We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Hotel El Silencio del Campo(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$581
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$210/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$241
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Volcano Inn(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul(La Fortuna de San Carlos)(Great Value!)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Fortuna Suites(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$490
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$480
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,343)
Filter reviews
1,343 results
Traveller rating
888
325
93
28
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
888
325
93
28
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tub in the roomhot springscosta ricaday bedfloor to ceiling windowsrooms are hugeamazing viewsmud maskwelcome drinkour honeymoonpool sidebeautiful groundsamazing hoteltravel agentunobstructed viewbreakfast buffetrainy season
Filter
Updating list...
968 - 973 of 1,343 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2007

My friends and I booked this hotel as a respite from our adventures in the Osa Peninsula. When we arrived, we were so happy to find a proper hotel lobby and air-conditioning that we overlooked in the beginning the fact that the hotel, although beautiful and beautifully situated lacked one of the basic necessities of a five-star: service.

We arrived, checked-in and were promised a welcome beverage. It still hasn't arrived.

We asked to be brought to their hot springs, a 10 minute drive from the hotel one hour before the springs closed and they wouldn't accommodate us.

They advised us upon check-in that there would be 24-hour room service. After a long day, we finally found time to eat (10 pm-ish) and when we called for room service was advised that the kitchens were closed. We asked if someone could at least make us a sandwich and were advised that no one was in the kitchen. We asked if the hotel could provide transport into town so that we could get food to bring back to the hotel, they advised that only *one* person was on staff and that they couldn't help us. In the end we had to call a taxi, find out which restaurant was still open and get the food ourselves.

The only good thing about the hotel were the bellhops (very sweet), the rooms (really beautiful), the view (saw the volcano erupt twice) and the spa. Although please do not get a manicure/pedicure or hair treatment because they are not trained and you can do a better job at home. The spa is only good for spa-related treatments.

All in all, this hotel needs to up it's customer service if it really wants to proclaim itself as a "five-star"

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Kiran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2007

We stayed at this hotel with our Adventures By Disney tour, and we thought it was superb. The websites and brochures bill it as a place to see the Volcan Arenal, and it does have a gorgeous view of the volcano-when the volcano is viewable. (We were fortunate enough for the volcano to "come out" on our last morning) The truth is (according to our local guide) that the volcano is only "out" 20% of the time.
So if seeing the volcano at any of the resorts in this area is a small probability, I'd recommend staying at this place for the other reasons we enjoyed it.

The dining room features enormous windows looking out onto the grounds and protected land surrounding the resort. The service was good and unobtrusive, and the food in the restaurant was very good. My kids loved the ceviche (seafood marinated in lime) and the garlic dipping oil. Every morning at breakfast we were able to observe howler monkeys and dozens of birds in the trees around the property. It helped traveling with a local guide who could identify the wildlife we spotted and spotted the wildlife we didn't!

The rooms are enormous; all of them were oriented to have a view of the volcano (which I have to say is pretty even when shrouded in clouds!). The room we had featured vaulted ceilings, a private 4 person indoor hot tub, a roomy sitting area with a minibar and a split bath with a huge rain head shower and separate toilet/sink area. There were 2 large beds (queens?) with views out through sliding glass doors and another twin bed on the other side of a half wall. (This worked out great for us as we were traveling with 2 children and one is an early to bed kid). My husband thought this was a rare property in which the rooms were nicer than the Internet photos!

Free Internet use on a couple of computers (we resisted except to check the Red Sox standings), and handy umbrellas to tote back and forth from the dining room to your room were nice touches.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank familygoBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2007

My family just returned from a Costa Rica vacation. There were six of us ... four children ranging from 14, 12, 10, and 8.

Hands down the Arenal Kioro is the best place I have ever seen. I can repeat all the other fantastic comments from the previous posts. My wife and I have done alot of traveling and from an overall perspective ... location, service, food, room, etc ... the best hotel we have stayed at.

Each room is spacious with an excellent view of the volcano. Also each room has a hot tub in the room.

The staff was as accomodating as you can get ... Bryan and Jorge are the best. You are greated in the lobby with a complimentary beverage when you arrive and the hospitality does not end until you leave.

Some of the highlight of our Arenal trip was the canopy tour at the Arenal Paraiso ... AWESOME. We also took the hike up to the volcano ... the scenary was incredible and the rumbling of the volcano was an experience.

We also spent 4 days in Tamarindo ... I will post pictures later and include the rest of our adventure with the Tamarindo Diria Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank akcook13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Kioro last week for 3 days before we headed to the Occidental. We had the most awesome time at the Kioro and were sad to leave. The hotel had the best view of the volcano from the other hotels in the region. The rooms were extremely clean and spacious. The staff was VERY friendly and treated you like you were the only ones staying there. We never had to ask for anything twice. We ate at the restaurant every night and had the best food and service. At the Kioro, you are able to relax and enjoy the view. The pool overlooks the volcano and has a tiki bar that you can order drinks and food. The grounds are immaculate and very well maintained. My husband and I booked a zip line tour. It was the best. We can't wait to go back to CR and stay at the Kioro again. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank binghamd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2007

Stop looking now, this is the BEST property at Arenal, hands down. It is like new, quiet (unlike Tabacon) and romantic.

We stayed at Arenal Kioro for the first part of our Costa Rica vacation. (We were at the Four Seasons Papagayo for the second half).

This all-suite hotel is wonderful! The rooms are big (like an apartment) and there is a Jacuzzi in each room (suite) overlooking the volcano.

The rooms also have views from both sides - of the volcano and the hills behind the hotel.

The service is excellent and the breakfast buffet (included) had many great options from cereal, eggs, fruit and local delicacies.

The spa at Kioro is also very good, with reasonable pricing.

We visited the Arenal National Park and hiked to the lava rocks that remain from an eruption in 1992. Not a hard hike and well worth the 30 minutes each way. The park entrance fee is $6/pp.

We also visited the hot springs at Tabacon. Visit in the evening as the day is hot. Do you really want to be in hot springs on a hot day? The price is high at $55/pp but after 7pm the price drops to $40/pp. It is worth adding dinner for $20 more.

We also took the Pure Trek Canyoning tour where we rappelled down waterfalls. Very fun!

We booked a reservation at the Sky Tram (Arenal National Park area) and zip-lined all the way down. 8 zip lines in all - 3 mini and 5 long ones! This is a good option as many of the Canopy tours require you to stop yourself (with your glove). This operation catches you as you arrive at each platform. The cost is $60/pp, which includes the Sky Tram ride up the mountain. Reservations required.

If you have more time, make sure to head to Monteverde and the Cloud Forest. We ran out of time and will definitely be back to do the rest.

We paid $270 a night at Hotel Kioro and I would rate it 4 - 5 stars. This is an excellent property at reasonable prices. Included: Breakfast and Internet access (in the lobby). The laundry prices are cheap so we took advantage of the service.

Regarding viewing the volcano: we visited during rainy season so no lava rocks were visible at night, but we did see the cone for one entire day, when the clouds disappeared. Spectacular!

We rented a car, which was great, but the roads are not always paved and it takes a very long time to get around. For instance, we drove from Arenal to the Pacific coast (Four Seasons) and it took 4.5 hours (including a quick stop for lunch).

I recommend flying into Liberia AIrport as it is much easier to access Arenal and the Pacific coast. There is a great grocery store in Liberia called Jumbo located 5 minutes from the airport at hwy 21 and hwy 1. We stocked up and were set for the trip. (Kioro and Four Seasons have mini fridges in the room).

Hotel Arenal Kioro is a great haven in the BEST location (base of the volcano). A quality property and top notch staff; excellent in all ways.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank CathrynG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews