We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Ranked #53 of 5,160 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2017

better place than o lot of other famous hotel in Shanghai , specially one closed by.
I really enjoyed staying there 3 nights. Personal is very friendly, breakfast buffet good and they have good coffee too. Rooms are very clean with good towls.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenoA_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you so very much for your review and compliments to the hotel and my team. It was an enormous pleasure to have you staying with us and I am delighted to read of what an enjoyable experience you have and that you look forward to coming again. We too look forward to welcoming you back to your new Shanghai home in the near future.
Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (630)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 630 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2017

I had a fantastic time in this hotel. My room was amazing, and very comfortable. The location of the hotel is great, lots to do nearby. Staff was very pleasant and the hotel was very clean. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear valued guest:
Thank you for choosing the Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and for your wonderful compliments. We will continuously contribute our efforts to maximize the guest’s satisfaction in every way possible. Thank you very much for your time. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

First the positive side of the hotel: Cheap price considering the central location, good variety of breakfast buffe and comfortable bed. Girls worked at breakfast entrance always greeted us friendly.

Then its the downside: I am a Chinese and when I entered the hotel with my huge luggage, no one bothered to help me, however, 1 min later, when my western husband came into the door, the concierge guy instantly came forward and help him with the luggage.
The young guy at the front desk was slow and like a robot. It took him almost 30 mins to enter the guest information and to find a room for us and we just stood there waiting and he said nothing. He never smiled and he talked as if he was programmed. He had an intern badge on him, so he probably just graduated from school. I could understand the slowness since he was new, but one could not see the agility and passion a new graduate should have. I guess he didn't like this job.
In all, the hotel has good hardware, it is a pity that the attitude of some staffs ruined this whole staying experience.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JingShu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear valued guest:
Thank you for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your earnest comments regarding your stay. We are deeply appreciated by the defects and suggestions you pointed out for us. These matters have since been brought to the attention of the hotel management. A thorough investigation will be conducted and close supervision and training will be organized accordingly to better staff’s skills of guest’s problem resolving and service awareness towards all other aspects of the hotel service standards.
Again, we thank you for the precious comments. Please, feel free to contact us at fom@quatorialsha.com for further suggestion and question for our service and facilities.
We sincerely hope to see you again to feel the progress we are making.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

I have been coming to this hotel for over 10 years and I can always rely on a good stay. The hotel, the facilities and the staff are well up to standard and it's very nice to be recognised on repeat visits.
One word of caution just at the moment. There is a lot of construction work going on in the area and they don't stop at night so it can get pretty noisy. It looks like a major transformation so it mat take some time.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nirinmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear valued guest:
Thank you for choosing the Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and thank you so much for such splendid comments. Your praise and recognition on our works will certainly stimulate every single employee of the hotel to continuously contribute their efforts to maximize the guest’s satisfaction in every way possible. Thank you very much for your time and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

This hotel is located in a great location. Allowed us to mingle with the locals. Very friendly. Hunter Hu (dining room manager) was very helpful. He acquired a paper the had our desired excursion locations in Mandarin and English to show cabbies. Made travels quick and easy. Many thanks to Mr. Hu!!

Room Tip: Get Mandarin name of locations desired.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking time to review Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments is very important for us. Hotel Equatorial Shanghai is strategically located at Jing'An in the heart of downtown Shanghai. It’s known for our warm hospitality and excellent customer service, the imperial hotel offers extensive business, meeting and recreational facilities. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and hope to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Hilton Shanghai
Hilton Shanghai
#59 of 5,160 in Shanghai
2,537 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#61 of 5,160 in Shanghai
1,785 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
Paramount Gallery Hotel
Paramount Gallery Hotel
#175 of 5,160 in Shanghai
211 reviews
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#48 of 5,160 in Shanghai
872 reviews
People’s Square
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Equatorial Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Shanghai

Address: No.65 Yan'an West Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 5,160 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $118 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Equatorial Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai is strategically located at Jing'An in the heart of downtown Shanghai. Known for our warm hospitality and excellent customer service, the imperial hotel offers extensive business, meeting and recreational facilities. Offering stunning city view, the total 506 guest rooms and suites feature just the right facilities and amenities to ensure our guests a relaxing stay. The provided 15 function rooms that can cater to meetings of up to 800 pax. The versatile function and meeting rooms offer a wide range of facilities, services and packages for every occasion. The well-recognized Shanghai International Club Fitness Centre is perched on the 4th floor. The centre offers a top line range of fitness facilities from Life Fitness, a tennis hard court, the Fei Spa and a pool area which boasts a breathtaking view of Jing'An. * As per Implementation Rules of Regulation on Public Places Sanitation Administration, smoking will be prohibited in all indoor areas of this hotel from 01 March 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing