We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B&B in French Concession”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quintet Bed and Breakfast Guest House
Ranked #5 of 794 Shanghai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed in the Fleur room and have similar comments to Karlie re the room itself. The breakfasts were very good (though it would have been nice to have some juice as well) - nice to sit at a communal table and get the chance to chat to other guests from different parts of the world. The staff are very helpful, the B&B is well located, with easy access to local eateries and metro line.

All in all a recommended place to stay - comfortable and safe!

Room Tip: Read the room descriptions given on the website (very detailed) to ensure you get a room that meets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole_NorthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 51 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2012

The second half of our China trip was to be a week spent in Shanghai, during which time I would be celebrating my birthday. We thought we would splurge a little bit and decided on the Quintet B&B. However, we did still end up going with one of the cheaper rooms, the Fleur de Shanghai, which was still 900RMB/night. Their website is fantastic, very aesthetically pleasing with lots of information about the property and the city.

Bruce greeted us upon arrival and helped us up the stairs with our bags. And there are lots of stairs. 35 stairs, to be exact, to our room which was only on the second floor. That can definitely get tiring after a long day. I would also not recommend anyone with any type of mobility issues to stay here because of them.

Our room was decorated very tastefully, as were the other rooms I happened to see into. It is quite small, though. I've stayed in small rooms before so the size wasn't a big deal, but for the price we were paying it hurt a bit (about $140 CDN a night). There were lots of amenities like robes, two free water bottles per day, tea and tea pot in room, good bath products, hair dryer, safe and more.

Breakfast is Western style, with a choice of eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes, tomato, or museli and yogurt. When you check in, you get little slips for each person, each day that you make your selections on and give to the cook each morning. The food was prepared well, but we stayed for an entire week and after a few days it would have been nice to have some different options (and I did have different combos each day).

Some other pros and cons.
Pros:
- I was able to use the computer and printer in the office.
- The rooftop patio is cool
- They left me a note and chocolates on my birthday.
- Sheet with many attractions written in Chinese.
- Close to two metro stations on different lines.
- Big bathtub.

Cons:
- The shower/bathtub leaked like crazy! There was a drain right there, but it took forever to clear off the floor. Dangerous.
- The street noise was very loud.
- While the Quintet is nice, I felt like the price was still way too high for what it was.
- The stairs also make a lot of noise, even if someone is trying to walk quietly. Very disruptive when napping or at midnight when people would come home.

The Quintet is a nice place, but my overall experience was average. If I were to stay in Shanghai again I would look for somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MissWanderlustCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Lovely place to stay in Shanghai. Tastefully decorated rooms and yummy breakfasts. Excellent location, close to two metro stations and loads of restaurants. Kenny and Bruce were both great hosts, very accommodating. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howeser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Really excellent place to stay in Shanghai, the location is great and the rooms are immaculate, stylish and comfortable. Breakfast was really delicious, cooked fresh for you by the chef, and the staff (Kenny and Bruce) go out of their way to help. Simple touches, like a handy list of places to go written in Chinese characters ready for you to give to taxi drivers and a list of good places to eat locally, really make a difference. We stayed in 'Aurora' which was perfect, complete with private terrace. We will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Husband & I stayed here for two nights & loved it. Was our last stop on a 2-week trip in China, and the perfect end. Clean, great location, friendly & helpful staff, and a delicious breakfast too! More than accommodating, the Quintet staff leaves great tips for your sight-seeing ventures in Shanghai, arranges taxis in a timely fashion, and even assisted us in finding out if tickets were still available to a local show before making the trek there. Also, when our departure time required us to leave before breakfast, they'd had delicious sandwiches packed in our room to take on the road. We were in the Bubbling Room, which was quite nice. Only downfall was the few steps to the bathroom, as we'd done an extensive hike the day before arriving and our legs were quite sore. All things considered, highly recommend!

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JSM41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
URBN Boutique Shanghai
URBN Boutique Shanghai
#30 of 5,159 in Shanghai
611 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
Jing'an
Hilton Shanghai
Hilton Shanghai
#61 of 5,159 in Shanghai
2,525 reviews
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#5 of 5,159 in Shanghai
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quintet Bed and Breakfast Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quintet Bed and Breakfast Guest House

Address: No.808 Changle Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Huaihai Road
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 794 B&Bs / Inns in Shanghai
Price Range: $180 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintet is a boutique B&B located in the historic French Concession neighborhood of Shanghai. Stay at one of our six stylish, individually designed rooms in this three-story 1939 garden lane house and experience the bygone elegance of Old Shanghai. All rooms come with private baths, satellite TV, DVD players, and iPod-ready stereo. Enjoy gourmet breakfast in our downstairs lounge dining room or simply relax on the rooftop terrace. Knowledgeable staff can assist with special requests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Quintet Bed and Breakfast Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quintet Bed And Breakfast Guest House Hotel Shanghai
Quintet b&b Guest House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing