We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$153
US$129
CachetHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$145
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$152/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$125
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$148/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$147
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$115/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$107
US$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$181
US$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$218
US$160
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$117
US$92
NewWorldHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveller rating
34
127
74
35
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
127
74
35
14
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 284 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and it was included in our China highlights tour. All the hotels in the tour were ok but this one was awful. First we had to wait for an hour because our room wasn' t ready and we arrived at 5pm! When we got to our room it was disgusting, dirty, hair everywhere, on the carpet, in the tub, on the bed. Not just a few hairs but lumps. It looked like the carpet wasn't vacuumed for a month. We complained at the reception but the room wasn' cleaned properly even the next day. The staff is also very rude. I can just say- don't stay in this hotel - only if it's free!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheHousens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

Would rate it a three to four star. We did get told that the reason for there being no hot water on the 19th floor was because mayby they couldnt pump it up that high? We stayed a few days just before this on the 14th floor with no problem. Doors had very strong return spring allowing a noisy closure.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wirrklunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

The check-in was appalling, we were pushed out of the way by an inconsiderate chinese family. The room was ilfurbished, dated, smoke-smelling and the air-conditioning didn't work-it was way too warm. We had an extra bed which was very bad as it was very hard and made creaking sounds which to sat on it. The bathroom was small. The view was quite good.

The food in the breakfast room was bad, there was no proper juice-with the exception of a concoction of watery orange cordial. Even the Chinese noodles seemed to be terrible as some locals didn't consume them. They had other choices of food but none were particularly appetizing.

At check-out we were repetitively questioned whether we stole towels, which we hadn't.

I wouldn't go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 6starluxurytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

I stayed at the Hengsheng Peninsula International Hotel for a night in February when I was visiting Shanghai on a week long school trip. For a school trip, I was very satisified with the hotel because it isn't very normal of a school to bring students to a 4 star hotel. The room was nice although the room plans vary quite a lot so you can never be certain about what your room will look like. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was alright. The TV could have been better if there were some more english channels however it wasn't a huge problem because we were out most of the day. The views from the rooms are fairly good depending on what you get. We got a view of the street however my other friends got a view of the Bund and the river so they were the lucky ones. That night as I went to sleep, I discovered a fault at the hotel; the rooms weren't soundproofed well at all. I was afraid that someone was in my room because I thought someone opened my room door when it was actually someone else's door. The lift is slow but that wasn't an issue to be honest, these things happen. Breakfast the next day was quite nice, a good way to begin the day. Thank you Hengsheng for a great first night in Shanghai :)

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rishi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

best location near bund near nanajing street
rooms aircondtion din twork despite our complains
nice veiwing galaery at the teh top of teh hotel
bad service
small rooms
bad break fast
i wouldn treturn to this hote lagain
over priced hotel
the bund riverside is much better hotel

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank royaryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews