We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Nearby Hotels
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$108
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$215
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$91
US$69
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$79/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$158
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$151
US$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$85
US$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (683)
Filter reviews
683 results
Traveller rating
217
330
107
23
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
217
330
107
23
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjing'an templeswimming capsrenovated roomfrench concessionnice hotelmetro stationwest nanjing roadcomfortable bednon smokingwould stay againbusiness tripeasy accessclub roomstar hotelcentral locationstayed here for nightswalking distance
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 683 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2017

I had a fantastic time in this hotel. My room was amazing, and very comfortable. The location of the hotel is great, lots to do nearby. Staff was very pleasant and the hotel was very clean. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear valued guest:
Thank you for choosing the Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and for your wonderful compliments. We will continuously contribute our efforts to maximize the guest’s satisfaction in every way possible. Thank you very much for your time. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

First the positive side of the hotel: Cheap price considering the central location, good variety of breakfast buffe and comfortable bed. Girls worked at breakfast entrance always greeted us friendly.

Then its the downside: I am a Chinese and when I entered the hotel with my huge luggage, no one bothered to help me, however, 1 min later, when my western husband came into the door, the concierge guy instantly came forward and help him with the luggage.
The young guy at the front desk was slow and like a robot. It took him almost 30 mins to enter the guest information and to find a room for us and we just stood there waiting and he said nothing. He never smiled and he talked as if he was programmed. He had an intern badge on him, so he probably just graduated from school. I could understand the slowness since he was new, but one could not see the agility and passion a new graduate should have. I guess he didn't like this job.
In all, the hotel has good hardware, it is a pity that the attitude of some staffs ruined this whole staying experience.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JingShu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear valued guest:
Thank you for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your earnest comments regarding your stay. We are deeply appreciated by the defects and suggestions you pointed out for us. These matters have since been brought to the attention of the hotel management. A thorough investigation will be conducted and close supervision and training will be organized accordingly to better staff’s skills of guest’s problem resolving and service awareness towards all other aspects of the hotel service standards.
Again, we thank you for the precious comments. Please, feel free to contact us at fom@quatorialsha.com for further suggestion and question for our service and facilities.
We sincerely hope to see you again to feel the progress we are making.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

I have been coming to this hotel for over 10 years and I can always rely on a good stay. The hotel, the facilities and the staff are well up to standard and it's very nice to be recognised on repeat visits.
One word of caution just at the moment. There is a lot of construction work going on in the area and they don't stop at night so it can get pretty noisy. It looks like a major transformation so it mat take some time.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nirinmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear valued guest:
Thank you for choosing the Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and thank you so much for such splendid comments. Your praise and recognition on our works will certainly stimulate every single employee of the hotel to continuously contribute their efforts to maximize the guest’s satisfaction in every way possible. Thank you very much for your time and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

This hotel is located in a great location. Allowed us to mingle with the locals. Very friendly. Hunter Hu (dining room manager) was very helpful. He acquired a paper the had our desired excursion locations in Mandarin and English to show cabbies. Made travels quick and easy. Many thanks to Mr. Hu!!

Room Tip: Get Mandarin name of locations desired.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking time to review Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments is very important for us. Hotel Equatorial Shanghai is strategically located at Jing'An in the heart of downtown Shanghai. It’s known for our warm hospitality and excellent customer service, the imperial hotel offers extensive business, meeting and recreational facilities. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and hope to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

nice hotel with good rooms. nothing really special, but solid indeed. the wide choiceo of european and asian foods for breakfast. pleasant park lwith thai restaurant nearby and good price and cheap shuttle bus to Pudong airport helped....

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank expat72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking time to review Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments is very important for us. Hotel Equatorial Shanghai is strategically located at Jing'An in the heart of downtown Shanghai. It’s known for our warm hospitality and excellent customer service, the imperial hotel offers extensive business, meeting and recreational facilities. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and hope to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews