We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous property in ideal location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Ranked #6 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We absolutely loved this hotel. It has an elegant old world feel and is right in the middle of the action. Our room was lovely -- try it just for the toilet seat that goes up and down on its own when it hears you coming LOL -- very well appointed and the staff could not have been nicer. Breakfast was terrific. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Laraine B,

Thank you very much for sharing such a great review with us and fellow travelers on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us,especially with your room facilities and our team members, as well as our breakfast offerings.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Yours sincerely,
Richard

Richard Saul
General Manager
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,501)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 1,501 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is beautiful and steeped in history.
The cocktail bar is full of nostalgia and olde worlde charm.
Not overly expensive, the drinks list is good but limited.
I opted for a dirty martini which was everything it should be.
There were also oysters (which I'm allergic to so avoided like the plague) but also there was Iberico ham, carved directly from the leg.
Go.
You won't be disappointed.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Agamemnon69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Had an awesome experience with my family at the Waldorf hairy crabs season special! The crabs are so fresh and my family is really impressed by the excellent service from Judith and Hoover. We promised to go there again for the hairy crabs season special before it ends!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Rinkogemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Rinkogemini,

Thank you very much for sharing such a great review with us and fellow travelers on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your dining experience with us, as well as our team member's services.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Yours sincerely,
Richard

Richard Saul
General Manager
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

This is a great hotel. The location is excellent for walking, dining AND seeing the unique Shanghai skyline. The staff are superb. We were talking with another guest on the elevator about their problem with room temperature. A staff member was on the elevator, when he got off he asked for their room number and sent someone right away to fix the problem. Very service oriented. The wait staff at the Grand Brassiere seem slow and inattentive and our server at Pelham's didn't really understand about their wine offerings. They could polish that aspect a bit. Great place and would definitely recommend staying there.

Room Tip: we stayed on 13 facing the Bund and had a spectacular view on days without smog
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cruiseagentandtaxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear cruiseagentandtaxman,

Thank you very much for sharing such a great review with us and fellow travelers on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us, especially our location and services. Our team members will be thrilled to hear of your kind comments, as they strive to make every guest experience an unforgettable one.

I have duly noted your feedback on the F&B department. Kindly rest assured that your feedback will be reviewed by the relevant department heads as we constantly look for ways to better fulfill our guests’ expectations.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back soon, on your next trip to Shanghai.

Yours sincerely,
Richard

Richard Saul
General Manager
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Shanghai is filled with hotels and options but none is finer than the Waldorf. The public spaces are imbued with rich history, grand architecture, and fantastic floral arrangements. Our room on the 24th floor had the most spectacular view of the river and Pundong's skyline with all the neon. The breakfast is excellent--something for everyone--the service and staff are helpful, attentive, friendly and the location is ideal as you can walk just about anywhere.

Room Tip: River view, highest floor possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 422sallyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 422sallyu,

Thank you very much for sharing such a great review with us and fellow travelers on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us, especially the view from your room and our breakfast offerings, as well as our services and location. Our team members will be thrilled to hear of your kind comments, as they strive to make every guest experience an unforgettable one.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back soon, on your next trip to Shanghai.

Yours sincerely,
Richard

Richard Saul
General Manager
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#9 of 5,161 in Shanghai
2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
The Peninsula Shanghai
The Peninsula Shanghai
#12 of 5,161 in Shanghai
1,224 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#4 of 5,161 in Shanghai
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund

Address: No.2 Zhongshan Dong Yi Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#3 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#3 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#6 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#185 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $377 - $625 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining the history and culture of the celebrated Shanghai Bund with a taste for 21st century sophistication, Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund offers a heritage ambiance, legendary service and timeless amenities to make your stay truly memorable and distinct. Housed within the two-building complex in phases are 260 well-appointed rooms and suites, stylish environments for dining and lounging, extensive banquet facilities with stunning views, luxury spa, fully-fitted gym ,free WiFi and more, all crafted onto a picture perfect setting that speaks volume of the grandeur and finesse that is uniquely ours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai On The Bund Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing