We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Vacation 2018”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2018 via mobile

I've went to this resort on New Year's Day and stayed for 2 nights. I loved the view of the volcano. Although it clouded alot of it. The room looked nice. I would prefer like a queen size bed and 1 full size bed in the room. The resort offered wi-fi in the lobby and in the wi-fi room. I think it's better to add wifi in the rooms as well. The A/C worked fine. The Hot Springs Pool was very nice. The restaurant looked presentable. They didn't had a variety of breakfast foods. The food was good to be honest. Great service.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Henry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 1,219 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2018

The view of the volcano is fantastic (though often clouded), and the warm pools are very nice. There are a few things that let this place down, though. I didn't see any smoke detectors in the rooms; that's really just unacceptable. The restaurant is *incredibly* loud. There's no acoustic dampening, and the sound of the chairs scraping on the floor (whenever someone sits down or gets up) is unbearable. (It would be so easy to fix: get some big sheets of felt pads and spend a couple of hours installing on the bottom of the legs.)

These are small and inexpensive fixes. They would help enormously, and guests could then have better enjoyment of the wonderful location and very pleasant warm-water pools.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

So we stayed in 2 "superior" rooms. Perhaps there are nicer rooms, but our experience (for the price) was definitely ... meh. Mildew smell, bathroom door designed not to open the whole way - the actual cabin was mediocre at best - the facilities in general (spa, etc) were kind of run down, badly designed and not what you expect from traveling in other places. My husband was here before and said that it's all worth it when you can see the volcano and its right BAM in your face. In December, the cloud cover is so dense that you can't see it at all, so the big advantage wasn't there. The blankets in our room smelled disgusting and there is no wifi to speak of (they say there is, but it was only in restaurant and no one in our party could get any signal) - not that you're there for wifi, but it helps.

Food was decent - good breakfast, menu choices for dinner were ok - some dishes had no taste, some were really good.

Another thing - the "jacuzzi" and hot springs were mostly cold and tepid. One pool was hot. Beds were hard as a rock, so if you like that, you're good (I didn't)

As for "eco" - (which happens to be my field)...I have some serious reservations. The ecological footprint of that campus is hardly the best ecological choice, but I'm sure most travelers don't care about that. I think this place is perfect for young people traveling and backpacking around - we were a family and we had come from one of those all-inclusives so we definitely felt the step down in quality (again, this is relative to what it cost - if it were a lot cheaper, I would not be complaining).

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Barbra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

Had a great experience at this hotel. The people at the front desk are very friendly and helpful. Rudy Hema, a friendly gentleman at the front desk, went out of his way multiple times to accommodate us for dinner reservations and transportation off of the resort. Good location to access excursions off of the resort. The free breakfast buffet was excellent and the dinner service and menu was also reasonable and very good. The bungalow suite which we stayed at was outdated, but for the price, this is what I would have expected. Overall we had a great stay at this hotel and would recommend it to anyone who does not need to stay at a 5 star resort hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Todd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

Montaña de Fuego Resort and Spa

I just checked in yesterday and had a wonderful check in experience. The front desk staff was very friendly, they already prepared a packet with my name on it. Very organized. I was impressed. I was also informed that I received a perk because I was Expedia VIP. That was a very good start.
After unpacking, I decided to check out the spa and the hot mineral pools. One of the reasons I booked at the hotel is they have hot mineral pools available for the guests.
To my surprise, the mineral pool I was going to get into was surrounded by a lot of dirty, muddy backpackers. The owners of the backpacks were in the water. I don’t know how clean they might have been when they got into the mineral water, but their backpacks and the clothing put back on were filthy dirty with mud. There were about 20 of them, enough to fill the small mineral pool. So, I decided to check out the spa. The Jacuzzi at the entrance of the spa looked inviting. No sooner did I think about getting into it than 13 of the backpackers jumped in and we’re shoulder to shoulder. They have bright yellow wristbands which apparently a day pass. I asked about at the front desk, and I was told that they came in on a day pass for $17. I am staying three nights which cost over $700..... I do not think I should have to share the mineral pool with a bunch of dirty backpacker bodies, or be completely excluded from the spa Jacuzzi because it is COMPLETELY FULL of bodies with the bright yellow wristband indicating day pass.
I am staying over New Year’s weekend at inflated prices. I don’t think the owner and management need to get so greedy by allowing a big group of backpackers come in and crowd the paying residence out of the facilities. I would recommend going to another establishment that doesn’t encourage backpackers to come in just to make a few extra bucks. Management should have more appreciation and respect for the residents that have paid their inflated holiday rates.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank newoz53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.6 km away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#18 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,532 reviews
6.9 km away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
866 reviews
6 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort &...
#25 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
908 reviews
2 km away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#20 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,380 reviews
1.1 km away
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Sp...
#32 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa

Address: 142, Costa Rica | 8 km west from La Fortuna downtown. On the way to the National Park., Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 824417, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: S$109 - S$244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALL THE SPLENDOR AND ADVENTURE OF LA FORTUNA JUST IN ONE PLACE!Welcome to an experience full of adventure and nature in Costa Rica...Just by the foot of the Arenal Volcano stands Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa, a hotel inspired by its great natural environment, surrounded by 35 hectares of tropical forest on our private reserve.In balance with nature develop a site of rest and fun that makes you feel in a new world.With our All-Inclusive Package in La Fortuna, you can enjoy aholiday full of sustainable adventure and cultural experience.Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa has received the Fordor's Choice Award for several consecutive years, distinguished by Fodor's Travel as the best of hotels in the region of La Fortuna de San Carlos.PURE ADVENTURE IN OUR GO ADVENTURE PARK. Experience the best and exclusive eco adventure tours, feel the extreme nature of tropical forests and the powerful energy of the Arenal Volcano! A BREATH FOR TOUR SOUL... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montana De Fuego Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Montana De Fuego Hotel And Spa
Montana De Fuego Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing