We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Farewell hilton, Hello Kunlun Jing An”
Review of The Kunlun Jing An

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Kunlun Jing An
Ranked #59 of 5,222 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2018

My stay at the Hilton was toward the end of December where it seems that Hilton is changing hands to Kunlun and the place was doing some changes along the way as we could not see the Hilton logo outside the hotel when we arrived.
The hotel is comfortable and rooms are spacious. There was good space to accommodate my family of 2A + 1 K and the service was excellent.
The location was convenient with a Subway 5 min from the hotel Jingan station which also can be taken to the Pudong airport directly. Line 2 seem to be the main subway line that takes one to most of the major attractions in Shanghai.

We especially like the executive lounge and the offering that changed on a daily basis. There was quite a lot of people in the lounge perhaps due to the holiday. There was a daily cocktail offered and also different menu like peking duck, dumplings etc.,
Overall a really good stay.



Stayed: December 2017
2  Thank ruby172017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerd K, General Manager at The Kunlun Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Ruby,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

Please be kindly noted that Hilton shanghai has been rebranded as The Kunlun Jing An from 1st January 2018. This new brand is an upscale hotel and aim to exceed the needs of today’s astute travelers. With most senior Management and staff remaining, we are already working for a new level of excellence and much improved guest experience.

I would like to take the opportunity to thank our loyal guests. Without your ongoing support this exciting evolution of our hotel would not be possible, and we look forward to welcome you back soon and discover the difference. We would be delighted to honor any loyalty benefits in 2018. Please call us for more information.

To find out more or to make a reservation for The Kunlun Jing An please kindly contact us through the hotel telephone number +86 21 6248 0000

Regards,
Gerd Knaust
General Manager at The Kunlun Jing An

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 2,560 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2018

The hotel is in the center (a huge center though) of the city, so it is convenient to go anywhere in Shanghai. The property is old but still in good shape. The service is good. The breakfast buffet is okay if it's included. Taxi service outside of the lobby is awful. One early morning I needed to go somewhere and all three taxi drivers refused to provide service because they all wanted to drive someone to the Pudong Airport. I complained to the hotel and they said there was nothing they could do about. I was told the hotel would no longer be part of Hilton by now.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are good but higher levels perhaps are better?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Howard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerd K, General Manager at The Kunlun Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Howard,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

Feedback such as yours is a vital element to our success and let us understand guest’s expectations. Thank you for bringing the taxi issue to my attention so we can continue to improve our service.

Please be kindly noted that Hilton shanghai has been rebranded as The Kunlun Jing An from 1st January 2018. This new brand is an upscale hotel and aim to exceed the needs of today’s astute travelers. We look forward to welcome you back soon and discover the difference.

To find out more or to make a reservation for The Kunlun Jing An please kindly contact us through the hotel telephone number +86 21 6248 0000

Regards,
Gerd Knaust
General Manager at The Kunlun Jing An

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

The service at this hotel was excellent, it is a beautiful hotel in a nice area with nice amenities, and well worth the stay. I have found you cannot go wrong with the Hilton brand as they are very consistent, and at this location the staff was extremely professional .

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank petervL4461WZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerd K, General Manager at The Kunlun Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear PetervL4461WZ,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property and sharing with us your wonderful experience. We are pleased to know we met your expectations in every aspect of your visit; such amenities, service, and our location.

Please be kindly noted that Hilton shanghai has been rebranded as The Kunlun Jing An from 1st January 2018. This new brand is an upscale hotel and aim to exceed the needs of today’s astute travelers. We look forward to welcome you back soon and discover the difference.

To find out more or to make a reservation for The Kunlun Jing An please kindly contact us through email reservations.jingan@thekunlunhotels.com


Regards,
Gerd Knaust
General Manager at The Kunlun Jing An

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

One would think that the famous Hilton chain would live up to its prestigious name. Well, if you are up for an adventure, then do stay at this hotel.

We checked in and although we have mentioned from the start that there would be 3 guests, there was only two bottles provided, which is alright. However, upon calling guest services for an extra bottle, we were told to pay for the extra bottle of water. Come on Hilton, you can do better than this right?

The breakfast spread is miserable and if you are planning to stay there, do give the breakfast a miss, it really isn’t worth your time and money.

Overall, disappointing service and the furnishing is really dated.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank AmandaHKTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerd K, General Manager at The Kunlun Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear AmandaHKTan

Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us, and I am sorry to hear that we were not able to light up your expectation for your last visit.

I do want to assure you that we do care about our guests and unfortunately that was not the impression you were left with. We have addressed these matters with our housekeeping and Food & Beverage team. We deeply value your business.

Please be kindly noted that Hilton shanghai has been rebranded as The Kunlun Jing An from 1st January 2018. This new brand is an upscale hotel and aim to exceed the needs of today’s astute travelers. We look forward to welcome you back soon and discover the difference.

Regards,
Gerd Knaust
General Manager at The Kunlun Jing An

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

We stayed for one night at the Hilton Shanghai on the 22nd of December to experience this famous hotel one last time before it changes branding in 2018.

As a Diamond member, we experienced flawless services from Karen at check in, Leo in the Executive Lounge on level 38 and a huge thanks to Aileen for reserving the best Panorama Suite for our family. Aileen also took the time to personally meet and greet us which made us feel very welcome!

I was also able to have my shirt and suit pressed (complimentary for Diamond) by 6am the following morning when I only requested it at 9pm!

The 30 year old hotel is well maintained. You can still feel its classiness today and really imagine its 'beyond reach' elegance in 1988.

The hotel has a few unique features including the curved panorama windows in the rooms and the size of its Executive Lounge (over 500sqm I believe!). The hotel is also located at the heart of Jing An (less than 5 min walk to Jing An Template) and has been one of its icons since 1988.

Whilst we are somewhat depressed about the change of brand in 2018, yet given all the nice staff members will remain at the hotel, including all the Hilton Diamond privileges for another year, we would definitely consider staying again at this hotel if we are back in Jing An next year.

Room Tip: Recommend Panorama Rooms facing the Bund rather than facing Hua Shan hospital
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sijia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerd K, General Manager at The Kunlun Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sijia,

Heartfelt thanks for sharing your wonderful experience at The Kunlun Jing An. We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your time at our hotel. I would definitely share your gracious words with my team as your feedback will be a great reward for them to continue to achieve their best.

Please be kindly noted that Hilton shanghai has been rebranded as The Kunlun Jing An from 1st January 2018. This new brand is an upscale hotel and aim to exceed the needs of today’s astute travelers. With most senior Management and staff remaining, we are already working for a new level of excellence and much improved guest experience .

I would like to take the opportunity to thank our loyal guests. Without your ongoing support this exciting evolution of our hotel would not be possible, and we look forward to welcome you back soon and discover the difference. We would be delighted to honor any loyalty benefits in 2018. Please call us for more information.

To find out more or to make a reservation for The Kunlun Jing An please kindly contact us through email reservations.jingan@thekunlunhotels.com or hotel telephone number +86 21 6248 0000

Regards,
Gerd Knaust
General Manager at The Kunlun Jing An

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
#104 of 5,222 in Shanghai
1,212 reviews
Jing'an
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
#54 of 5,222 in Shanghai
644 reviews
Jing'an
URBN Boutique Shanghai
URBN Boutique Shanghai
#49 of 5,222 in Shanghai
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#5 of 5,222 in Shanghai
2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kunlun Jing An? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kunlun Jing An

Address: No.250 Hua Shan Road | Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China (Formerly Hilton Shanghai)
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#37 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#40 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#46 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#58 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#108 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: S$155 - S$299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Kunlun Jing An 4.5*
Number of rooms: 714
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A symbol of hospitality in the heart of the city’s business and entertainment center, Kunlun Jing An welcomes guests into a unique atmosphere of style and ease. Located in the prestigious former French Concession area of town, the hotel is within easy reach of Shanghai’s premier shopping streets, West Nanjing Road and Huaihai Road. All rooms and suites at the Kunlun Jing An feature a marble bathroom with double vanity area, bathtub, shower room, and luxury amenities. Deluxe Rooms and Executive Rooms are equipped with a spacious desk and high speed wireless internet which provide a convenient place to work. Executive Panorama Suites additionally offer fantastic views of the Shanghai skyline. The health club, Indoor swimming pool, squash court and outdoor tennis court provide multiple choices for a great workout during your stay. Kunlun Jing An offers an outstanding collection of international and authentic local cuisines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kunlun Jing An reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Hilton International Shanghai
Shanghai Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing