room or simply relax on the rooftop terrace. Knowledgeable staff can assist with special requests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Quintet Bed and Breakfast Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quintet Bed And Breakfast Guest House Hotel Shanghai
Quintet b&b Guest House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing