We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Arenal Montechiari(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$332
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$99
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$78
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Brisas Arenal Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ApartHotel Tierra del Fuego(La Fortuna de San Carlos)(Great Value!)
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Allamanda Rooms(La Fortuna de San Carlos)(Great Value!)
US$25
Booking.com
View Deal
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$390
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nayara Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$563
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,377)
Filter reviews
3,377 results
Traveller rating
2,022
1,108
195
39
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,022
1,108
195
39
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot springscosta ricala fortunabeautiful groundsprivate hot springrocking chairsswim up barbreakfast buffettowel animalsprivate patioback porchevery morningrainy seasonrooms are nicethermal poolsarenal arearestaurant staff
Filter
Updating list...
274 - 279 of 3,377 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2017

Volcano lodge is just like the pictures advertised. It is a lovely hotel among beautiful gardens. There is an excellent view of the volcano right from the hotel. It is located right off of the highway. Easy to get to. Check in and out is quick and easy.
We stayed in the superior thermal room. You have your very own hot spring on the back patio surrounded by beautiful foliage. Nice and private. There are also some lounge chairs on the patio for relaxing and watching the birds etc.. We had a great view of the volcano from our back patio and in the room. The room was just the right size and nice and clean. Not to fancy but nice. There is a mini fridge in the room and soap, shampoo and conditioner provided. The grounds are beautiful. We really enjoyed the hot springs and the pool. It was not to crowed and there are several areas were you can sit off by yourselves. They have a nice nature walk on the property. We saw a lot of neat things. If you have time it is a nice walk.
Unfortunately we only stayed here for two days. I could have stayed several more. It is close to town and restaurants , shopping etc..
The food at the free buffet breakfast is good. Nothing super fancy but feels the empty spot. We did not eat any other meals at the hotel restaurant as we wanted to try out the local sodas. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I would return here with out a doubt.
If you have time I would recommend going on a tour of La Fortuna falls. It is a heck of a hike back up but totally worth seeing this waterfall! Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: superior thermal rooms are great.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kristi w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Volcano Lodge & Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Dear customer, thank you for taking the time to share your lovely experience with us.

Is a pleasure to read your comments about our property and services, and we are truly pleased that you have enjoyed all that you encountered in the hotel.

It was a pleasure to have you here with us, and we hope that you can back soon.

Kindest Regards,
Gerardo Pérez H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

This hotel is amazing!!!!!

Beautiful view of volcano from every angle, amazing lush gardens attract many hummingbirds and beautiful animals!
Grounds are well kept and most hotel staff are super friendly!!

Two pools, and several thermal pools ie) hot springs. They have internal taxis and shuttles to/from lobby to rooms.

For couples I recommend the superior thermal suite as they come with private thermal pool ie) natural hot tub.

I cannot rave enough.... except for the restaurant. Food was blan and sometimes undercooked. Complimentary breakfast is just so-so, nothing to get excited about. Wait staff aren’t super friendly and do nothing to make the experience great... they are basically are there to pour water and clear your plates.

Definitely stay here, you won’t be disappointed, but for lunch and dinner go into town and find some great service and great food!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Volcano Lodge & Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Dear customer, thank you for your review which collaborate with all the Trip Advisor users and give us the energy to keep improving in all our services and procedures.

We are pleased to read that you had a good experience with us and that you enjoyed our services in general.

All our staff strives to give you a high quality service.
Definitely, we will consider your contributions about the restaurant to improve.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Kindest Regards from La Fortuna, Costa Rica.
Gerardo Pérez H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

Great location with amazing views. The hot springs being open all day and night was a bonus. Very clean rooms and grounds were immaculate. Staff was very helpful. Restaurant was great for dinner and decent value.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JMorg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Volcano Lodge & Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear customer, we want to thank you for your time to evaluating our services and procedures.

As you well say, we have a nice view of Arenal Volcano from any place of our property.
Our hot springs are a relaxing after doing an adventure tour around the area.

Also, our staff is professional and kindly; and strives to serve you in the best way.

We hope you can visit us in the future.
It will be a pleasure to serve you again.

Best regards,
Gerardo Pérez H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

This is Truly a Wonderful Place to Stay!! Close to all the Attractions and to La Fortuna.
The Staff was Amazing and Very Helpful wit Directions and pointing out all there was to see on the Property. We felt Welcomed from the moment we arrived. The Pools were Wonderful and Inviting !

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank page1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Volcano Lodge & Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear customer, thank you for sharing your feedback of your experience with us at Volcano Lodge & Springs.

We are pleased to read that our staff, location and hot springs were a highlight during your stay with us.

We hope you can come back in the future.

Warmest regards,
Gerardo Pérez H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

My review of the Volcano Lodge & Springs is the hotel was superb! The daily breakfast was great, room was clean and spacey, the private jacuzzi with thermal water was a blast, especially looking at the Volcano in the horizon. Drinks at the Wet Bar for Happy Hour were fun and relaxing. Alonso was a great bartender!

Room Tip: Room was excellent
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Francisco O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Volcano Lodge & Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear Francisco,

Thank you for having selected Volcano Lodge & Springs for your recent stay in La Fortuna, San Carlos - Costa Rica.

We are pleased to perceive that you had a good stay in our lodge.

We appreciate your positive comment. It give us the energy to keep serving you in the best way.

Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again as our guests.

Best Regards,
Gerardo Pérez H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews