We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Topsun On The Bund
Ranked #2,421 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Very nice room for a very reasonable price! The staff spoke little English but this was China after all just a heads up! We got by just fine checking in. The bed was comfortable, it was convenient, it was clean.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sugar V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

well, i did not like the hotel at all. the pictures are very misleading, staff speaks no english, it took me 25 minutes to check it...the window in my room was FAKE, it means just a glass and the wall infront of it, so there is no sunlight coming to the room, it leaves a very strange impression and i would not reccomend this hotel to anyone. i have stayed in plenty of different properties around shanghai and this one is not the one i will ever consider to get back to.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sven444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

At various website, It may have been in the past or planned in the future. But actual image of the Hotel is 2-star. At receprtion is very difficult communication in any foreign language.Internet in the room is very weak. The only good thing in the room was that I slept weel.Realy need to change the owner.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TOMOSUMIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Let's start on a positive note. The staff really did try, at least for a while. Or at least occasionally.

But nothing worked and if they managed to fix it, something else broke.

At check-in the clerk said she had no triple rooms, although we had booked one. Eventually she found one. Internet was dead in our room and the coffeemaker didn't work. Nor did the replacement kettle. A technician eventually said Internet was out on the seventh floor and we should move to the sixth. Although a few hours before, there had been "no triple rooms," one was quickly located.

Internet worked there, but only for a few minutes. Did I forget the clogged bathtub? And the nonexistent heating?

I tried working with the hotel team until late at night.

In the morning, I realized we hadn't come to Shanghai to give classes in hotel management, so we bailed.

Good news: the receptionist immediately refunded the balance of our stay.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josh_Wallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I've stayed for >1week in this hotel - nice staff (even though they speak almost no english, they were trying really hard), safe, clean even though a bit dated.
Make sure you get a room on the higher floors, then it's totally quiet and nice.
the rooms are spacious, actually almost huge - as is the bathroom. I really liked it - even though the furniture is a bit old, but mostly in a good state.
For that price, you can't beat it! it's a low 4*, but better than any 3* I've stayed in!
Transportation is ok, the metro station is only 5-7min away by foot. You can also walk to the Bund if you have 20-30min available.

Plus you get an impression on what life in Shanghai really is like, as this is not the typical down-town location ;)

Room Tip: ask for one on the higher floors, to make sure it's quiet. also, avoid the lower ones in the rai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANdrei_Rusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#6 of 5,161 in Shanghai
1,856 reviews
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#34 of 5,161 in Shanghai
2,453 reviews
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Topsun On The Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Topsun On The Bund

Address: No.36 Huimin Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200082, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,421 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Topsun On The Bund 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Topsun On The Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing