We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (754)
Filter reviews
754 results
Traveller rating
435
237
61
16
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
435
237
61
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews banana bread costa rica close to the airport san jose family suite last night superior room zoo ave beautiful grounds rental car nice pool bunk beds ceiling fan next morning would definitely stay here again fresh fruit secure parking
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 754 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2018

Convenient. Good and nice swimming pool. Relax charirs around the pool. Very friendly service. Spacious rooms. Good beds. The Costa rican shower is a bit of special thiing - takes a bit of time to figure out how the hot water comes out. Good breakfast. Restaurant on site is on the more expensive side. But around the corner (e.g. Chery's) are various good alternatives. A bit further away from the airport (lets say 20 minutes or so, depending on traffic of course), advantage is that (at least when we were there) you do not or only modestly hear the airplanes.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robbert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, Reservations at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello!
Thank you very much for the comment.
The expression ''Costa Rican shower'' made us laugh!
Our restaurant is not expensive, and to be honest is cheaper then the others good restaurants around and yes, is expensive in comparison with the bars around which do not sale the same quality of food.
We are 15 minutes away from the airport and the majority of our guest do not recognize the are in the Central Valley because of the silent and and tranquility they experience en La Rosa.
We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018

This was the perfect way to end our vacation as the cozy kitchen and lovely pool area with canopy was so relaxing and felt "away" from the bustle of the city. However, the showers need repair as the hot/cold water was inconsistent and challenging especially when our 3 children were trying to bathe. Comfortable beds!! After 9 days of travel, these were our favorite mattresses! I read several places that it was "only 15 minutes" from the airport. it is not. It is 30 minutes with any kind of traffic at all.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, Reservations at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2018

Hello!
First off, I just want to thank you for giving us a feedback, and taking the time to let us know your experience at The Hotel La Rosa de America.
Our staff do really take pride and joy working in the hotel and making things better for our guest. Like cleaning properly the pool area and kitchen that way our guest feels like home and knowing that everything is very clean makes them feel comfortable.
I'm very sorry to hear that the showers weren't working properly at the moment, did you mention any of this to the front desk?
Since our policy demands to take action right away to resolve this matter for ours and, our guest best interest.
I'm very happy to hear the after many days of traveling our beds were the most comfortable beds that you have found on your trip.
Also there are about 3 diffrent routes, that you can take to get to the Hotel La Rosa De America. With that being said once again thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Hotel La Rosa De America.
Hope to see you very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

This small gated hotel has beautiful well maintained flower and tropical plant garden. The pool is clean as are the rooms. We booked a room with two beds, the room was not large but it didn’t need to be we were in
and out all day. I like to stay in hotels run by
locals because for me it is about the story.
I liked to get to know the people that make up this unique and beautiful country.
I like it when I am leaving the hotel at 4 AM
and out of the darkness appears a security guard with a breakfast to go, yummy banana bread, fresh banana,and a bottle of
juice. During the time we were there they did not offer a mid-day meal but for most travelers it is likely you will not be there anyway. In my case they did not offer free
airport transfer but I would check with them
about your particular reservation type.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Thank pammashburn1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, Reservations at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2018

Hello!

Thank you for taking your time to write this beautiful words. I am glad you had a good time being in the hotel. It was a pleasure to have you here. We do not have a restaurant open for lunch. We only offer breakfast and dinner. For lunch we can offer appetizers or help with recommendations. About the shuttle we can coordinate always your transfers, but only the suites reserved through the website will be for free. Please come back soon. Thank you for visiting us.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for one night before our departing flight. The garden setting is really exceptionally well-maintained and beautiful. The pool is large and clean but quite cold.

The bathtub in our room drained very slowly, and as a result there was a rim of soap scum around the tub. That was a bit gross. Plus whoever showers second or third has to stand in the previous person’s dirty shower water. The tub also has a large crack in need of repair, which an ant crawled out of.

The included breakfast was mediocre. The scrambled eggs looked and tasted like they had been cooked a week ago. The bottle of Lizano was almost empty. All of the food was covered in cellophane and draped with table cloths to protect it from the bold birds who kept landing on the table to try to steal food. I saw one of them go under a cloth to reach a fruit tray. Why not put the buffet table inside where there is plenty of room?

Overall I would say this is an okay choice for an airport hotel. At first we were really impressed with it, but then the lacking details emerged.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank kataboon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Thank you for your review and your honest appraisal of the hotel and our services. We appreciate your comments about our garden! It is very important to us! We will be looking into each of your specified issues. The bathtub drain problem will be identified and fixed immediately. We were not aware as sometimes these things are no easy to note without guest indication.

The breakfast situation is a little embarrassing for us. We try to always provide a fresh and good variety of food for everyone. We have passed your comments on to the kitchen regarding the eggs and we will consider the possibility of buffet relocation to the interior of the restaurant for the coming green season.
Best Regards and thank you again for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Rosa de America both before and after our trip to the Osa Peninsula. Despite some confusion regarding our reservations, Ana reassured us that an accommodation could be had. We thoroughly enjoyed the incredible gardens and wide variety of birds. We ate on site the first night and ventured out to Cheri’s on the second. Both dining experiences provided tasty local meals! Mornings offered a fine array of fresh fruit and banana bread with local coffee!

The only drawback to our visit were the boisterous sounds of a large group of young teens who did not appear to be supervised well into the evening.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank vtbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hick, Reservations Manager at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Hello!
Thank you for the nice comment about your stay in La Rosa.
Sadly the group made you feel not completely good. Our apologies for this but we really appreciate the fact the this inconvenient did not make you see all bad during the stay.
Please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews