We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$631
View deal
Free cancellation until 23/01/22
Booking.com
US$631
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$518
View deal
PricelineUS$631
Hotels.comUS$631
eDreamsUS$631
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,593)
Filter reviews
1,594 results
Traveller rating
1,381
146
38
18
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,381
146
38
18
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews waterfall shower frog tour trout pond trout bar hot tub animal sanctuary canopy bed monarch villa deluxe room big cats cloud forest la paz waterfall gardens hummingbird garden stone fireplace sister property night tour costa rica
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,594 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2021

We stayed for three nights and loved every minute of it. The rooms are as beautiful as shown in their photos, the bathroom jacuzzi and waterfall, the fireplace, and views of the cloud forest from the balcony. The only negative is that the rooms are close to the road and there is a lot of noise from trucks. I used ear plugs. The best part was having free access to the animal park and we visited the enclosures, especially our favorites a couple of times a day. Having access outside of visitors hours was a treat. We got to see the sloths , big cats and toucan feedings up close. The waterfalls hike was excellent and it was amazing to be so close to them. There are a lot of stairs everywhere (to the amenities, the animal enclosures and the falls). The meals were all excellent although the dinner menu is quite small and expensive. By the third night it would have been nice to have a bit more of a selection. We skipped breakfasts but filled up on the casado meals at lunch which were excellent value. The lodge is advertised as a 5 star resort. North Americans should be aware that Costa Rican 5 star is not the same as what they might be used to. But this place is truly special. We will be back soon with family and visitors.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 October 2021 via mobile

What a magical place! Wildlife, flora, falls, peacefullness paired with incredible service, delicious food, luxurious accommodations & views! This isn’t even account for the incredible rules that this place has! Only 18 rooms in the entire property are well-maintained and tended to consistently. We stayed in a deluxe room with two hot tubs one in the bathroom and one on the patio. Everything was working perfectly and it was a perfect way to arrive after a long flight from Colorado. If you’ve driven in the mountains it shouldn’t be too hard to drive. It’s about an hour from SAO, your biggest challenge will be traffic in town and will be free spirited drivers on the road! We rented a 4 Wheel drive suv and it’s been well worth it! It’s important to note that this property is not for the physically unable! They have lots of stairs everywhere! Whether it is to your room or down to the waterfalls or the animals or the trout pond… Speaking of trout pond we fished and it was delightful! You can do a catch and release or you can catch it and have them cook it up for your dinner. Can’t speak enough about this wonderful experience… our flight arrived at 7 PM so most places were closed for dinner. The restaurant informed us that their restaurant closed at 8:15 and to either feed ourselves before we get there or place an order with them and they’ll have it ready for us upon arrival. We did the latter and it was delicious and still warm when we arrived at 9:15 PM!!!

If you’re on the fence about it, do it, you’ll never regret it!

Room tip: Pack bug spray, binoculars, rain gear (rainforest life)! Be prepared for an altitude change!
Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank RituandTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 October 2021 via mobile

Too Notch Experience. Nature Encounter. Nothing here in nature has been altered. The views and the environment in this place is amazing. We went here last Angust and was breath taking. We will definitely come back for our wedding anniversary

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kubanitasalsera
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 October 2021

the rooms were amazing, i could have staying in the bathroom for the entire stay. The staff were amazing. This was the last place we stayed on our 14 day honeymoon. the waterfalls were spectacular, the grounds were amazing, we were a little disappointed that all of the amenities were not available but we understood that it was due to COVID . on one of our days there we had the privilege of a private escort to show us around the area. Keilor took us all over and was the best tour guide ever. That day was one of the best days that we had. Very happy that i save one of the best places for last.

Room tip: the rooms seem to be all the same, they are all named after butterflies
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PattyN1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 October 2021 via mobile

We are so happy we found this place! We had an amazing stay! The location is gorgeous, the rooms are clean and super cozy, the animals are cute and the waterfalls are amazing! Oh, and great service!

There’s a lot to do but also a lot of opportunities to relax. We didn’t have time to try out the spa, but we enjoyed the pool and later the jacuzzi on our balcony.

Our only complaint is that the food is a bit overpriced for what you get and nothing really impressed us that much. It was by no means bad and we enjoyed it, I guess we just expected more “wow” for the price we paid.

Overall we had an amazing experience and we will definitely come back! If you are able to stay here, if so only for one night, do it!!!

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 532emiliaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews