We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,975)
Filter reviews
3,975 results
Traveller rating
2,653
851
294
107
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,653
851
294
107
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslos tucaneshot springsshangri la gardenshotel guestsorchid roomunlimited accessrainforest suitehoneymoon suitecosta ricaopen to the publicday passprivate areaswim up barbuffet dinnercouples massagearenal volcanostar resort
Filter
Updating list...
324 - 329 of 3,975 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2017

We stayed two nights at Tabacon while visiting Costa Rica. It was a wonderful experience from start to finish. Absolutely loved the hot springs in the rain! So much more fun than when we went back the next day in the hot afternoon. The breakfast was very good and staff was great as well. I would stay again if we are ever in the area again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank hereinoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Hello hereinoregon,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you had a 5 star visit and that you had a wonderful experience from start to finish. At the same time, it's great to read you absolutely loved our hot springs in the rain. It's wonderful to know you enjoyed all our facilities and services and that you consider to visit us again. We appreciate your review and hope to host you again in the near future.

Pura Vida,
Marcel Stittner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

I only booked a day spa at the resort but after arriving I realized we should have been there the whole time. It was beautiful! The Tabacon massage was excellent! The food was delicious and we stayed one night in a spectacular room. And it’s close to the Arenal Volcano so the view is amazingly!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jacqueline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, General Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Hello Jacqueline,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you had a 5 star visit and that you stayed one night with us. It's great to read you had a great experience at that you enjoyed all our facilities and services. We appreciate your wonderful review and hope to have the opportunity of hosting you again in the near future.

Pura Vida,
Marcel Stittner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

We visited for an anniversary and from the start of the visit the service was impeccable. The reception staff were efficient and friendly. The reservation policy is horrible. We booked through The leading hotels and their cost was 415 dollars for a honey moon suite. Online the resort was discounting it to 325 dollars a day. The resort would not honor the online price. Our travel agent had it changed but we were placed in the orchid rooms for 315. The rooms were very nice and brand new so it was fine but bad policy with the hotel undercutting the agents. The hot springs were refreshing and as advertised. From the robes to the showers and the upkeep was excellent. Transportation to and from the resort to the hot springs was efficient. Hose keeping as well as all the staff were very accommodating and helpful.
The food was bland but the mixed drinks excellent. Wine was iffy. We ate ala carte daily but were disappointed based on the other level of excellence. The food in town is superior but it is 20 min to and fro. The concierge is very helpful. I would definitely stay but book dinner else where.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Vishnu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017 via mobile

Yes!!!! This place is my “paradise” on hearth!!! One of the most beautiful places I’ve ever been, there are not enough words to describe it, I just hope the pics can show you the beauty.

We enjoyed each of all the waterfalls, the natural and non natural pools down the river, the colors, the sounds and the aromas of this treasure. It was a full senses therapy!!! The peacefulness you can experience in this hot Springs is just amazing.

The visit to Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa was part of a full day trip to the Arenal volcano we booked on line. Quite a long drive (almost 4 hours, each way) however DO IT !!!!

After almost 3 hours of water joy, we changed and got ready for the dinner; also at Tabacon, another great experience. Very well prepared food, lots of options and delicacies.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Adriana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Hello Adriana,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experince at Tabacon with us. We are glad to read you enjoyed each of all the waterfalls, ponds and pools of our property each of them directly heated by the Arenal volcano. It's great to know you had a full senses teraphy during your visit as well as to know you enjoyed our facilities and services, it's also wonderful to read you consider our Ave del Paraíso buffet dinner another great experience of your visit with lots of options and delicacies. We appreciate your detail review and hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future.

Pura Vida,
Marcel Stittner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

Tabacon was the first stop on our 10 day honeymoon trip to Costa Rica. It was breathtaking in every way. From the honeymoon banner on our suite, to the bottle of champagne left in our room, to the hot springs, ambiance and every single staff member, Tabacon made our trip.

Some special call outs:
Adan - Adan served us more often than not in the restaurant. He made us feel so welcomed, brought us small treats during dinner, and offered his expertise of surrounding areas in Costa Rica. Such a great guy.

Spa/Massage staff - We got a couples massage OUTSIDE, seemingly in the middle of the rain forest. What an surreal experience. The staff brought us smoothies by the hot tub while we relaxed before our massage. The "honey temptation" massage just about put us both to sleep and we enjoyed a nice warm shower, also outside. It was the perfect way to relax in nature.

All of the shuttle drivers and concierge staff - So friendly, so welcoming and so focused on making our experience relaxing and carefree.

Tabacon is the best.

Room Tip: Rainforest room was incredible.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dylan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Hello Dylan R,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon with us. We are glad to read Tabacon was a breathtaking experience in every way.We appreciate your special call outs, reviews like this allow us to recognize the excellent work of our collaborators and motivate us to continue delivering a better quality service every day.We are glad you enjoyed your visit as well as a wonderful spa experience. We appreciate your wonderful review and hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future.

Pura Vida,
Marcel Stittner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews