We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel at a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manhattan Bund Business Hotel
Ranked #1,230 of 5,160 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 4 November 2014

I was surprise to find a hotel that is back-to-back to the Peace Hotel on the bund and a stone throw from Nanjing East road. The price is very affordable and include breakfast. The hotel is beautiful and had the classic neo-1930s feel. Location is everything here. Less then 500m is the bund and the tourist tunnel train. Metro on Nanjing East stop is also easily accessible. Another surprise are the street night snacks which is just outside the hotel. One downside and a note is there are very small or no windows in the rooms. If you had the intention of a bund view you likely not get one.

Room Tip: Most rooms do not have windows so do not expect one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerExotica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2014

I got a deal for a windowless room and was surprised by hotel decoration. The classy furniture and many mirrors made me forget how small the room was. It made for a pleasant stay, but I still noticed the bathroom is an aging plastic box, with chipped parts and a few stains. And the hotel's hallways don't seem to get the maintenance they require. So, an excellent value right next to the bund, but it might change soon.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francois G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2014

The location was excellent. Close to a metro stop, the riverfront, and the pedestrian mall. While the AC might have cooled a bit better it was adequate. My room did not have a window. The room was clean. I considered it a very good value overall and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chuck B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

i stayed in Manhattan twice back in 2010 and 2012, cheap price considering the good location,walking distance to subway and the shopping center,the building itself is really beautiful but i suggest them to upgrade the facilities really soon, it's an old building and the room is specially small even for tiny Asians! they have a quite cute lobby ,but everything is tiny so suggest if you are above 180cm height, thats not your cup of tea .....tiny bathroom,some with no windows,not very clean glasses...

but the building ,ahhh.... classic old shanghai style...

but i would recommend it to budget guests looking for a transfer place located central area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DanielleLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We booked our reservation with C-Trip and upon arrival we were told that the hotel was full. We insisted that we had made reservations and showed the receipt as proof.

The attendant had advised for us to go somewhere else and come back the next day. Scary experience considering never having visited China and not having knowledge of the language.

They recommended a 4* hotel in the other side of the river for $100, which was dumpy and smelled like mold.

We ended up at the Westin Hotel the following day for $60 more and had an amazing experience there. DO NOT STAY HERE.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank CharlyMcGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Qipu Road
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai,Rock Bund
The Bund
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Off Bund
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#65 of 5,160 in Shanghai
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
JinJiang Metropolo Classiq Hotel, Shanghai Bund Circle
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#9 of 5,160 in Shanghai
2,126 reviews
Shanghai Fish Inn Bund
#88 of 5,160 in Shanghai
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manhattan Bund Business Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattan Bund Business Hotel

Address: No.81-85 Dianchi Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,230 of 5,160 Hotels in Shanghai
Hotel Class:3 star — Manhattan Bund Business Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Manhattan Bund Business Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manhattan Business Shanghai
Hotel Manhattan Business

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing