We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base in Shanghai to visit this dynamic city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Ranked #54 of 5,222 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 December 2017

We spent three nights at the Equatorial and really enjoyed our stay. Although getting there from the Laoshan Maglev stop was challenging, it is a short stroll on the overhead bypass to reach the Jig’nan Temple metro and shopping arcade. Tranquil settings and typical Chinese breakfast - not much spoken English, however this was adequate to make our stay enjoyable. We managed to find an authentic Indian restaurant- Kaveen’s across the road, and this gave us our dose of spice in the cold 3 degree C weather. Using the metro was easy and we then opted for the Big Bus hop on bus to see the city sights, including the Bund, Peoples Square and other highlights
Eas

Room Tip: We chose a room in the higher floor to get a view of the city
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you so very much for your review and compliments to the hotel. It was an enormous pleasure to have you staying with us and that you look forward to coming again. We too look forward to welcoming you back to your new Shanghai home in the near future. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 644 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. Did not expect anything since i’m not familiar with the hotel. Checked in and out was fast. Service was great. Breakfast is ok. Location is really good. Close to subway and there are nearby malls. Beside the hotel, there is a Lawson. Tried there gym and pool and it was great. Overall, would definitely go back and recommend this hotel.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Henson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Dear Guest,
I am delighted you had such a pleasant stay. Thank you so very much for taking the time to review The Hotel Equatorial Shanghai on TripAdvisor and share your compliments with other readers. I hope to welcome you back in the near future. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017

The hotel is in Jig'nan Temple area, happening place with shopping , restaurants, nearby metro station and a bus station from where you can go to the airport or from airport to this place in 22 Yuan.
The rooms are good. i stayed twice in a week, 1st time the room was a bit small but quiet.
2nd time when i checked-in, they gave a free upgrade , the room and bathroom are very big, only thing, it is roadside so continuous noise of cars.
Good property , best location

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajesh60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Dear valued guest:
Thank you for choosing the Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and thank you so much for such splendid comments. Your praise and recognition on our works will certainly stimulate every single employee of the hotel to continuously contribute their efforts to maximize the guest’s satisfaction in every way possible. Thank you very much for your time and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017 via mobile

The location is not the best -yet not far from downtown, you need to get a taxi though -and the hotel is quite average for a business trip. I can't highlight anything special -rooms, breakfast, and so on - from my stay but the staff -they were fluent in English, and willing to help -and the impressive views from my room. The fare was ok for what the hotel offered.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank Kiu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Dear Guest,
I am delighted you had such a pleasant stay. Thank you so very much for taking the time to review The Hotel Equatorial Shanghai on TripAdvisor. I hope to welcome you back in the near future. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017

This hotel have superb rooms, comfortable bed, clean and nice enviroment. The staff is helpful and you can feel yourself there very well. In the evening is smart to have little walk arond, the skyscpers are extreamly nice in the night.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanekGrossbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking time to review Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments is very important for us. Hotel Equatorial Shanghai is strategically located at Jing'An in the heart of downtown Shanghai. It’s known for our warm hospitality and excellent customer service, the imperial hotel offers extensive business, meeting and recreational facilities. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and hope to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Zhongshan Park
Pentahotel Shanghai
Pentahotel Shanghai
#63 of 5,222 in Shanghai
640 reviews
Jing'an
Paramount Gallery Hotel
Paramount Gallery Hotel
#174 of 5,222 in Shanghai
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#5 of 5,222 in Shanghai
2,119 reviews
Novotel Shanghai Atlantis
#50 of 5,222 in Shanghai
929 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Equatorial Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Shanghai

Address: No.65 Yan'an West Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 5,222 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $112 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Equatorial Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai is strategically located at Jing'An in the heart of downtown Shanghai. Known for our warm hospitality and excellent customer service, the imperial hotel offers extensive business, meeting and recreational facilities. Offering stunning city view, the total 506 guest rooms and suites feature just the right facilities and amenities to ensure our guests a relaxing stay. The provided 15 function rooms that can cater to meetings of up to 800 pax. The versatile function and meeting rooms offer a wide range of facilities, services and packages for every occasion. The well-recognized Shanghai International Club Fitness Centre is perched on the 4th floor. The centre offers a top line range of fitness facilities from Life Fitness, a tennis hard court, the Fei Spa and a pool area which boasts a breathtaking view of Jing'An. * As per Implementation Rules of Regulation on Public Places Sanitation Administration, smoking will be prohibited in all indoor areas of this hotel from 01 March 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing