We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK .. with the low price, still bearable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Orange Hotel Seclect Shanghai Waitan Wusong Road
Ranked #2,475 of 5,206 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Place was ok 10-15minutes walk to the bund, stayed 3 nights there, Its just that they are now ranovating the hotel so 26th. floor is unaccessible, can't see the view of the bund. Too far away to walk from the MTR system. Not using the main entrance, the lobby is at the side entrance now. Front counter personnel was average and monotonous as the rest of the chinese staff eveywhere, room was reasonable, got a really excellent deal from hotelclub, so no complains ! Air-cond was a bit underpower but still ok and the weather was very hot! There was a Quik Mart to buy water and titbits during our stay, very convenient, do not buy from the 'small shop vendor' on the same row (which is nearer) just beside the hotel, slaughter you with higher price... beware !

Room Tip: Book early for best rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scubadude9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and it was included in our China highlights tour. All the hotels in the tour were ok but this one was awful. First we had to wait for an hour because our room wasn' t ready and we arrived at 5pm! When we got to our room it was disgusting, dirty, hair everywhere, on the carpet, in the tub, on the bed. Not just a few hairs but lumps. It looked like the carpet wasn't vacuumed for a month. We complained at the reception but the room wasn' cleaned properly even the next day. The staff is also very rude. I can just say- don't stay in this hotel - only if it's free!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheHousens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

Would rate it a three to four star. We did get told that the reason for there being no hot water on the 19th floor was because mayby they couldnt pump it up that high? We stayed a few days just before this on the 14th floor with no problem. Doors had very strong return spring allowing a noisy closure.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wirrklunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

The check-in was appalling, we were pushed out of the way by an inconsiderate chinese family. The room was ilfurbished, dated, smoke-smelling and the air-conditioning didn't work-it was way too warm. We had an extra bed which was very bad as it was very hard and made creaking sounds which to sat on it. The bathroom was small. The view was quite good.

The food in the breakfast room was bad, there was no proper juice-with the exception of a concoction of watery orange cordial. Even the Chinese noodles seemed to be terrible as some locals didn't consume them. They had other choices of food but none were particularly appetizing.

At check-out we were repetitively questioned whether we stole towels, which we hadn't.

I wouldn't go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 6starluxurytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

I stayed at the Hengsheng Peninsula International Hotel for a night in February when I was visiting Shanghai on a week long school trip. For a school trip, I was very satisified with the hotel because it isn't very normal of a school to bring students to a 4 star hotel. The room was nice although the room plans vary quite a lot so you can never be certain about what your room will look like. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was alright. The TV could have been better if there were some more english channels however it wasn't a huge problem because we were out most of the day. The views from the rooms are fairly good depending on what you get. We got a view of the street however my other friends got a view of the Bund and the river so they were the lucky ones. That night as I went to sleep, I discovered a fault at the hotel; the rooms weren't soundproofed well at all. I was afraid that someone was in my room because I thought someone opened my room door when it was actually someone else's door. The lift is slow but that wasn't an issue to be honest, these things happen. Breakfast the next day was quite nice, a good way to begin the day. Thank you Hengsheng for a great first night in Shanghai :)

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rishi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#5 of 5,206 in Shanghai
2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#40 of 5,206 in Shanghai
2,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Hotel Seclect Shanghai Waitan Wusong Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Hotel Seclect Shanghai Waitan Wusong Road

Address: No.205 Wusong Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200000, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , Qipu Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#380 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $50 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Orange Hotel Seclect Shanghai Waitan Wusong Road 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Orange Hotel Seclect Shanghai Waitan Wusong Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Shanghai
Shanghai Peninsula
Hengsheng Peninsula International Hotel Shanghai
Hengsheng Peninsula Intl Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing