We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at the Sheraton Hongku in Shanghai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel
Ranked #83 of 5,222 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 29 December 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Sheraton Hotel- Hongku for 9 days December in 2011. We booked our hotel on line at which included a deluxe club room and daily breakfast.

Our flight from Beijing arrived at Pudong international airport. You can get a train directly from the subway to the city, but if you have bags it’s very cumbersome and crowded. The taxi ride from Pudong to Hongku is about 45 min- 1 hour and will cost between ¥180- ¥200 RMB one way.

On our arrival in Shanghai, I was surprised that for such a large urban city, very few people speak other languages other than Chinese. I would strongly recommend you print out the address and name of the hotel in both your native language and in Chinese. Taxi drivers do not speak English so it can be frustrating for you and the taxi service. I was able to quickly look up the address on the trip advisor website in both English and Chinese for the taxi driver to read. Thank you trip advisor!

The check in was very quick and easy. We arrived early, and our room was waiting for us, which was very nice. We stayed on the 36th floor and had a wonderful, huge room with a specular view of Shanghai. I especially loved the bathroom with a wonderful soaker tub and rain shower.

The breakfast buffet was good, with a variety of foods such as fruits, cereals and Chinese food. It isn’t a vast selection but adequate to start your day. The staff in the club area was very helpful and attentive. It was my birthday while I was there and the Manager (Jenny) was kind enough to arrange a birthday cake for me which was left in my room. It was very thoughtful and appreciated. Thanks Jenny!

The hotel is located in Hongku, a good 15-20 minute walk to the beginning bund. It was very convenient that the Hailun subway station is right across the street and is about 3 stops from East Nanjing station. The fare is about ¥3 per person one way. The subway is very efficient and is easy to use, especially after walking all day!

The club lounge offered snacks and cocktails. The food was good and the lounge is very nice. It’s located on the 37th floor where you can see Shanghai quite nicely. The food was also okay, mostly light food and nice wine.

I only had two negative things to say about the hotel:

First, the internet stations in the club area. There were 3 stations that were available, but typically only 1 worked at a time. The connection was extremely slow at the stations. The hotel has Wifi, and that was much quicker to connect to. I get the impression that connection speed in China in general is slow, but if you have your own computer it’s fine. I had my blackberry with me and could connect everywhere in both Shanghai and in Beijing. That was awesome!

Second, check out was disappointing. We got late check-out up to 4pm. We checked out about 2pm. When we got to the front desk, we had to wait for someone to help us. When we did get someone, it was very mechanical. No one asked about our experience, if we would come back, or we needed a taxi to take us to the airport. Thank fully the bell boy arranged a taxi for us. It was a letdown to an otherwise really good stay here.

I would stay at this hotel again and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: Try to book a club room, it's worth the additional cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sailorann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Hongkou, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2012

Dear sailorann,

Thank for your feedback and it is good to see that you had an enjoyable stay. Feedback is for us very important since it indicates where we need to fine tune our services. Furthermore, I would like to apologize for the unpleasant check out experience, this should not have happened. It would be great if you could contact me through email in order to explore who actually checked you out.

Apart from this please contact me as well whenever you plan to visit us again.

Kind regards


Nitin Abbi

Guest Service Manager
gsm.hongkou@sheraton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (870)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

499 - 503 of 870 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2011

Shanghai has a glut of 5 star hotels all competing (post last year's Expo) for our dollars, but the way the Sheraton Hong Kou has settled down now all facilities are operating and the staff training is resulting in great service makes it stand out.

Highlights include:
- excellent gym, now accessible 24 hrs a day, which is very much appreciated by us jet-lagged travellers
- superb Sheraton club rooms and club lounge, which is very much worth the upgrade
- taxi rank outside lobby, which always has supply of taxis
- a General Manager and Deputy who is highly visible and interested in his giests' opinions
- high standard across the Japanese, Chinese and Western buffet restaurants in-house
- great value for money

Being a new hotel, the rooms are trendy and large, featuring glass walled bathrooms, giant shower-and-bath area, huge desk, and excellent decor

The hotel is now very busy, but still stands out for all the right reasons. It's on a subway line, so although 10minutes away from People's Square, it's a worthwhile choice.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Starwood Clubrooms for a luxury treat -some high floors even have dramatic views of Bund
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank souness55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

Hotel is very modern with supreme lounge, nice lobby, good spa and suprior japanese restaurant, perfectly located in center of shanghai. Personnel young and goodlooking, management supportive and overall top in shanghai for quality and price...

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giosel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Hongkou, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2011

Dear Giosel68,

Thank you so much for your outstanding comments and I will pass your comments to our General Manager who will be happy to see that we were able to impress you. Our Executive Lounge is definitely one of the best lounges in Shanghai and currently we have added a small library in the lounge. Indeed I do agree that our price and quality are one of the best in the Shanghai 5 Star market and I am really proud to be part of such a wonderful team.

Please do contact me whenever you plan to visit us again.

Kind regards

Nitin Abbi

Guest Service Manager
gsm.hongkou@sheraton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

I have stayed in several Sheraton Hotels before but none like this one! It has a great location as well as great facilities. The staff is great, really friendly and is well trained! The Guest Services Manager (Nitin Abbi) is amazing, helpful and overall very knowledgeable!!!! If you have the chance of going to Shanghai consider this hotel!!! Looking forward to go once more!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HildaHurtado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Hongkou, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2011

Dear HildaHurtado,

Thank you so much for your great comments and it is good to see that you had a wonderful stay.
Our facilities are still brand new and we try to hire people with passion and the right attitude. Furthermore, we do believe that it is not only about meeting a guests expectation but moreover to exceed the expectations where ever we can!

Please send me an email whenever you plan to visit us again.

Kind regards

Nitin Abbi

Guest Service Manager
gsm.hongkou@sheraton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Good hotel but if you are booking room only, be aware that breakfast is seriously expensive (180 yuan) and so is internet (90 yuan) - you will be offered various package deals which gets the breakfast cost down to about 120 yuan per person. About the location - it's about 1.5km from the Bund.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rogerx101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
World Expo
Sheraton Grand Shanghai Pudong Hotel & Residences
Waigaoqiao
Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#37 of 5,222 in Shanghai
2,853 reviews
Jinqiao
Shanghai Marriott Hotel Pudong East
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel

Address: No.59 Siping Road, Shanghai 200086, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , Sichuan North Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 5,222 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: S$153 - S$273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel.Our local neighborhood has it all. Our hotel is close to the Bund, considered the city’s symbol since the 1920s, and the People’s Square. We are also near the Nanjing Road, Lujiazui, and Huaihai Zhong Road central business districts, as well as the North Sichuan Road shopping area and historic Duolun Road.Enjoy your stay in one of our 471 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites, featuring river, city, and Bund skyline views. Relax completely in our famous Sheraton Sweet Sleeper™ Bed, with a pillow-top mattress, cozy duvet, and goose down blanket. Our hotel’s unique outdoor garden and riverside setting make it the perfect place to get away from the fast pace of Shanghai.Complimentary wireless High Speed Internet Access is now available in all of the hotel’s public areas and guest rooms to meet the needs of business and leisure travelers alike. When you need a retreat from fast-paced city life, we have many options. Indulge yourself with a treatment at the Shine Spa. Sheraton Fitness Programmed by Core® Performance features state-of-the-art cardio and strength-training equipment, and our 30-meter swimming pool is illuminated by natural light through the ceiling.We offer a variety of event facilities that are ideal for weddings, dinners, product launches, and meetings. Our dedicated professionals are ready to assist you with any requirements or requests.Let the Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel be your home base when visiting Shanghai, one of Asia’s most vibrant cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing