We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$145
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$149/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$129
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$124
US$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$145/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$148
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$107
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$181
US$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$117
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$218
US$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,659)
Filter reviews
1,659 results
Traveller rating
1,463
157
26
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,463
157
26
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe club loungeyong yi tingzest restaurantfifty grillhouse carcake shopmo hotelriver viewthe pearlluxury hotelfinancial districtmemorable stayspecial thankschinese new yearf bconcierge teamamazing hotel
Filter
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 1,659 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2017 via mobile

This is a great addition to MO chain of hotels. Clearly the best or one of the best Shanghai has to offer. Excellent accommodations, restaurants and food in general with impeccable MO service. However, location is bit cumbersome unless your business is somewhere nearby in PuDong or you are staying a night before departure from PVG. It is far to everything touristy and the center of Shanghai as well as the many attractions around thi Bund area or Nai Jing road. I enjoyed the hotel very much, but I would normally choose something much more central.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank 714arthurz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Pudong, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for choosing Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai to stay and for taking your valuable time to share with the broader TripAdvisor community. I am very much delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and rest assured that your kind feedback will be shared with the broader hotel team.

With regard to the hotel location, please allow me to share with you that our hotel provides complimentary single-way limousine service within the Lujiazui area with easy access to the major shopping malls and metro station. Our Concierge colleagues will be delighted to provide detailed information on your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With best regards,

Clemens Hoerth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

This hotel is the best hotel for me in Shanghai or i would say the best in China. The room set up is very nice, functional, good size, good in room dining menus and one of the best breakfast in China. The staffs were very friendly, professional and i have no problem speaks in english with them. The location is a bit problems as there is no restaurants and bars in walking distance. The closet department store is walking distance by 20 mins (if i am not mistaken)

Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
Thank LadyMars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Pudong, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a positive review about your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, Pudong Shanghai with the Trip Advisor Community.

I am very delighted to read how much you have enjoyed your stay with us, from the room of the hotel, the quality of the food and the warm and professional service approach of our colleagues.

We are sincerely honored to receive such a fantastic feedback as our main goal is always to delight our guests and make their stay a memorable one.

Once again, thank you very much for your comments and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai.

Kind regards,

Clemens Hoerth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

We have always loved our experiences with the Mandarin Oriental hotels and the MO Pudong is no exception. Absolutely wonderful service awaits you here. We were upgraded to a suite on the 3rd floor and loved the view of the river even though we normally request a high floor. It is nicely located in the financial district and just a 20 minute walk to the Shanghai Tower. We would definitely go back in a heartbeat!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank kittylovesFken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Pudong, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for choosing Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai to stay and for taking your valuable time to share with the broader TripAdvisor community. I am very much delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and rest assured that your kind feedback will be shared with the broader hotel team. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
With best regards,
Clemens Hoerth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

During our five days / four nights stay in Shanghai with our two teens beginning of November, we happened to spend two nights in MO Pudong and two nights in the Peninsula.

If I sum-up what we loved in each hotel:

Peninsula
- The building and the rooms are gorgeous, with a true felling of being in a historical Art Deco building despite this is a quite recent one.
- The view from our Deluxe river view rooms was magnificent, especially at night time.
- The location, at the end of the Bund, very conveniently located near Nanjing road
- The terrace, especially if you are not staying in a river view room, is a Must see. Wonderful.
- Most of the staff was really nice and professional. The check-in was smooth, the concierge was very kind and efficient.

Mandarin Oriental
- The rooms are almost as beautiful as the ones from the Peninsula. Obvisouly slightly more "impersonal" but quite roomy with a nice view on the river.
- The breakfast buffet is absolutely wonderful. I think they provide everything you can dream of for your breakfast. One of the first time that I see ice creams being offered for a breakfast. The kids loved it.
- The restaurants are very nice. We tried both Fifty 8 grill and Yong Yi Ting and appreciated the two of them, despite I was not fully convinced that Yong Yi Ting was offering to us that night dishes at the level of a one star Michelin restaurant.

So, what makes the difference between these two hotels? The service and the exceptional kindness and attention to detail of the staff. Btw, MO gives the feeling that they have a higher staff/customers ratio than at the Peninsula; This may be wrong but this was clearly our perception.

You seem to look for something in the lobby? In a second, someone will come and ask you how to help, with a lovely smile.

Just ask any staff how to book a table Fifty 8, they will not redirect you to someone else or give you a phone number; They will just take care and make everything very smooth.

What was also very impressive is how most of the staff "knows" your name. Frankly speaking, there was one case where we still haven't understood how they succeeded knowing who we were :)

In a nutshell, they provided us a "customer experience" with which the Peninsula failed to compete.

The consequence is obvious: at the end of our stay, I asked my wife in which hotel she would return next time: her answer came in a second: "Mandarin Oriental without an hesitation". Nothing to add.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chambonandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Pudong, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a positive review about your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, Pudong Shanghai with the Trip Advisor Community.

I am very delighted to read how much you have enjoyed your stay with us, from the atmosphere of the hotel, the quality of the food and the warm and professional service approach of our colleagues.

We are sincerely honored to receive such a fantastic feedback as our main goal is always to delight our guests and make their stay a memorable one.

Once again, thank you very much for your comments and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai.

Kind regards,

Clemens Hoerth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

The staff are very attentive and very helpful especially as my husband’s flight was cancelled and we needed help to rebook another. The spa is amazing with a nice relaxation room. There isn’t much in the area as there seems to be a lot of development. There is a very nice bakery in the hotel too. Also, i left my hair straighteners at the hotel and they couriered it back to my beijing hotel very promptly, thank you!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Jess_V87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Pudong, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear guest
Thank you for sharing your kind feedback on TripAdvisor with regard to your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai. It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our colleagues helpful. Your generous words of praise will certainly be shared with the broader hotel team. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
With kindest regards,
Clemens Hoerth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews