We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$134
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Mountain Paradise(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$116
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lomas del Volcan(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$138
US$115
Bookit.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$297
US$209
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Monte Real(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Silencio del Campo(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$180
Hotels.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$204
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Country Inn(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$89
US$86
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,780)
Filter reviews
3,780 results
Traveller rating
2,494
826
283
107
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,494
826
283
107
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslos tucaneshot springsshangri la gardensorchid roomhotel guestsunlimited accesshoneymoon suitecosta ricarainforest suiteopen to the publicday passswim up barprivate areabuffet dinnercouples massagearenal volcanostar resort
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
811 - 816 of 3,780 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2016 via mobile

We came here with two other families for spring break. Spent three nights here. Check in was quick, but they did not have the rooms available that we booked and also called to confirm. The springs are beautiful and relaxing for sure. The breakfast is crazy expensive for what you get. $35/adult and $25/child for a Buffett that wasn't much better then Perkins.

Some rooms there have been updated, but the rooms we had were clearly not. They were stuck in times, maybe 15-20 years ago they were last updated. I think a good bathroom is indicative of cleanliness and quality. See my posted pic, moldly tiles and very out of date rooms.

Management wasn't very helpful in resolving our issues.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank georgiaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2016

Dear georgiaman

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are happy to know you enjoyed the thermal experience. Let me express my deepest apologies if we were not able to meet your expectations, I would appreciate if you provide more details specially as you mentioned management was not very helpful in resolving your issues, you can contact me directly at customerservice@tabacon.com so I can review internally with our staff, our aim is to provide a memorable experience to all our guests. As you mentioned we have updated most of our rooms, this year we will finalize the renewal of the standard rooms to become them in an Orchid room with a modern style and unique tropical touches. We appreciate your

With kindest regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2016

This is a beautiful hotel with great service. We essentially booked this hotel to get access to the hot spring area that they have which is abolutely amazing.
We got really dissapointed though that anyone can actually access the hot spring spa, so it is not exclusive for the hotel guests. Even though it is a quite large area, it still get crowded as even tour companies sell day tours there and buses arrive with tourists that are there over the day. I think a day entrance fee was 45 USD and tour guides had a day deal for 75 USD including transfer and/or dinner. There is an area there which has limited access only to hotel guests but this is not as nice as the best parts of the spa.
This fact make the room prices way overpriced for us as there are hotels of same caliber for lower prices with better views. One day at the spa is also enough as you may have a busy schedule while in Arenal. The rooms are astonishing though but next time we visit Arenal we'll check in somewhere else and enjoy the fantastic spa as a day guest instead.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PedroArena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2016

Dear PedroArena

We appreciate your review. We are happy to know you enjoyed the hotel as well as our service. Every Tabacon hotel guest receives complimentary access to the thermal experience during the stay, from 8 am on the day of check in to 10 pm on the day they check out, this represents a saving of US$60 per person per day. Also the hotel guests received exclusive access to Shangri-La Gardens our adults-only hideaway for total relaxation. We appreciate our guest feedback and hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again for your next trip!

Kindest regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2016 via mobile

Tabacon is a top notch hotel. Rooms were large and clean. The entire staff was so pleasant and helpful, going the extra mile. My husband and I had massages at the spa (our room came with a $75 credit for spa) and they were awesome. The hot springs there are for hotel only which is important bc the other springs are open to the public and VERY crowded. It rained a few times a day and was damp the whole time we were there - even in air conditioned rooms. Worth it to visit the jungle!

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Caren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2016

Dear Caren S

Thanks for your review and for choosing Tabacon as your Thermal Resort in Arenal. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and you took advantage of your spa bonus included in one of our special packages. As you mentioned our spa experience is really unique, every spa treatment is preceded by a Tabacon signature spa ritual promoting a state of complete relaxation and all treatments are rendered in open air bungalows with dedicated and personalized service. We really look forward to welcome you again.

Kindest regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2016

We visited the springs in the early evening but didn't stay overnight and by the time I'd changed I'd missed the opportunity to take photos but you have to take my word that it is a great place to visit, beautiful in the day and lit up at night. I have chronic pain from Spinal injuries and I found the water very therapeutic - you must follow guidelines about how to use the springs as it can lower your blood pressure.
The hot volcanicly warmed water flows downhill through a series of pools and it is a wonderful experience.
There is a buffet style restuarant with a BBQ we paid our guide who got us a deal but wouldn't have been great value at $40 (which we were told was the going price). Hubby had chicken that was red and bloody near the bone, I tried some beef which was lovely but not a great deal of it. Lots of choices and accompaniments which were nice, they also have a vast selection of deserts, drinks were on the pricey side. Staff were a bit slow to serve drinks. It was full but not overcrowded, everyone seemed relaxed from their dips.
I would definately visit here again, maybe early in the day for photographic opportunities!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Mandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2016

Dear Mandy P

Thanks for your comments. We are happy to know you enjoyed our naturally flowing hot springs that emerges from the volcanic Earth forming more than 20 different pools, ponds and cascades all of them with different temperatures and high mineral content for a therapeutic and wellness experience. Let me express my apology, if we were not able to exceed your expectations with our restaurant service, I will review internally with our F&B staff. For a future visit, we invite you to check the hotel deals, all the room rates includes access to the hot springs during your stay. We hope to have the chance to host you again soon.

Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2016 via mobile

This was our second hotel in Costa Rica. It is a beautiful resort however it leaves much to be desired. Upon arrival we were given bracelet. We stayed 3 nights in the second largest room. We spent $1000 on extras while there. The day of our departure we had a tour in the morning, returned to the resort where we wanted to eat lunch before our departure at 2:00. They took our bracelets before we went on our tour and then denied us access to the bar and restaurant upon our return. We were treated like trash. We wanted to spend money on another meal and drinks. It was humiliating and the kids were starving. We spent $1000 on food and beverage and the food wasn't 5 star quality. The best meal we at was in town for half the price as the resort.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
5  Thank Aimee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2016

Dear Aimee M

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and share with us why our service failed to meet your expectations. I apology for the inconvenient you experienced your check out day, as per our procedures when a guest proceed check out and would like to spend some extra time at the thermal complex what we do is to change the bracelet, I am sure this was a misunderstanding so we can ensure this was an isolated issue. I really appreciate your feedback, and am sorry to hear you weren't 100% pleased with your experience. We will review internally and chat with our staff at different areas of the resort as relevant. Thanks again.

Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resident Manager

























































misunderstanding and

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews