We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally blown away by the excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Ranked #2 of 5,206 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

Me and my friend stayed over the weekend at MO Shanghai and was extremely impressed by the excellent service the staff delivered. Was definitely a memorable stay. Was our first MO stay and already looking forward to our next.

Many thanks to Marcus who checked us in and the service staff around the hotel who welcomed us!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank cloudflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Pudong, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for choosing Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai to stay and for taking your valuable time to share with the broader TripAdvisor community. I am very much delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and rest assured that your kind feedback will be shared with the broader hotel team.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With best regards,

Clemens Hoerth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 32 of 1,432 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2017 via mobile

This is a great addition to MO chain of hotels. Clearly the best or one of the best Shanghai has to offer. Excellent accommodations, restaurants and food in general with impeccable MO service. However, location is bit cumbersome unless your business is somewhere nearby in PuDong or you are staying a night before departure from PVG. It is far to everything touristy and the center of Shanghai as well as the many attractions around thi Bund area or Nai Jing road. I enjoyed the hotel very much, but I would normally choose something much more central.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank 714arthurz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Pudong, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for choosing Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai to stay and for taking your valuable time to share with the broader TripAdvisor community. I am very much delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and rest assured that your kind feedback will be shared with the broader hotel team.

With regard to the hotel location, please allow me to share with you that our hotel provides complimentary single-way limousine service within the Lujiazui area with easy access to the major shopping malls and metro station. Our Concierge colleagues will be delighted to provide detailed information on your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With best regards,

Clemens Hoerth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

This hotel is the best hotel for me in Shanghai or i would say the best in China. The room set up is very nice, functional, good size, good in room dining menus and one of the best breakfast in China. The staffs were very friendly, professional and i have no problem speaks in english with them. The location is a bit problems as there is no restaurants and bars in walking distance. The closet department store is walking distance by 20 mins (if i am not mistaken)

Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
Thank LadyMars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Pudong, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a positive review about your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, Pudong Shanghai with the Trip Advisor Community.

I am very delighted to read how much you have enjoyed your stay with us, from the room of the hotel, the quality of the food and the warm and professional service approach of our colleagues.

We are sincerely honored to receive such a fantastic feedback as our main goal is always to delight our guests and make their stay a memorable one.

Once again, thank you very much for your comments and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai.

Kind regards,

Clemens Hoerth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

We have always loved our experiences with the Mandarin Oriental hotels and the MO Pudong is no exception. Absolutely wonderful service awaits you here. We were upgraded to a suite on the 3rd floor and loved the view of the river even though we normally request a high floor. It is nicely located in the financial district and just a 20 minute walk to the Shanghai Tower. We would definitely go back in a heartbeat!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank kittylovesFken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Pudong, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for choosing Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai to stay and for taking your valuable time to share with the broader TripAdvisor community. I am very much delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and rest assured that your kind feedback will be shared with the broader hotel team. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
With best regards,
Clemens Hoerth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

During our five days / four nights stay in Shanghai with our two teens beginning of November, we happened to spend two nights in MO Pudong and two nights in the Peninsula.

If I sum-up what we loved in each hotel:

Peninsula
- The building and the rooms are gorgeous, with a true felling of being in a historical Art Deco building despite this is a quite recent one.
- The view from our Deluxe river view rooms was magnificent, especially at night time.
- The location, at the end of the Bund, very conveniently located near Nanjing road
- The terrace, especially if you are not staying in a river view room, is a Must see. Wonderful.
- Most of the staff was really nice and professional. The check-in was smooth, the concierge was very kind and efficient.

Mandarin Oriental
- The rooms are almost as beautiful as the ones from the Peninsula. Obvisouly slightly more "impersonal" but quite roomy with a nice view on the river.
- The breakfast buffet is absolutely wonderful. I think they provide everything you can dream of for your breakfast. One of the first time that I see ice creams being offered for a breakfast. The kids loved it.
- The restaurants are very nice. We tried both Fifty 8 grill and Yong Yi Ting and appreciated the two of them, despite I was not fully convinced that Yong Yi Ting was offering to us that night dishes at the level of a one star Michelin restaurant.

So, what makes the difference between these two hotels? The service and the exceptional kindness and attention to detail of the staff. Btw, MO gives the feeling that they have a higher staff/customers ratio than at the Peninsula; This may be wrong but this was clearly our perception.

You seem to look for something in the lobby? In a second, someone will come and ask you how to help, with a lovely smile.

Just ask any staff how to book a table Fifty 8, they will not redirect you to someone else or give you a phone number; They will just take care and make everything very smooth.

What was also very impressive is how most of the staff "knows" your name. Frankly speaking, there was one case where we still haven't understood how they succeeded knowing who we were :)

In a nutshell, they provided us a "customer experience" with which the Peninsula failed to compete.

The consequence is obvious: at the end of our stay, I asked my wife in which hotel she would return next time: her answer came in a second: "Mandarin Oriental without an hesitation". Nothing to add.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chambonandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Pudong, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a positive review about your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, Pudong Shanghai with the Trip Advisor Community.

I am very delighted to read how much you have enjoyed your stay with us, from the atmosphere of the hotel, the quality of the food and the warm and professional service approach of our colleagues.

We are sincerely honored to receive such a fantastic feedback as our main goal is always to delight our guests and make their stay a memorable one.

Once again, thank you very much for your comments and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai.

Kind regards,

Clemens Hoerth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Le Meridien Shanghai, Minhang
Le Meridien Shanghai, Minhang
#4 of 5,206 in Shanghai
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#40 of 5,206 in Shanghai
2,483 reviews
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#7 of 5,206 in Shanghai
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai

Address: 111 Pudong Road Pudong, Shanghai 200120, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5,206 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $326 - $554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the east bank of the Huangpu River, amidst the dramatic skyline of the Lujiazui financial district, Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai redefines luxury waterfront living in Shanghai. With an unrivaled location, legendary service and world-class facilities, the 362-room hotel and 210 fully serviced executive apartments are poised to become Shanghai's most desirable address. The hotel features 318 spacious guestrooms and 44 suites and is also home to the largest and most expensive Presidential Suite in Shanghai, spanning 788 square metres with a sky garden terrace and magnificent river views. The 210 luxury furnished apartments - from studio to three bedrooms - are Shanghai's only fully serviced riverside residences, and are designed to offer the ultimate in luxury and comfort. Chef Richard Ekkebus of the two-Michelin starred Amber at The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, will preside at the hotel's Fifty 8° Grill, and Shanghainese celebrity chef Tony Lu will be at the helm of Chinese restaurant Yong Yi Ting. All-day kitchen Zest, Qi Bar, Riviera Lobby Lounge and The Mandarin Cake Shop complete the essential dining options for business and leisure. The Spa at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai offers guests Mandarin Oriental's renowned signature therapies and advanced beauty and holistic wellness treatments within a soothing Zen oasis. Additional recreational facilities at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai include a fully equipped Fitness & Wellness Centre with a Kinesis wall and Maya Fit virtual trainers; a 25-metre indoor swimming pool; and a thermal bathing facility. The hotel is also perfectly placed for exclusive meetings and conferences in Shanghai. A selection of multi-functional event spaces includes a Grand Ballroom hosting 500 guests, an Oriental Ballroom for 250 guests, plus eight versatile meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing