We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Arenal Bungalows(La Fortuna de San Carlos)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$179
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$78
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Backpackers Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)(Great Value!)
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brisas Arenal Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$103
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ApartHotel Tierra del Fuego(La Fortuna de San Carlos)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$39
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$332
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$468
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nayara Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$563
US$525
Relais & Châteaux
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (915)
Filter reviews
915 results
Traveller rating
356
301
138
67
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
356
301
138
67
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschalet roombutterfly gardenjunior suitecosta ricahorseback ridinginfinity poolwinding roadjacamar tourshowler monkeysan adventureamazing viewstour guideevery morninghiking trailstour deskhanging bridgessan jose
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 915 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

I stayed here in April of 2017. The Chalet was spacious with floor-to-ceiling views of the volcano Arenal Lake and the Beautiful grounds of the hotel. Lots to see including beautiful flowers and animals on the property. And it's like a paradise. The food in the restaurant was delicious. Just make sure you have transportation as it is a little ways out of town. It is quite worth it however

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
Thank reesecarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco D, Operaciones at Arenal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Thank you very much for commenting.

We are happy to read that you had a good time in Arenal Lodge.

Thank again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018

We stayed here a few days back when there was heavy rain shower and there was no power from evening 5PM till next morning 9.30 (when we just checked out). I understand the weather is not under Hotel's control but when one charges 176$ a night you expect backup power!. We had our 5 year old daughter with us and it was tough without lights whole night. The hotel is 2 miles off the main road and atleast 20 minutes from the La Fortuna town. So not easy to go out for dinner in rain with no lights..

Next morning we highlighted this issue to the front desk and Manager to his credit mentioned he will refund 50% of the stay cost. But I have mailed them twice asking about refund (info@arenallodge.com) and nobody responds. I have been to 25 countries and I have not experienced this level of opaqueness from any decent hotel.

The location was scenic but in bad weather you get no views of the mountain and there is not much else to do.

In summary, what could have been a nice experience was tempered by service and bad planning on Hotel's part. Families with kids: watch out. Money is better spent elsewhere with more facilities.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RaghuSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco D, Operaciones at Arenal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

We apologize for any inconvenience caused.
There are thing with weather that goes beyond our Wish.
There is always a way to fix problems but we do not operate under warnings of make a bad comment like you did.
Actually, we did refund your money and sent you the confirmation, so we do not know what you are talking about.

As the majority of the comments says, Arenal loge is a great place for family, couples, friends etc.
We hope you can come back and give us another opportunity to help you.

Best regard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

We had a chalet which was very spacious & with beautiful view. It had great facilities and was very clean.
The hotel offers a lot; good restaurant, nice lobby which feels like a living room, gym, travel/excursion specialist, kids room etc.

It is about 25 minutes drive to Fortuna but that is not a problem, you can easily dine in the hotel restaurant which is good.
If you do go to Fortuna, be informed that the road to the lodge is very dark, hence you have to drive carefully.

Staff is very helpful at this hotel.

We booked a horse ride with the hotel which was very nice. We were not fortunate with the weather (rain and cloudy) but it was still nice.
We also booked a walking tour at the Arenal. We would recommend to do the walk but you can easily do it yourself without a guide and save yourself about 120 dollars ( 2 persons).

We definitely recommend this hotel

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Stampertje01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco D, Operaciones at Arenal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Thank you very much.
Is good to read that you enjoyed your stay at Arenal Lodge.

Hope that you have a good trip back to your home.

Best regard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

We stayed in Arenal Lodge for a week with my mom. We came on the rainy night when they were out of power, but the staff gave us candles and accompanied us to our room. They actually put us closer to the main building and the restaurant. The bedding was wet on that night, but they didn't have means to dry it. Power was restored next morning and we never experienced the dampness anymore. They keep the rooms very clean.

We were feeding the birds every day and walking on the property trails. They grow pineapples, plantains, sugar cane and many other fruits and trees. My 64-year old mom felt 10 years younger there despite a little humidity and cool weather.

Visit a hummingbird garden if you have a chance. The reception staff is very accommodating and their manager Marco is fantastic. The waiters at the restaurant are responsive and professional. We also met Jesse from Jacamar tours. We found her prices and service very good. Highly recommended to people without transportation. It's actually cheaper to stay in this hotel and buy the tours for people who want to visit hot springs. Even with food and transportation we still beat the Baldi, Tabacon and the Springs lodging costs.

We'll stay in the hotel again when we come back to Costa Rica. If you have any issues report them promptly to the staff and they will go above and beyond to satisfy your needs. They all speak English, so don't rush to give bad reviews if you feel upset about something, just talk to them. All our requests were fulfilled.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tanya_harris_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco D, Operaciones at Arenal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Thank You Very much for commenting.
We were very pleased to have you staying at Arenal Lodge. we hope to see you soon here in our hotel.
Best regard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018

My husband and I spend 5 nights in one of the chalets. The views of the volcano are amazing..especially from the chalets. The actual accommodations and property are in dire need of some updating. It was clean though. Note..if you don't have a car, you are very isolated (which is good and bad) from the town which is a $35 cab ride each way. The restaurant is decent but not having access to anything else we got a bit tired of the menu. Front desk help wasn't overly friendly OR helpful. Take some time to explore the deserted parts of the property!

Room Tip: Get the chalet. It's a walk to the main lodge though
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tasi0802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco D, Operaciones at Arenal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Thank you for commenting.
Hope to have your visit in the future.

Best regard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews