We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel El Silencio del Campo(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sueno Dorado & Hot Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Volcano Inn(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nayara Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Fuego Arenal(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Reviews (2,469)
Filter reviews
2,469 results
Traveller rating
1,852
472
93
27
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,852
472
93
27
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslava barswim up barmaster suitearenal volcanocosta ricala fortunahot springssteam roombeautiful hotelpool areathermal waterrooms facespring poolsrain showeralfredohot poolsour honeymoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 2,469 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

The Royal Corin is a very nice hotel. They offer free parking, breakfast and a beautiful pool/hot tubs. Staff are very friendly and will do what they can to make your stay enjoyable. The restaurant prices are ridiculous and the quality of food does not reflect the prices. I would suggest eating off the property as there are some fantastic restaurants and prices are more reasonable. Hotel room was very nice and clean but mattress was too soft for my liking.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Jordana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServicioCliente R, Gerente at The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

Dear Jordana L,

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts after your recent visit. We love to hear that you enjoyed both the hotel and our facilities, we are pleased to offer our services and to make our guests feel at home.

We hope you come back to visit us soon,

Royal Corin Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018

We stayed three nights at the Royal Corin Hotel and it took us a little time to conclude that it was a good hotel, but we did reach that conclusion in the end.

What is good about it is that the rooms are clean and high quality, and the food and the staff in the restaurant are very good. The hotel has its own hot springs in the grounds, which are also enjoyable.

What was less good was:

* it was difficult to communicate with the hotel by e mail in advance - they don't quite have the concierge service that you would expect from a hotel in this category

* our arrival experience wasn't brilliant - there is a security guard on the gate to the property, who wouldn't let out bus in to drop us off - so we walked down, and then a nice man who couldn't speak English was the first hotel member to meet us - then, there was a man on reception who spoke in a very confusing way. By the time we went up to our rooms we were thinking "what on earth is this hotel we have booked into?"

* we had the junior suites with jacuzzis - mine (room 301) I think was better than my friends (room 319) because he just had a view of the carpark and the road, whereas I had a view of the fields. I did enjoy the jacuzzi in the room, but it was badly designed as it was hard to reach the taps which were on the far side of a two-person jacuzzi. Both my friend and I had trouble keeping a constant temperature in the showers, both of which leak water all over the bathroom floor.

The rooms were, however, very good - just not quite to my taste - but you can see that from the photos on the website. We paid approx $500 a night for the rooms.

There is a bar upstairs which has some football table and pool table and serves pizzas and has some louder music - I think it is supposed to be some funky alternative to the more grown up bar downstairs.

The swim up bar in the springs doesn't quite work, because the air temperature isn't quite warm enough to sit with your torso out of the water. But people seemed to like it, and there was definitely a few people enjoying a drink in their swimming costumes of an evening. The "sauna" in the garden didn't really work, and wasn't really hot, so no one really used that. Some of the smaller hot springs higher up were warmer and more private.

We did enjoy dinner - the outdoor terrace feels a bit like it is under a concrete canopy - but we enjoyed the food and the service was good. The wine isn't good though, and is expensive at $8 per glass.

I would also add that breakfast was outstanding - a massive buffet, which had different food every day, as well as someone cooking eggs to your own choice.

Alfredo was one of the reception staff who also provided the concierge service and booked us our tour - the tours at this hotel are provided by Canoa Aventura, so you can also look directly at their website.

Would I recommend this hotel? If you like swim up bars and the style you can see in the photos, then this would be for you. If you want a more hidden little hotel, perhaps less "American", then maybe you might look for something else. I'm not totally sure. But overall we did have a good time, so that's the main thing.

Room Tip: If booking a junior suite, pick 301, not 319
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServicioCliente R, Gerente at The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Dear Heather D,

Thank you very much for sharing your detailed and positive opinion. Your comments help us improve every day to offer a better service.
We are very sorry for that and we will discuss this comment with our reservations department. As a matter of fact we arrange for most of our clients activities, spa treatments in advance.
O​ur apologize for the fact that you have faces a lack of attention of this department. ​
We are extremely surprised about your comment of your arrival experience. And we will try to find out what happened and how this could happen. We have security to protect our clients and the property, but every car, bus, taxi can come in the property after writing down the number plate ​by the security guard.
All our bell boys and receptionists do speak English.
Our showers have ​ ​glass doors and bathroom floors are definitly not leaking. ​We will inspect this room right away to see what is the issue.
Our sauna​ work on NATURAL steam from the Volcano. Depending on the temperature of the day, the temperature of the Volcanic water will fluctuate. Althought the sauna can be 1 day more hot than the other day, we prefer to keep this unique sauna natural without sauna heaters or other artificial changes.
The tours we provide ​are not from 1 specific supplier. We search the best tours and the best supplier for this particular tour. Because we prefer to give independent and objective advice.

We look forward to seeing you again in a near future,

Royal Corin Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

This hotel is good value for money. Staff are very pleasant and helpful. They could market their thermal spa facilities more effectively as we only appreciated what we had as days went on. Food in main restaurant was very good for breakfast and dinner. On site activity planning was personalized and good advise

Room Tip: Get a higher room floor ie 4th.
Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Douglas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServicioCliente R, Gerente at The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

Dear Douglas P,

Thank you very much for your positive comments about your recent visit. Your feedback encourages us to continue working and improving.

We look forward to seeing you in the future again,

Royal Corin Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

Spending two nights here at the Royal Corin and have been astounded by the high level of service by all of the staff - in the Emperador Restaurant, the front desk, the room service, the pool bar... everyone so friendly and helpful. I can't remember everyone's name but they include Alfredo at the front desk, Pablo at the outdoor restaurant and bar, Mayhern, one of the managers, and Maria, the housekeeper - but by no means the only ones who greatly enhanced our stay. I feel guilty that I can't remember the names of everyone who constantly asked if there was anything else we needed or if we enjoyed our meal...

The hotel is very clean and friendly and has a beautiful setting with various thermal pools at different temperatures, based on how close they are to the source .... very relaxing.

La Fortuna is nearby and we enjoyed an afternoon in town, but really, the highlight was the hotel itself, our dinner on the patio of the restaurant the first night with live music under the stars, swimming in the thermal pools, etc. The food was delicious at breakfast and dinner (I ate lunch in town) both days...but I keep coming back to the staff, because truly, they are what made our stay so memorable!

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the thermal pools.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
Thank felloship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServicioCliente R, Gerente at The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

Dear felloship,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback about your recent stay.

We love knowing that our guests enjoy the experience at Royal Corin, and even more, sharing the experience encourages us all to continue working day by day with more strength.

Thank very much, we look forward to seeing you soon,

Royal Corin Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

Room are very clean, staff are helpful, breakfast buffet was delicious, it is perfect for couple. Center location for La Fortuna, hot spa is private, Dutch chef is wonderful. We would like going back there.

Room Tip: Get higher floor room, we stayed at 4th floor
Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank luvbebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServicioCliente R, Gerente at The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Dear luvbebe,

We thank you very much for sharing your comments about your recent stay.

It is great to know you have enjoyed your stay and the hot springs. Your feedback encourages to continue working hard to offer perfect stays.

We hope you choose us again soon,

Royal Corin Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews