We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Self-contained hot spring resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 November 2017

One of the main reasons for visiting the area is to see the Arenal volcano. We were there for a week, and only saw the top of the volcano a couple of times. Clouds tend to catch on the top of the volcano, limiting the view. When we were at the beach, there were day tours to the Arenal volcano, but it’s a lot of driving to maybe not see something, so I would advise coming to the area for at least a few days instead of the day tours.

This resort is pretty much self-contained. Our rate had breakfast included, but I think you can also get room rates without breakfast. The breakfast was in the main restaurant area by the pool and it was a pretty large buffet with many things the same, but a few things different each day. There was also an omelette bar if you wanted that, but it can be busy so you might have to wait a little. The rooms are mostly single story spread out over the well-kept grounds. A small creek/river runs through the property and you can walk trails around the property. They have lots of signs with the names of the various types of trees. They have a large main pool in the center of the property, and several hot pools close by. The temperature of the hot pools vary so you can pick out the temperature that agrees with you. Waiters from the main restaurant and bar area watch over the pools and it is pretty easy to flag them down to get a drink or appetizer. Drinks are served in plastic stemware so you can have them in the pool. Happy hour (2 for 1) is just before dinner time. There is another swim-up bar away from the main restaurant, and you can also get appetizers there. There is also a late evening happy hour at the bar near the hotel entrance where they have billiards and other bar games. One highlight of the stay was the towel animals that the housekeepers did each day. We were there for a week and there was a different animal each time (e.g., birds, frogs, lady bug, centipede).

Once you get outside the property, you are right on the main highway to Fortuna. If you don’t have a car, you can get a taxi to town (for $10 I think). The town is probably too far to walk to and not really that safe on the highway. The very next road goes to other hotel properties and a nature reserve. The road isn’t too busy, so it’s OK for a walk and the nature reserve is worth a visit. If you want to go on any tours, the front desk can help you with that.

Room Tip: For the standard rooms, ask for one with a Volcano view (great view on a clear morning)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Volcano Lodge & Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Hello John, we were thrilled reading your review.

Thanks very much for taking some time to share with all of us how enjoyable your stay was.

It's so detailed and describes very well everything that our property has to offer to our clients.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in a near future.
Thanks so much for choosing us.

Kindest regards,
Gerardo Pérez H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 108 of 3,137 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2017

Volcano lodge is just like the pictures advertised. It is a lovely hotel among beautiful gardens. There is an excellent view of the volcano right from the hotel. It is located right off of the highway. Easy to get to. Check in and out is quick and easy.
We stayed in the superior thermal room. You have your very own hot spring on the back patio surrounded by beautiful foliage. Nice and private. There are also some lounge chairs on the patio for relaxing and watching the birds etc.. We had a great view of the volcano from our back patio and in the room. The room was just the right size and nice and clean. Not to fancy but nice. There is a mini fridge in the room and soap, shampoo and conditioner provided. The grounds are beautiful. We really enjoyed the hot springs and the pool. It was not to crowed and there are several areas were you can sit off by yourselves. They have a nice nature walk on the property. We saw a lot of neat things. If you have time it is a nice walk.
Unfortunately we only stayed here for two days. I could have stayed several more. It is close to town and restaurants , shopping etc..
The food at the free buffet breakfast is good. Nothing super fancy but feels the empty spot. We did not eat any other meals at the hotel restaurant as we wanted to try out the local sodas. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I would return here with out a doubt.
If you have time I would recommend going on a tour of La Fortuna falls. It is a heck of a hike back up but totally worth seeing this waterfall! Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: superior thermal rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank outintheadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Volcano Lodge & Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Dear customer, thank you for taking the time to share your lovely experience with us.

Is a pleasure to read your comments about our property and services, and we are truly pleased that you have enjoyed all that you encountered in the hotel.

It was a pleasure to have you here with us, and we hope that you can back soon.

Kindest Regards,
Gerardo Pérez H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

This hotel is amazing!!!!!

Beautiful view of volcano from every angle, amazing lush gardens attract many hummingbirds and beautiful animals!
Grounds are well kept and most hotel staff are super friendly!!

Two pools, and several thermal pools ie) hot springs. They have internal taxis and shuttles to/from lobby to rooms.

For couples I recommend the superior thermal suite as they come with private thermal pool ie) natural hot tub.

I cannot rave enough.... except for the restaurant. Food was blan and sometimes undercooked. Complimentary breakfast is just so-so, nothing to get excited about. Wait staff aren’t super friendly and do nothing to make the experience great... they are basically are there to pour water and clear your plates.

Definitely stay here, you won’t be disappointed, but for lunch and dinner go into town and find some great service and great food!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Volcano Lodge & Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Dear customer, thank you for your review which collaborate with all the Trip Advisor users and give us the energy to keep improving in all our services and procedures.

We are pleased to read that you had a good experience with us and that you enjoyed our services in general.

All our staff strives to give you a high quality service.
Definitely, we will consider your contributions about the restaurant to improve.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Kindest Regards from La Fortuna, Costa Rica.
Gerardo Pérez H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

Great location with amazing views. The hot springs being open all day and night was a bonus. Very clean rooms and grounds were immaculate. Staff was very helpful. Restaurant was great for dinner and decent value.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JMorg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Volcano Lodge & Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear customer, we want to thank you for your time to evaluating our services and procedures.

As you well say, we have a nice view of Arenal Volcano from any place of our property.
Our hot springs are a relaxing after doing an adventure tour around the area.

Also, our staff is professional and kindly; and strives to serve you in the best way.

We hope you can visit us in the future.
It will be a pleasure to serve you again.

Best regards,
Gerardo Pérez H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

This is Truly a Wonderful Place to Stay!! Close to all the Attractions and to La Fortuna.
The Staff was Amazing and Very Helpful wit Directions and pointing out all there was to see on the Property. We felt Welcomed from the moment we arrived. The Pools were Wonderful and Inviting !

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank page1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Volcano Lodge & Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear customer, thank you for sharing your feedback of your experience with us at Volcano Lodge & Springs.

We are pleased to read that our staff, location and hot springs were a highlight during your stay with us.

We hope you can come back in the future.

Warmest regards,
Gerardo Pérez H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.2 km away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,943 reviews
1.8 km away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,399 reviews
4.7 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,943 reviews
2 km away
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort &...
#25 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
905 reviews
0.8 km away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#14 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Lodge & Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $126 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing