We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (806)
Filter reviews
806 results
Traveller rating
349
349
81
18
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
349
349
81
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la fortuna restaurants and shops costa rica viewing deck two blocks pool and jacuzzi sister hotel secure parking clean rooms arenal volcano hotel is located town centre sushi restaurant light sleeper fresh fruit front desk staff nice breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 806 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2018 via mobile

Pros
- Great location (walking distance to everything in town)
- Wonderful hot/local themed breakfast (with awesome coffee)
- Clean “basic” rooms (think motel 6)
- Great price compared to other lodging in area
- Cold A/C (actually not common for the area)
- Included free access to Volcano hot springs (10k up road)
- Extremely helpful front desk (they answered many of my questioned and helped me choose activities)

Cons
- Area can be loud at times (bring ear plugs)
- Limited selection of towels provided in room

Summary:

I had a great stay at the San Bosco and look forward to booking another stay in the future.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Dream760002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at San Bosco Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2018

Dear customer, thank you for your time to leaving us your positive review.

We are pleased to read your comment and see that you had a wonderful experience at our hotel.

Our main goal is the complete satisfaction of all our clients and your feedback give us the energy to keep serving you in the best way.

We hope you can come back soon.
It will be a pleasure to serve you again.

Pura Vida,
Gerardo Pérez H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018

Great and safe location. 3 minute walk from the central park in La Fortuna. The staff are all very kind and attentive. Rooms (and bathroom) are spacious and clean. Breakfast is buffet style and extremely delicious! They serve eggs, gallo pinto, plantains, toast, fresh fruit, coffee, tea, cereal, sausage, pancakes, casado (beans and rice mix), and fruity drinks. A great variety to choose from. Pool was great for a night or morning swim. You get free passes to the mineral waters of their sister hotel, Volcano Lodge Springs. Their hot springs are beautiful and relaxing. Be aware that you do have to provide your own transportation there. If you have a car then you're set, but if you take a taxi you will be charged 10,000 colones roundtrip (nearly $18). The walls are very thin so you can definitely hear everything your neighbors are saying. I'm a deep sleeper so I didn't mind but be aware if you're a light sleeper. Also, the shuttle was around $55 per person one way. To save some money, take the bus (which was surprisingly comfortable) from San Jose. Research the times available online through Red Lava Tours. It's a 5 hour trip but the ticket is $5 so it's worth it. Avoid the shuttle if you packed light and save some money!! Overall we enjoyed our stay in San Bosco Inn, we will definitely be returning.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank LOP752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at San Bosco Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Hello, the Customer Relations Department want to thank you for your time to evaluating all our services.

We are pleased to read that you had a wonderful experience at our hotel and area in general. La Fortuna is beautiful!!
We have many things to do here. We hope you enjoyed of all our touristic atracctions and services.

As you well mentioned, we have a convenient location, close to the most of basic services in the town.
Also, we have a professional and kindly staff, clean and confortable rooms and facilities; and the best view of Arenal Volcano.

We hope that you can come back to our country and north zone.
It will be a pleasure to serve you again.

Kindest regards,
Gerardo Pérez H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018

Room fine, shower good, AC good, wifi patchy. Reception and cleaning staff lovely, coffee, tea and ice available beside reception, free access to spa at sister hotel 15 mins drive away. Breakfast ok, fresh fruits delicious. Good stay.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank chocsEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at San Bosco Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Dear customer, thank you for sharing your feedback of your experience with us at San Bosco Inn.

We are delighted that the room, breakfast and our staff were a highlight during your stay with us.
We hope that your experience has been unforgettable and that you can come back soon.

It will be a pleasure to serve you again.

Warmest regards,
Gerardo Pérez H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

We had a really great time in San Bosco Inn. The host (Nedley) is really amazing, he helped us with everything we asked for and gave us very good advise about things to do in the neighborhood.

The hotel is just around the corner of the city centre, the centre has a lot of nice restaurants and bars. There is a great view on the Arenal Volcano.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at San Bosco Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Hello Michel, we want to thank you for your positive review.

We are glad that you found the staff very friendly. We know that small details can make a huge difference, so we are always happy to know that our team goes out of their way to make your stay more pleasant.

Our location is convenient and the view of Arenal Volcano is the best.

We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,
Gerardo Pérez H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018

I didn't want to spend a lot of money on a hotel room the first night in Arenal and this place was perfect for my budget. Excellent help from the front desk staff and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The free breakfast buffet wasn't great I would pass on it unless they improve it.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Creeping_Death_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at San Bosco Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Dear customer, thank you for your positive review.

We aprecciate your comment cuz it help us to improve in all we need.
All our staff strives to give you a high quality service.

Definitely we will consider your contribution about the breakfast.

Kindest regards,
Gerardo Pérez H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews