We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quanji Hotel Shanghai Caohejing
Ranked #1,767 of 5,160 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I stayed in this hotel for one night as I needed something close to the airport as I was departing again the next day. I chose this one based on the BW brand.

The hotel location is location is not ideal or close to much of interest. I didn't expect it to be though.

The hotel itself seems quite dated. The beds were rock hard making sleep difficult. The rooms were functional but tired. Wanted a drink from the mini-bar only to find it was empty and unplugged! There were large Chinese families who seemed to rent out hotel rooms to have parties and left their room doors open. It was noisy from that.

Attached to the lobby is a questionable looking massage parlour with girls trying tout for business. It could be legit, not sure.

Breakfast was included in the rate, but not very western or good for that matter.

Staff was friendly and helpful, but for the money there are better places to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROBERT F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2012

I stayed in this hotel 2 weeks for business purpose and would nit recommend to non-chinese people to come there. Basicaly the rooms are ok, but the main complains are:
1) the breakfat buffet is really poor and made at 99% of chinese style food
2) few people in the hotel speak correct english
3) no wifi in the rooms

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The4Family78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

Just returned from an extended stay at the BW Ruite. The hotel is a somewhat isolated if you can’t read Chinese. However, there are restaurants in the nearby hotels and you can get to the Peoples Street (10 minutes by taxi) where there are over 30 restaurants and bars. There is a Starbucks walking distance from the hotel (1/3 mile) we went to in the mornings. The hotel restaurant was okay if you didn’t want to go out.

The hotel rooms were a little dingy and smelled like smoke but overall acceptable. My safe never worked and my biggest complaint is they would not leave an iron in the room. I had to keep requesting one every other day. Internet connection was the highlight of the room as the speed was enough to get a good skype connection. The TV was all local Chinese channels with a lone BBC news channel.

The people at the front desk were pretty friendly and tried to help as much as they could. There was a massage/spa attached to the lobby which looked a little suspicious but other people in my group got massages and said it was legit.

The hotel is located two blocks away from the Hechuan Road off of the subway Line 9. It takes approximately 25 minutes to get to Peoples Square (5 yuan subway pass).

Overall the hotel was incredibly average. I would not have picked this hotel on my own but it was servicable for my business trip.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
2  Thank cmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

This is a modern, mid-range hotel that’s just about perfect for a business traveller who doesn’t need to be downtown in the financial district.

First, where is it? It’s located on the western outskirts of downtown Shanghai. The hotel is about 5 km (3 miles) from Hongqiao International Airport, 4 km (2 miles) from the massive Everbright Convention Center, about 13 kilometers (8 miles) from the downtown area and about 60 kilometers (37 miles) from Pudong International Airport. Right across the street is a Metro Station on the Hechuan Road/Line 9. I’m not sure where that goes, but I see lots of people flowing in and out, so it works for somebody!

The hotel is a modern high-rise structure, perhaps 15 stories tall, and probably new within the last decade or so. Oddly, the hotel floors are interspersed with office floors, so office workers and hotel guests ride the same elevators to their respective floors. To me, this sounds like a security risk but I guess it works here.

The lobby is small and far from grand, but certainly functional and tidy. There’s a small restaurant/bar on one side of the lobby and a large massage parlor facility on the opposite side. The staff speaks passable English and they are very helpful.

Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served as semi-buffet. The breakfast buffet was pleasant, although the crowd of visitors made the room a bit warm. Lunch was quite pleasant and tasty.

The rooms are just fine; not grand, but certainly very appropriate. The bed is comfy and I slept like a log. The TV has the normal Chinese channels, but no CNN or BBC. The internet access is simple and free, but not very fast. The bathing facilities are fine and clean. Again, nothing is over the top here, but it’s very appropriate for a mid-priced business hotel.

Down the street perhaps a ten minute walk is a little village/shopping area. I found a convenience store there, a couple of small restaurants, a nice bar called Tropicana that doubles as a low-cost Karaoke facility (ignore the singing Korean businessmen) and the usual small businesses that fill any town around the world – barber shop, travel agent, and so on. It was nice to wander around there after my day was done, and I felt perfectly safe. Taxis are widely available if you wish to travel farther, say to the shopping malls; remember to get a name card from the hotel so your taxi can get you back there at the end of the day.

Overall, I would rate this as a very good choice for anyone but the most demanding traveler.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PilotMike2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

The location is, even though far away from the center, well connected to the public transport system and the price for a double room is more than reasonable. The service is friendly and the rooms were clean. The only problem is that if you are used to a certain Best Western standard you will realize quickly that this BW is privately owned and in serious need for some renovation. In that, standard amenities such as Wifi are missing which might be a big problem for people who need to work and all in all the hotel is very dated. Again its ok for the money but due to the rather low prices in Shanghai, I am sure you can do much better (or newer for that matter).

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel2kornacopia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Le Meridien Shanghai, Minhang
Le Meridien Shanghai, Minhang
#3 of 5,160 in Shanghai
168 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#6 of 5,160 in Shanghai
1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quanji Hotel Shanghai Caohejing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quanji Hotel Shanghai Caohejing

Address: No.1888 Yishan Road, Minhang District, Shanghai 201103, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang , Caohejing Development Zone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#223 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $62 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quanji Hotel Shanghai Caohejing 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quanji Hotel Shanghai Caohejing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shanghai
Shanghai Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing