We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very good hotel with the best location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Majesty Plaza Shanghai
Ranked #199 of 5,082 Hotels in Shanghai
Ahmedabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“a very good hotel with the best location”
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I stayed in majesty plaza for five nights in october 2011. am taking all this time to write the reviews as i know being a solo traveller for the first time, how much is this helpful. shanghai: was visiting for the first time that too alone. had done a lot of research before traveling on trip advisor and that really helped me. firstly, my conference was near youhua road, quite far near the china pavilion. the hotel, again too far from the airport. but the connectivity to the city it has is too good. firstly, i landed to pudong airport at 8.30 in the evening it took me 9.15 to come out of the airport. well, i read in one of the reviews before i left that the last metro train from pudong airport leaves at 9. so i was quite sure that i will have to catch a taxi to reach my hotel. it was quite easy to catch, money would have been around 150-200 rmb as advised by few travellers. but in the night the rates may vary. but i inquired and came to know that the last metro leaves at 10 in the night. so i had enough time to catch line 2 straight to east najing road station and reach the hotel.
took the train, but unfortunately took a wrong exit out of the station and then got lost in shanghai at night 10.45 p.m. well, it was bit scary as the exit which i took might be some of the minor roads and there were few romeos roaming in the street. they tried to follow me with some indecent proposals, but make sure u never even see them. fortunately, after 15 mins of brisk walking and inquiring minimum five times, could reach my hotel. well, the hotel is quite good, big and when i reached, my chek in was fast. but few things about the hotel.
1) i was given a room 2410-A. was wandering what does A mean. it was on 24th floor, so i reached, saw only 2410 room. so opened it, and found two doors next to each other. 2410-A and 2410-B. ridiculous i thought as whenever me or the guest in the other room would come or go, will have to open two doors and that used to make a lot of noise. well, didnt bother much as was out whole day and stayed in the hotel for the short time.
2) staff too good and helpful but not smiling at all.
3) for the breakfast, i was greeted by the girl standing at the door again with no smile and used to jump on asking the room number than any courteous things. but was fine with that as its pretty much in shanghai not to smile or greet as we do in other places or other hotels.
4) breakfast was very good.
5) room service too good and worth a stay.
6) they ask for the credit card or the cash as a security even though i had paid the full amount of my stay many days earlier
7) so when i checked out, they did the formalities and told me that i am done and i can leave. i had to remind them about my deposits i had given via credit card. and then they returned me back. so make sure, you get all your things back.
8) otherwise the hotel's location too good. in the middle of the nanjing road, wow.....amazing.
subway, costa coffee, dumkin donuts, jamaica blues just at the ground floor of the hotel. macdonals and pizza hut just opposite to the hotel....what else you want for food, being a traveller. starbucks one building away.....nothing better than this. am a pure vegeterian so was very choosy about my food before i left. so, subway could offer veggie delight, mac could offer french fries and icecreams, dumkin donuts could offer me veg as well.....
9) well, being a male single traveler, was offered a lot of indecent proposals. as soon as i used to get out of the hotel, was offered massage and females and what not. it was quite annoying to everytime you come out and listen this. but make sure that you don't interact with those guys or girls to even say "no" or else you might hear something bad from those guys.....
10) loved the hotel very much. two exits of the hotel. you go left and there is peoples square metro station and you go right there is east najing road station. peoples square carries line 1, 2 and 8 and so i had chosen this hotel as line 2 takes to pudong airport and line 8 would take me to youhua road to my conference.
11) concierge was very helpful and did write the chines for me and that was pretty helpful.
overall its a good hotel but few fascilities you would expect from a four star hotel so would not appreciate that much.
surely a very good hotel that would make anyone to think of staying again at this hotel when he or she comes back......

Room Tip: make sure you get your room number with no "a" or "b"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jay m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    183
    122
    38
    25
See reviews for
45
61
31
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
kuala lumpur
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

my 8 nights in this hotel has been a pleasant one. Just a stone's throw from all the malls and plenty of good food around. Just a 1 minute walk will take you to a foodcourt with some of shanghai's favourite dumplings!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank siaoyue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san jose,ca
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We totally enjoyed this hotel the best, after stayed at at least 3 other hotels in Shanghai. It is in the prime location. We could walk out and so much food and shopping. If you'd like to taste local flavor, this is the place. One of the small ally across from this hotel had tons of local food to eat. They were all good. Room was big, compared to the Le Meridien just next door. Price was more reasonable. It was also walking distance to the Bund. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank made2worship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Great service upon arrival. Room was spacious enough for 3 people even with the addition of a rollaway bed in our deluxe room. The location of the hotel is fantastic. If you leave from the front entrance, you can walk to the People's Square train station in 2 minutes. If you leave from the back entrance, you're surrounded by specialty food stores as well as shopping malls. There is a Subways, Coldstone Creamery, McD and Kosta right around the corner for those missing home.

This hotel has spa services, a gym and a pool. You need a swimming cap to enter the pool. If you don't have one, you can buy it at the spa desk. You can only use the sauna if you buy spa services.

We ate at the Chinese restaurant within the hotel one night. I think it was on the 3rd or 4th floor. There is a small aquarium there but the food was delicious!! Service was also very good.

If you're craving Shanghai dumplings aka "xiaolongbao", there is a restaurant to the left and down a block once you step out of the front entrance. Ask the concierge as they recommended it to us. Apparently they have a Chinese opera dinner show on certain days at a certain time although when we went, there was a wedding going on. Food and service was fantastic.

The Bund is about a 15-20 minute stroll away. The "food court" there is a bit lacking there as 75% of the restaurants looked like they were either shut down or under construction. You can get to the Pearl Tower and Shanghai World Financial Center via the tourist tunnel but that entire package is pretty pricey. We took the train after walking around the French Concession and that ends up being cheaper. I highly recommend the SWFC (4th tallest in the world) and go for the higher price ticket as it allows you to go up to the 100th floor observatory.

Overall, definitely worth what we paid and would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supernova10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Was very pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Very large, fancy foyer with lots of marble, high ceilings, and a nice bar/lounge area. The rooms were quite large and clean. Overall, it felt like a 4-star-ish hotel. Service was prompt and helpful. All in all, a very nice hotel.

Perhaps best of all was the location. Within walking distance to the Bund. Out the back of the hotel, there was a large pedestrian mall, with tons of shops and restaurants - a great place to stroll around during the evening. It was quite easy to get to various spots via short taxi rids (e.g. Xintiandi, etc.). All in all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodydavis617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#41 of 5,082 in Shanghai
772 reviews
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#46 of 5,082 in Shanghai
812 reviews
People’s Square
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Pacific Hotel
Pacific Hotel
#147 of 5,082 in Shanghai
341 reviews
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#62 of 5,082 in Shanghai
1,250 reviews
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#37 of 5,082 in Shanghai
2,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majesty Plaza Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majesty Plaza Shanghai

Property: Majesty Plaza Shanghai
Address: No.700 Jiujiang Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#113 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#172 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price range (per night): $131 - $196
Hotel Class:4 star — Majesty Plaza Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious business class hotel, situated four kilometers from the Shanghai Railway Station, is close to Nanjing Road. Guests will enjoy proximity to the Oriental Pearl Tower, the Bund, Shanghai Grand Theater, Shanghai Government Building, and the People’s Square. The 387 modern guestrooms are adorned with ultra trendy decorations and new furnishings that are comfortable and colored with soothing... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Majesty Plaza Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majesty Plaza Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Majesty Plaza Hotel Shanghai
Ramada Shanghai
Ramada Plaza Shanghai
Shanghai Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing