We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Arenal Montechiari(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$88
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$113
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$124
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$343
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Brisas Arenal Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$80
US$77
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Allamanda Rooms(La Fortuna de San Carlos)(Great Value!)
US$25
Booking.com
View Deal
Nayara Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$563
US$488
Relais & Châteaux
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveller rating
74
102
20
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
102
20
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool and hot tublarge refrigeratorlovely hammockla fortunahot springsnice poolbeautiful groundscosta ricagreat view of the volcanomain townrooms were very cleanarenal volcanogreat place to stayair conditioningevery morningporchsoap
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 205 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2017

We stayed here for two nights with friends. It is a delightful place to stay and a great alternative to the larger tourist hotels in the area. The room we stayed in was spotless as were the grounds outside. The family who owns Villas Vilma are friendly and make you feel welcome and appreciated.

Stayed: May 2017
1  Thank Peggy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Due to a mix up with dates at our booked accommodation we ended up staying at Villas Vilma completely unexpectedly. This wasn't too much of a chore however as the hotel is lovely. It's run by very helpful Costa Rican staff who speak English and also have the patience for my very bad Spanish (In itself a recommendation). The accommodation itself consists of small villas that all have terraces facing a lovely garden and, of course, Cerro Arenal. Each one is equipped with a small chair and hammock and the interiors are basic but comfortable with air conditioning, TV and en-suite. They also have a pool area out the back. The only criticisms I have are that the rooms are a tad dark and that the shower was a little bit tempramental, but at $60 a double it's good value and in a quieter part of La Fortuna, not the most inspiring town in Costa Rica!

Room Tip: All rooms have a volcano view
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul_Lawston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

This is a nice, quiet place just out of the main town for families wanting to visit the Arenal area. It's on the main road and just a few kilometers drive to the volcano and attractions there. We have a family of 5 which is hard to find rooms with enough beds for. We were all in one room but beds for everyone. The pool area is also very nice and felt great after a day out in the heat. There are some good restaurants and some shops within walking distance but you would need a car to get to the main town. Air conditioning and fan kept the room comfortable and wifi was fairly reliable although slow at times. We had a wonderful patio area with a relaxing hammock and a great view of the volcano if it's clear.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

Great spot for a group! Pool and hot tub is awesome! Views the best and location perfect to keep teenagers from running off to a bar. Red frog coffee roasters and cafe nearby. Laundry across street. AC in rooms. Great hammocks. Ask for a blanket at front desk if existing bedding isn't enough for you.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017

We stayed here 10 years ago when the volcano was active - could watch from our porch. We found the place again, pretty much the same except for the color on the buildings. The grounds are beautiful and the rooms are large and comfortable. We found the staff very nice and friendly. Everything in Costa Rica has gone up I price, with taxes on everything. We did not mind paying cash because it saved about 15% on extra fees. We recommend and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familytime2009_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews