We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$137
US$130
CachetHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$146
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$186/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$219
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$125
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$154/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$148
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$117/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$182
US$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$113
US$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$117
US$93
NewWorldHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
5
28
13
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
28
13
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I stayed in this hotel 2 weeks for business purpose and would nit recommend to non-chinese people to come there. Basicaly the rooms are ok, but the main complains are:
1) the breakfat buffet is really poor and made at 99% of chinese style food
2) few people in the hotel speak correct english
3) no wifi in the rooms

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The4Family78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

Just returned from an extended stay at the BW Ruite. The hotel is a somewhat isolated if you can’t read Chinese. However, there are restaurants in the nearby hotels and you can get to the Peoples Street (10 minutes by taxi) where there are over 30 restaurants and bars. There is a Starbucks walking distance from the hotel (1/3 mile) we went to in the mornings. The hotel restaurant was okay if you didn’t want to go out.

The hotel rooms were a little dingy and smelled like smoke but overall acceptable. My safe never worked and my biggest complaint is they would not leave an iron in the room. I had to keep requesting one every other day. Internet connection was the highlight of the room as the speed was enough to get a good skype connection. The TV was all local Chinese channels with a lone BBC news channel.

The people at the front desk were pretty friendly and tried to help as much as they could. There was a massage/spa attached to the lobby which looked a little suspicious but other people in my group got massages and said it was legit.

The hotel is located two blocks away from the Hechuan Road off of the subway Line 9. It takes approximately 25 minutes to get to Peoples Square (5 yuan subway pass).

Overall the hotel was incredibly average. I would not have picked this hotel on my own but it was servicable for my business trip.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
2  Thank cmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

This is a modern, mid-range hotel that’s just about perfect for a business traveller who doesn’t need to be downtown in the financial district.

First, where is it? It’s located on the western outskirts of downtown Shanghai. The hotel is about 5 km (3 miles) from Hongqiao International Airport, 4 km (2 miles) from the massive Everbright Convention Center, about 13 kilometers (8 miles) from the downtown area and about 60 kilometers (37 miles) from Pudong International Airport. Right across the street is a Metro Station on the Hechuan Road/Line 9. I’m not sure where that goes, but I see lots of people flowing in and out, so it works for somebody!

The hotel is a modern high-rise structure, perhaps 15 stories tall, and probably new within the last decade or so. Oddly, the hotel floors are interspersed with office floors, so office workers and hotel guests ride the same elevators to their respective floors. To me, this sounds like a security risk but I guess it works here.

The lobby is small and far from grand, but certainly functional and tidy. There’s a small restaurant/bar on one side of the lobby and a large massage parlor facility on the opposite side. The staff speaks passable English and they are very helpful.

Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served as semi-buffet. The breakfast buffet was pleasant, although the crowd of visitors made the room a bit warm. Lunch was quite pleasant and tasty.

The rooms are just fine; not grand, but certainly very appropriate. The bed is comfy and I slept like a log. The TV has the normal Chinese channels, but no CNN or BBC. The internet access is simple and free, but not very fast. The bathing facilities are fine and clean. Again, nothing is over the top here, but it’s very appropriate for a mid-priced business hotel.

Down the street perhaps a ten minute walk is a little village/shopping area. I found a convenience store there, a couple of small restaurants, a nice bar called Tropicana that doubles as a low-cost Karaoke facility (ignore the singing Korean businessmen) and the usual small businesses that fill any town around the world – barber shop, travel agent, and so on. It was nice to wander around there after my day was done, and I felt perfectly safe. Taxis are widely available if you wish to travel farther, say to the shopping malls; remember to get a name card from the hotel so your taxi can get you back there at the end of the day.

Overall, I would rate this as a very good choice for anyone but the most demanding traveler.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PilotMike2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

The location is, even though far away from the center, well connected to the public transport system and the price for a double room is more than reasonable. The service is friendly and the rooms were clean. The only problem is that if you are used to a certain Best Western standard you will realize quickly that this BW is privately owned and in serious need for some renovation. In that, standard amenities such as Wifi are missing which might be a big problem for people who need to work and all in all the hotel is very dated. Again its ok for the money but due to the rather low prices in Shanghai, I am sure you can do much better (or newer for that matter).

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel2kornacopia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2009

We just returned from Shanghai and our stay at the BestWestern Ruite.

We agree with previous reviews that the hotel is a bit out of the way, and there is no eateries near by except for the restaurant within the hotel itself. Having said that, the new subway line (only a block away) is now open. This made it very easy to get to other parts of Shanghai. Depending on where you are heading, you may need to make 1 or 2 transfers though. To get to Pudong or the Bund, it would take 2 transfers and approximately 30-40 minutes.

As for the restaurant in the hotel, they served surprisingly good meals. For example, the beef soup noodle was generous, tasty, and reasonable by western standard - this, coming from Chinese Canadians who are accustom to good meals.

As for the hotel itself, the lobby looked a little dated, but our room looked more up to date. Make sure you book and ask for the "business" rooms.

The bathroom was a good size with a tub. Air conditioning worked great. The bed was on the hard side, but I didn't mind that. Internet was free but was on the slow side. Breakfast, not bad, was also included.

We arrived via Pudong International Airport, which is a good 60 minute taxi ride through heavy traffic. We left via Hongqiao International Airport for Beijing. This ride is only at most 20 minutes ride from the hotel.

I booked the hotel using my travel points. So I guess it was good value - if you don't mind the location.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhnaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews