We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Villas Escondidas
Nearby Hotels
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
24
8
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
8
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2012 via mobile

Our family spent ten days here. It is so lovely and peaceful, away from the noise of downtown Grecia. A cooked breakfast (choice of American or Tico) is included. This is a family run business and it shows with the attentiveness and overall concern for their guests' comfort and satisfaction. In addition, after only a short while you feel a part of the family. Everyone at the hotel helped me keep the secret arrival of my daughter from my husband! Mucho gracias to everyone for that! Definitely a great value and the BEST hotel in Grecia!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsKareneT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Our family spent 9 wonderful days here and I don't even know where to start. From the moment Julio picked us up at the airport, we felt at home. We were blown away by the beautifully landscaped grounds of the hotel. There's even a waterfall on the river that runs through it! The rooms and bathrooms are spacious. The fact that Julio and his family all speak fluent English was definitely a plus.

This location is 3 miles southwest of Grecia ($4 taxi ride to town - $6 for the red taxis). I even walked into town one day (about an hour's walk) and it was a great place to relax in the pool or just sit outside our rooms and enjoy the cool air of the morning or evening, in a quiet setting. The owners are very knowledgeable about the area and answered our every question about the area (we were on a "due diligence" trip to check out Grecia as a possible retirement location).

Would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway in the Central Valley. It is centrally located to many of sites of the area: Poas Volcano and La Paz Waterfall Gardens, Sarchi and Zacero and just 30 mins from the airport! We had a driver take us to a beach near Jaco for the day and it only took about 1 hour and 15 mins to get there, via the new highway to the coast.

The hotel has a coded security gate, which was nice. Free wi-fi that worked well! All in all, five stars!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Last year we traveled in Costa Rica for a few weeks. 3 adults and 2 children. By accident we found this place that turned out to be really lovely. We returned there a week later and were welcomed like old friends. Really nice rooms, a pool and a meal when you don't expect it.
A waterfall at the rim of the lawn makes it truely romantic.
We hope to return there one time.
The Lamers family from the Netherlands, Europe

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

First, all of the reviews about the hospitality of the owner are true. You will feel welcomed. By American standards, this hotel is a true bargain. The hotel is centrally enough located to see many of the best attractions in the central valley within an hour or so drive. Who this hotel is not for: if you must have four star amenities (but then again, you wouldn't get that for this price point) or if you must be within walking distance of a town (this hotel is not unless an hour walk up and down hills is within walking distance for you). A taxi to Grecia from this hotel is about US $6.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkTravel616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

My friend and I went and visited this place and it was an absolutely gorgeous hotel that is right by a river, and has a beautiful pool. As two girls in our twenties that traveled alone, It was great because we both felt extremely safe at the hotel and its surroundings. The family that owns Villas Escondidas took us in and treated us like family. They drove us around the city touring the local shops and even hiked to a waterfall with us. I would definitely recommend beginning your trip at this location so they can direct you on the best places to visit across the country!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kellib13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews