We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This resort was amazing! The view of the volcano was unreal. The hot springs at the resort were great. The room and resort amenities were awesome. The staff at the front desk help set up our excursions and transfers, everything was perfect. Can't wait to come back!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank nmason626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 1,293 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The rooms are very nice, large comfortable beds, hot tub and your view is of the volcano and the beautiful gardens. They have naturally heated hot springs, with several pools amongst the gardens. The food was very good and the service was great. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor, gives you better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Pros
The rooms are spacious and clean with private hot tubs and breathtaking views of the volcano. Breakfast is superb with great variety, including an omelet station and delicious coffee. The grounds are mostly well-manicured with lush landscaping. The pool is small, but the several easy-to-access hot springs make up for it. The Arenal Kioro hotel is on the smaller side, so there is an intimate, quiet feel without the loud, crowded party atmosphere (a con for some).


Cons
Beds and pillows are very firm. The water in the shower did not drain well and leaked into the hot tub/living room are. Be ready for wildlife noises at all hours of the night (mostly birds). Grounds are very spread out and hilly; this was a major challenge for some of the older guests. The hillside paths are poorly lit at night, which is potentially dangerous. Dinner options are pricey and mediocre. We learned Costa Rican food is quite bland and the two hotel restaurants were not an exception. The staff were pleasant, but did not seem to care about guests. We oddly discovered signs that instructed guests not to put any toilet paper into the toilets; soiled TP was to be placed in trash cans. This was not the case in our rooms, but off-putting nonetheless. WiFi was spotty.

Overall, we would recommend Kioro Arenal Suites to others. It has a true rainforest, lush feel to it and the breakfast was awesome. However, we plan to try Tabacon next time we’re in the La Fortuna area.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank trinaOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed here for 4 nights as part of our 9 day honeymoon in mid-September. The hotel was beautiful! Clean, well-kept, the most amazing view of the volcano! When we arrived we were greeted by wonderful staff who were very nice and accommodating, as well as a complimentary beverage for each of us. There was also a bottle of champagne waiting for us in our room. The room was huge with a king sized bed, a hot tub and balcony. Each room uses the room key to turn on electricity, so the A/C won't be running unless you're in the room but it cools very quickly. Costa Rica as a whole is very environmentally conscious.
We booked all of our excursions through the hotel, and the staff was very knowledgeable and helpful. We went zip-lining, a must do!! as well as ATV-riding through the rain forest. We took a day trip to the La Fortuna waterfall (not for the faint of heart with over 500 stairs). We didn't book the tour, but had the hotel arrange a cab ride there and back for us.
September is rainy season, so we had the place mostly to ourselves. But I would not recommend putting off a trip because of the rain. Every day was clear and warm, until mid-afternoon. Like clockwork when 4pm hits it will be pouring. Just book excursions mid-morning and you'll be fine! We had plenty to do, despite the fact that the hot springs on site were not working. There was a complimentary shuttle to take us to a nearby resort with hot springs, but we didin't take advantage of that.
We received free breakfast each day with multiple options to choose from, both local and more familiar foods. I did find the dinner options at the restaurant to be a bit limited and over priced. We ordered room service multiple times and it was good, but also pricey!
Overall I would definitely go back to this resort for a special occasion. Me and husband had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

We really liked the hot Springs in Kioro suites!
There are different temperatures that you can choose which you like.
Also the view from the room is unbelievable!

I have stayed in some other resorts in the area but Kioro has the best view of volcano. Also if you like hot thermals, Kioro is great option.

The rooms is very spacious ( 2 full beds and 1 extra bed)

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Rose_Poupre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.5 km away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,400 reviews
3.8 km away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,944 reviews
2.6 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,449 reviews
3.4 km away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,944 reviews
4 km away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa

Address: San Carlos, 10 km NE of La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Kioro)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $288 - $536 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Kioro offers a fabulous place with a natural viewpoint to the Arenal Volcano. The hotel has 27 acres of undulating land, surrounded by two streams (La Palma and Kioro) with crystalline waters that begin to flow in the Arenal Volcano National Park. It has two paths where plant species are identified. Besides, private thermal springs for our customer's delight. All our suites have:Two terraces with the best panoramic volcano and mountain view, hydro-massage, air conditioning, safe deposit box, minibar, coffee maker, hot water, direct dialing telephone, satellite television, hair dryer, key card, safety locks, internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Kioro Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing