We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!!!!!!!!1”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2015

I am extremely late in posting my review but me and my 17 year old daughter went in November. It was so unique and just an overall great experience. The staff were so nice. We actually got a flat tire in our Rental and the staff put our spare on for us when we went on an excursion. Being a mom with her daughter, it was so greatly appreciated. I can't say enough about our stay. I definitely want to come back with my son. The hike back to the fall was a bit long so if you plan on doing it, make sure you have all the time you need. The grounds are just beautiful and so peaceful. Breakfast you spend time watching all the hummingbirds. I did a lot of research before our trip as I wanted to experience a unique atmosphere and not the average tourist stay. I LOVED THIS PLACE!!!!!!!!!! I am planning a trip with my son in about a year and a half and always want to go experience something new, but after staying here I am so scared to go try something else and have regrets for not coming back to this beautiful place.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (953)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 283 of 953 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2015

Our 3 nights in the Sloth Tree House were dampened by rain, so I can't rate our overall stay as excellent, but the property and the managers and the staff and the breakfasts all deserve the excellent rating. It is a tree house and how cool is that? Coffee for us and a plaintain for 100s of visiting birds in the morning where you can wake to howler monkeys. Personalized tours, suggestions and directions from Mark...who is great, but talks really fast! Everyone was very nice and quick to help. The night tour with Efren who didn't speak English was a little unnerving...when we saw the MUY MAL snake, but it was a good walk for sloths, lizards, sleeping birds, frogs, etc. We had Alamo deliver a rental car to us at the Arenal airport. Everything went like clockwork. We were glad to be able to explore on our own, visiting LaFortuna, the waterfall, Rainforest Chocolate, Paradise Hot Springs, Volcano National Park, Lake Arenal and Howlers. The drive back to SJO in the daylight, was a great adventure: safe, but curvy roads, leading way up, giving us some great views. Mark sent us to the coffee tour in Naranjo that we enjoyed. We only wish the sun had shone and we could have done the long walk on Tree House property.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2015

We loved this place. Came on our honeymoon, as we had never been to Costa Rica we only stayed 2 nights as we had rented a car and intended to see more of the country. This was by far the best stop of the whole trip. Mark & Lucy are great hosts and there is a ton of wildlife to see. Food was great at breakfast and we got to see Agouti, toucans, monkeys, and lots of wild birds from our balcony. e will be back again to catch a glimpse of that elusive sloth :-)

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul8052014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2015

I just expected better service especially for the price. We stayed in the Monkey House.

Pulled up to the gate, call bell broken and no phone signal. Finally had to walk to office only to be told they were planning on fixing that (which would have been nice to have a note or have someone check occasionally to see if guests are waiting). Then instead of showing us to the treehouse - the owner the direction. Lugging suitcases u the treehouse stairs is a chore so remember this when packing. Also there is no coffee maker - so if you are an early rise like myself you are out of luck. Keep in mind there are no phones and no cell service so if you need something you need to drive or walk to the office.

Loved the balcony and the fact you felt surrounded by nature except for the construction noise at another cabin as well as traffic from main road. Breakfast was good and enjoyed chatting with other guests. Owners were able to set up tour to Proyecto Asis Animal Rescue Center which I highly recommend. Trails were very nice.

I can say it was a unique but in all reality I would not return.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2015

We stayed in three locations over two weeks, and one was "luxury" and another was "ecolodge," but Tree Houses was just plain "fabulous." When we arrived, I was skeptical because the house itself wasn't exactly a typical hotel room--no closet, just a locked, built-in chest to put luggage on, and no places to sit inside except on the beds. We soon realized what was inside didn't really matter; the porch is the place to be. The beds were comfortable, the water hot and plentiful, and that's all we really needed. Every morning Patricia or Siedy brought a bag with a thermos of hot coffee, milk, and sugar, along with a plantain or two for the bird feeder, at 6:00. The aracaris, mot mots cuckoos, saltators, yguirros, and a myriad of other birds flocked to the porch every morning. One day we decided to stay at the hotel just to relax and were lucky to see a family of howler monkeys swing through the trees, right down to Yguirro House where we were staying. A mama with her baby on her chest was close enough that we could have reached out and touched them. At night, Rolando, the watchman, conducts a kind of scavenger hunt for creatures. Everyone gets a high-powered flashlight and treks around the grounds looking for anything interesting. We found many frogs (glass frogs, little red poison tree frogs, a larger frog that changes colors--which Rolando let walk up our arms and across our cheeks), a sloth, a huge iguana, various bugs, a opossum, and--my favorite--an emerald basilisk. The people who make up the Tree House family are wonderful--Mark, Lucy, and Llandra will do whatever they can to make your visit memorable. They hooked us up with Juan Carlos, who took us to Arenal and gave us the most fascinating education, not just in the area's history and geography, but in botany and reflexology and social sciences and economics. He is in love with his country and his culture, and no one could have been a better guide. Back at the rancho--where the guests gather each morning for breakfast--Patricia and her friends whip up delicious breakfasts, something new every day. Fruit is all you can eat, as are coffee and juice. When we left early for the volcano tour, the ladies came in an hour early just to feed us.

If we ever go back to Costa Rica, we will definitely spend more time at Tree Houses Hotel. It provided us with memories for a lifetime.

Room Tip: Yguirro was wonderful. The trees surround it, so you'll see lots of birds and animals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kesig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
20.9 km away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,916 reviews
22.6 km away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,419 reviews
22.5 km away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 km away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,373 reviews
21.8 km away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,904 reviews
18.6 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica

Address: 300 Meters Norte de Cementerio De La Florencia | Santa Clara, San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $126 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tree Houses Hotel is a bed and breakfast hotel conveniently located off the main road that runs through La Fortuna and around the Arenal Volcano. We are a short 25 minute drive to the high tourist area. People seek us out with that in mind, to be away from it all but close enough to enjoy all the fun adventure the La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano area has to offer.We have just 5 tree houses (each very private) on 8 acres and we are surrounded by a 70 acre wildlife refuge with a waterfall, pools to swim and a beautiful river. Each tree house features A/C, warm water showers, refrigerators and safes.There are few hotels like this in the world and none other in Costa Rica. There is something so very exciting about spending the night high in the forest canopy, wildlife all around you, safe and cozy in a tree house hotel in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tree Hotel In Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing