We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2017

We stayed at this resort during the Arenal portion of our Costa Rica trip. Overall the hotel is very nice. The rooms were comfortable and there were great views. I think on most days (maybe even every day) it was overcast and the clouds were not high enough for us to see the top of the volcano unfortunately. We had a hot tub in our room as well that was good.

The best feature for the hotel for us is the kids pool / wading pool. We have a two year old and usually he either does not want to go into the pool because it is too deep or we have to be very careful and hold him when he goes by the pool. With the kids pool he can play by himself while we watch him and he had a great time! He spent so much time in the water with his toys.

The food at the restaurant and the pool side dining is good quality. We had breakfast and dinner at the hotel restaurant, and a lunch at the pool side. Service is great.

We did have an issue one day where they ran out of pool towels and did not restock them for about half an hour or so, which was an inconvenience but not a big deal.

The hot springs that they have at the resort are very nice as well. Not too crowded so we never had an issue finding a spot to sit.

We requested a crib for our room for our son to sleep in and they brought a pack and play style crib which was sufficient.

Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carson K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raraya, Propietario at Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear Carson K,

We are so happy that you and your family enjoyed every aspect of your visit and that you had a great time with us. For sure we will love to have you all back again with us one day. Thanks for your visit and the feedback.

Best regards,
Ricardo Araya J.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 1,296 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2017

top notch place to spend the weekend! The hot springs on the property are not very hot, but their hot springs that are located off site are fantastic!

Food there was nice and the rooms are very comfortable an upscale.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laplantes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raraya, Propietario at Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear laplantes,

We are so glad that you find your visit to our property perfect. Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards
Ricardo Araya J.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

This is a truly special place! With all the rooms facing the Arenal Volcano and the wonderful gardens, it is magic! The staff are wonderful and the service amazing. Will be coming back in another month or so and can hardly wait!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerrie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raraya, Propietario at Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear Kerrie E,

Thank you very much for your visit and also for taking the time to review it in such a positive way. We are so glad that every aspect of it was perfect, and can't wait to see you back again.

Best regards.
Ricardo Araya J.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

Despite arriving within a day of the country's terrible flooding from tropical storm Nate, we were amazed at the natural beauty that exists at Arenal Kioro and in La Fortuna. You will not believe what stands right outside your window or balcony. The Arenal Volcano is a wonderous site. Everywhere you go in Arenal Kioro Suites you will find the Arenal Volcano.The staff offered special attention to all of us, especially attending to our elderly mother and disabled duaghter while we were experiencing the adventures in La Fortuna. The suites were simply magnificent - spacious, comfortable, lots of natural light (but lacking a bit of indoor lighting within the suite.) Dining was a pleasure. There was a wonderfully complete breakfast buffet (complimentary) and dinner and evening menus were equally enjoying. Room service was quick and available anytime we asked for it. Most enjoyable were the view, the suite, the spa and the gracious staff. Least enjoyably - ??? I honestly can not think of one. Oh I just did - the mosquitoes can be pesky. Bug spray is a good think to bring.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raraya, Propietario at Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear Lori P,

Thank you very much for your visit and also for your feedback. We are so happy that you and your family where able to find the calm before the storm at our hotel. Also it makes us really glad to know that our staff was able to assist you and your family making your trip much more enjoyable. We sure hope to see you again.

Best regards.
Ricardo Araya J.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

Oh. My. God!

From the approach, this doesn't look like much.
The property, however, is LUSH!

From a swimming pool built into volcanic rock (a little wierd because it's black) to a Jaccuzzi in your bedroom!

The food was also pretty darn good and this vegan particularly liked the breakfasts!

The jungle-like tropicana that you walk through on the property is absolutely stunning.

But here's the most amazing part.... every morning there, was foggy & cloudy (volcano?)
The last morning however, I woke up and (the beds face the picture windows) the sky was clear and blue and the live volcanoe was staring right at me. It was stunningly gorgeous!

I've never had such a breathtaking experience.

I definitely want to go back there!
it was the BEST birthday present I've ever given myself!

Room Tip: Make sure your room faces the volcano! (I think they all do).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raraya, Propietario at Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear Dave P,

Thank you very much for calling us your favorite hotel ever. It is feedback like this that keeps us motivated to improve and work harder so if you visit us again, and hopefully you do. We can surprise you even more on your next visit. We are so glad that we where able to make your birthday an experience to remember. Thanks again.

Best regards.
Ricardo Araya J.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.5 km away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,401 reviews
3.8 km away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,946 reviews
2.6 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,451 reviews
3.4 km away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,944 reviews
4 km away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa

Address: San Carlos, 10 km NE of La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Kioro)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $288 - $536 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Kioro offers a fabulous place with a natural viewpoint to the Arenal Volcano. The hotel has 27 acres of undulating land, surrounded by two streams (La Palma and Kioro) with crystalline waters that begin to flow in the Arenal Volcano National Park. It has two paths where plant species are identified. Besides, private thermal springs for our customer's delight. All our suites have:Two terraces with the best panoramic volcano and mountain view, hydro-massage, air conditioning, safe deposit box, minibar, coffee maker, hot water, direct dialing telephone, satellite television, hair dryer, key card, safety locks, internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Kioro Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing