We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not return to this location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa
Ranked #28 of 35 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Minerva, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Would not return to this location.”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Hotel was very hard to gain entrance, Not marked well, We needed rest and was told that the only rooms available were next to pool, no problem, except the rules that closing the pool was 10 p.m. Kids were still in pool at 11 and were very noisy! Breakfast room was NOT up to standards, they ran out of items and did not replace them.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 76520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    66
    62
    85
    113
See reviews for
169
67
31
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We normally stay in La Quinta's as much as possible because they have such good, clean service but not this one. First of all the shower knob was so loose almost falling off and couldn't adjust the water level. It would go from cold to way way too hot by itself and then back to freezing cold. Very uncomfortable after a long trip from Baton Rouge, La. Then couldn't get good reception on tv or hardly any stations worth watching because of wiring from renovations being done on the place. But the worse of all was the running toilet, it first wouldn't fill up with water and then in middle of night it filled up and wouldn't stop running. Also next morning only way to flush was to fill garbage can up with water from shower and pour it yourself in the toilet tank. This was told to the head staff and they said Oh sorry, its the renovation work being done. Its a good thing we only stayed one night and were moving on to Nashville or we would have left anyway. They offered no assistance or discount of price or anything. We have since sent email to managers and received no replies at all. We will be writing to corporate office soon. Like I said we normally love La Quinta and especially the breakfast offered and service.

Room Tip: find another motel in the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dbram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tuscaloosa hotels

Mobile, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

The hotel was tucked away behind a run-down shopping center, a greasy spoon and the interstate--warning signs? I tried to keep an open mind...it was a La Quinta Inn after all. I have stayed in several that were clean, safe and modestly priced. This was the exception to the rule. The front desk was clean and tidy--the front desk staff was friendly and welcoming...I was not expecting what I found in the room. My first impression was the smell. A funky layer of perfume and cigarette smoke hit me in the face as I entered. I found cigarette burns (in this non-smoking room) everywhere. The funniest had to be the burns on the bathtub. The carpet was scary. I could feel the bacteria breeding under my feet (put the shoes back on!) and the towels had what looked like lipstick and mascara stains. Blehh! it was late and other hotels were booked, so I had to stick it out. The beds were comfortable enough, but I could not help but wondering what lurked in those sheets. One of my pillows smelled a lot like urine.
The next morning, I could not wait to get out having been awoken through the night by car noises and drunken neighbors. I tried to take a shower and the water came out brown and there was a drip for water pressure.
I happily checked out but had to dodge other cars and potholes in their exteremly cramped parking lot. La Quinta Tuscaloosa is not up to par.

Room Tip: Go someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank april l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We had a group staying here while visiting Tuscaloosa. We must have not done our homework before booking this joint. They still use the old plastic keys with holes in them for the rooms which face outside. They only had one key for our room which left me wondering who may have had the others. As we opened the door to our room, we noticed the telltale signs of crowbar use on the door -that was scary. The first thing I did was check the window....you guessed it, it was not locked. That must be how Mr burglar was planning on entering. They had to be in cahoots with the cleaning gal. The smell of cheap cigarettes was overwhelming. The towels in the bathroom were so thin, you could read the paper through them. When I turned back the covers, the fuzzy little comforter was littered with filthy pubic hairs. But you know, they did have a nice Samsung TV that I supposed was there to make all the other problems not as significant. If your only choice is having to sleep at your mother in laws, I reckon you could stay here. My advice is to bring your sleeping bag, some sleeping pills, and the biggest gun you can sleep with before staying here.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank utbeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Our family has stayed in LaQuinta Hotels in many parts of the country. In comparison, this one was poor. The desk attendant was less than friendly or helpful. The rooms were not as clean as others in the Chain. Our non-smoking room smelled of smoke. The pool was dirty. The breakfast was decent.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Milliesfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tuscaloosa hotels
0.4 km away
Ramada Tuscaloosa
Ramada Tuscaloosa
#11 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
403 reviews
0.7 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#22 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
76 reviews
0.6 km away
Days Inn & Suites Tuscaloosa - University of Alabama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Centerstone Inn
Centerstone Inn
#24 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
133 reviews
0.3 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#20 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
148 reviews
0.3 km away
Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa
Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa
#17 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa

Property: La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa
Address: 4122 McFarland Blvd E, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405-3833
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 35 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Price range (per night): $76 - $545
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Tuscaloosa Hotel Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing