We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$227
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$145
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$97
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$105/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$166
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$159/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$185
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$124/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$163
US$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$159
US$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$134
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveller rating
28
152
55
10
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
152
55
10
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 247 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2015

This is part of a chain of hotels, and the two we visited (here and in Beijing) were bad,hard to find, berift of service. My companion booked this place. In both places, we had no help with our luggage and there was no English.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 641bix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2014

I booked this hotel on a popular OTA website simply for the location. The next morning I had a flight out of SHA (Honqiao Airport). In fact the hotel is a 15 to 25 minutes drive from Hongqiao Airport and its attached Hongqiao Train Station. A taxi ride costs CNY 25 to 33, dependent on traffic.

The hotel is located in Hami Road (almost every taxi driver knows) in a typical suburban Shanghai side road, not far from the zoo. It is more quite in the evening, naturally. For all those looking for nightlife or have business / sightseeing to attend it may not be a preferred location.

Check-in was quick without complications and frills, just what I expected from this hotel level.

The room was fine I terms of size. The cleanliness was surely not their strong point but I was prepared for that. Basics as hairdryer, coffee & tea making facilities etc. we're placed inside the room. The hotel is actually labeled as "apartment hotel" but my room (206) had no such setup. The window was facing to a backyard. It was quiet except occasional noise from starting aircraft if the wind is from Western direction.

Wifi internet was free of charge and speed was okay. The TV was not working, maybe just a problem with the remote control but I did not bother since I went to sleep early.

Room Tip: Hongqiao Airport
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Schaible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

It is an el cheapo hotel except for a microwave oven, worktop & ventilator, they call it an apartment. It is filthy, moldy, worn and cigarette smell everywhere.

There is no wifi in the room but some have cable internet which is of reasonable speed. Luckily, the bed and pillows are good so I awarded 1 star. Another 1 star for the staff who are OK but surely not exceptional enough to save this misery.

Corridor carpets are threadbare and the room wall paint in patches of brown. The room door shudders every time someone operates theirs due to pressure. Sound insulation is close to non-existence.

There is a fruit shop and small supermarket on the ground floor. Low,mid and high end Chinese style restaurants within a few meters and also a Western style bakery. Catching a taxi around here is no problem. Not so near Hongqiao, the taxi ride is 37RMB.

If you chose this hotel for the lowest price be mentally prepared. I should suggest some other budget hotels that cost about 50rmb more, around the same location. After this, I will not stay in another Greentree facility again.

Room Tip: The lowest priced rooms have no windows so you get a feel of being a convict. If you need internet, ask, they will assign a room with able internet at no extra cost.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wreckit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

If you are looking for a cheap place to sleep for one night before or after a flight from Hongqiao airport, then Green Tree is fine.

I stayed here before a very early morning flight and I could have done worse. The staff were friendly and helpful and the price was very reasonable. The room was a bit musty, but I opted for a no window room. The bed was comfortable and clean and there was a fridge, kettle and microwave. The TV was big and had a lot of channels (all of them Chinese).

The shower was powerful, but the entire bathroom flooded when I used it. I had to spend 10 minutes kicking water into the very badly positioned drain. The floor of the room was dusty and it looked like they had not swept it for a few days. The internet was not wifi and the cable was broken so it kept coming out of my laptop - quite annoying when you need to use skype.

I would, however, use Green Tree again, as it is close to the airport and is very affordable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tombillinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

During this period of the Expo, it is difficult to find accomodation in Shanghai. This hotel is pretty far away from the city centre and Expo. Nearest subway is about 10 mins by cab. The hotel is rather old but the rooms are large and clean. It actually had a microwave, fridge and sink - something quite rare in China. The worst part was the breakfast. The dining room was far too small and there was a stampede towards the food (which was inadequate in terms of quantity and quality). Even if you manage to get some food, there was no place to sit. We opted to skip the breakfast the next two days and found a good and cheap restaurant selling xiao long bao about 200m away.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank E.S.Goh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews