We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,905)
Filter reviews
1,905 results
Traveller rating
1,619
190
53
23
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,619
190
53
23
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grand brasserie personal concierge wei jing ge famous long bar peacock alley heritage building tv in the mirror toto toilet a river view room automatic toilet beautiful hotel new wing diamond member walk in closet high tech chinese restaurant luxury hotel
Filter
Updating list...
173 - 178 of 1,905 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful and steeped in history.
The cocktail bar is full of nostalgia and olde worlde charm.
Not overly expensive, the drinks list is good but limited.
I opted for a dirty martini which was everything it should be.
There were also oysters (which I'm allergic to so avoided like the plague) but also there was Iberico ham, carved directly from the leg.
Go.
You won't be disappointed.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Agamemnon69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

Had an awesome experience with my family at the Waldorf hairy crabs season special! The crabs are so fresh and my family is really impressed by the excellent service from Judith and Hoover. We promised to go there again for the hairy crabs season special before it ends!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Rinkogemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear Rinkogemini,

Thank you very much for sharing such a great review with us and fellow travelers on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your dining experience with us, as well as our team member's services.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Yours sincerely,
Richard

Richard Saul
General Manager
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

This is a great hotel. The location is excellent for walking, dining AND seeing the unique Shanghai skyline. The staff are superb. We were talking with another guest on the elevator about their problem with room temperature. A staff member was on the elevator, when he got off he asked for their room number and sent someone right away to fix the problem. Very service oriented. The wait staff at the Grand Brassiere seem slow and inattentive and our server at Pelham's didn't really understand about their wine offerings. They could polish that aspect a bit. Great place and would definitely recommend staying there.

Room Tip: we stayed on 13 facing the Bund and had a spectacular view on days without smog
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cruiseagentandtaxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear cruiseagentandtaxman,

Thank you very much for sharing such a great review with us and fellow travelers on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us, especially our location and services. Our team members will be thrilled to hear of your kind comments, as they strive to make every guest experience an unforgettable one.

I have duly noted your feedback on the F&B department. Kindly rest assured that your feedback will be reviewed by the relevant department heads as we constantly look for ways to better fulfill our guests’ expectations.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back soon, on your next trip to Shanghai.

Yours sincerely,
Richard

Richard Saul
General Manager
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Shanghai is filled with hotels and options but none is finer than the Waldorf. The public spaces are imbued with rich history, grand architecture, and fantastic floral arrangements. Our room on the 24th floor had the most spectacular view of the river and Pundong's skyline with all the neon. The breakfast is excellent--something for everyone--the service and staff are helpful, attentive, friendly and the location is ideal as you can walk just about anywhere.

Room Tip: River view, highest floor possible
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 422sallyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear 422sallyu,

Thank you very much for sharing such a great review with us and fellow travelers on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us, especially the view from your room and our breakfast offerings, as well as our services and location. Our team members will be thrilled to hear of your kind comments, as they strive to make every guest experience an unforgettable one.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back soon, on your next trip to Shanghai.

Yours sincerely,
Richard

Richard Saul
General Manager
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

Been to many waldorfs, but truly inspired by Waldorf Shanghai on the bund, especially their concierge leader name: Kame. He is a real asset to your hotel! Each time when i went back from a tired trip, he always went extra mile to offered his way of comforting and soothing interaction to us with awesome restaurant suggestions or nicest places for shopping. My hats of to Kame at concierge at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the bund.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lybisaac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear lybisaac123,

Thank you very much for sharing such a great review with us and fellow travelers on TripAdvisor

I am delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and highly appreciate your compliments on our colleagues, in particular Kame from our concierge team whom you recognized for his exceptional service. I look forward to sharing your kind words with the entire team as this will certainly motivate them further in realizing our mission of delighting our guests.

My colleagues and I look forward to the immense pleasure of welcoming you back to Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Richard Saul
General Manager
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews