We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Arenal Montechiari(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$117/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$332
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brisas Arenal Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Backpackers Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)(Great Value!)
US$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Allamanda Rooms(La Fortuna de San Carlos)(Great Value!)
US$25
Booking.com
View Deal
ApartHotel Tierra del Fuego(La Fortuna de San Carlos)(Great Value!)
US$81
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$563
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nayara Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$563
US$523
Relais & Châteaux
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,003)
Filter reviews
1,003 results
Traveller rating
823
144
20
12
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
823
144
20
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnight hikehowler monkeysmark lucyunique experienceeach morningcoffee deliveredjuan carlossloth housesanta claracosta ricahonor systemla fortunagreat hostswrap around porchfree nightplantainsproyecto asis
Filter
Updating list...
326 - 331 of 1,003 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2015

Our 3 nights in the Sloth Tree House were dampened by rain, so I can't rate our overall stay as excellent, but the property and the managers and the staff and the breakfasts all deserve the excellent rating. It is a tree house and how cool is that? Coffee for us and a plaintain for 100s of visiting birds in the morning where you can wake to howler monkeys. Personalized tours, suggestions and directions from Mark...who is great, but talks really fast! Everyone was very nice and quick to help. The night tour with Efren who didn't speak English was a little unnerving...when we saw the MUY MAL snake, but it was a good walk for sloths, lizards, sleeping birds, frogs, etc. We had Alamo deliver a rental car to us at the Arenal airport. Everything went like clockwork. We were glad to be able to explore on our own, visiting LaFortuna, the waterfall, Rainforest Chocolate, Paradise Hot Springs, Volcano National Park, Lake Arenal and Howlers. The drive back to SJO in the daylight, was a great adventure: safe, but curvy roads, leading way up, giving us some great views. Mark sent us to the coffee tour in Naranjo that we enjoyed. We only wish the sun had shone and we could have done the long walk on Tree House property.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2015

We loved this place. Came on our honeymoon, as we had never been to Costa Rica we only stayed 2 nights as we had rented a car and intended to see more of the country. This was by far the best stop of the whole trip. Mark & Lucy are great hosts and there is a ton of wildlife to see. Food was great at breakfast and we got to see Agouti, toucans, monkeys, and lots of wild birds from our balcony. e will be back again to catch a glimpse of that elusive sloth :-)

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul8052014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2015

I just expected better service especially for the price. We stayed in the Monkey House.

Pulled up to the gate, call bell broken and no phone signal. Finally had to walk to office only to be told they were planning on fixing that (which would have been nice to have a note or have someone check occasionally to see if guests are waiting). Then instead of showing us to the treehouse - the owner the direction. Lugging suitcases u the treehouse stairs is a chore so remember this when packing. Also there is no coffee maker - so if you are an early rise like myself you are out of luck. Keep in mind there are no phones and no cell service so if you need something you need to drive or walk to the office.

Loved the balcony and the fact you felt surrounded by nature except for the construction noise at another cabin as well as traffic from main road. Breakfast was good and enjoyed chatting with other guests. Owners were able to set up tour to Proyecto Asis Animal Rescue Center which I highly recommend. Trails were very nice.

I can say it was a unique but in all reality I would not return.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2015

We stayed in three locations over two weeks, and one was "luxury" and another was "ecolodge," but Tree Houses was just plain "fabulous." When we arrived, I was skeptical because the house itself wasn't exactly a typical hotel room--no closet, just a locked, built-in chest to put luggage on, and no places to sit inside except on the beds. We soon realized what was inside didn't really matter; the porch is the place to be. The beds were comfortable, the water hot and plentiful, and that's all we really needed. Every morning Patricia or Siedy brought a bag with a thermos of hot coffee, milk, and sugar, along with a plantain or two for the bird feeder, at 6:00. The aracaris, mot mots cuckoos, saltators, yguirros, and a myriad of other birds flocked to the porch every morning. One day we decided to stay at the hotel just to relax and were lucky to see a family of howler monkeys swing through the trees, right down to Yguirro House where we were staying. A mama with her baby on her chest was close enough that we could have reached out and touched them. At night, Rolando, the watchman, conducts a kind of scavenger hunt for creatures. Everyone gets a high-powered flashlight and treks around the grounds looking for anything interesting. We found many frogs (glass frogs, little red poison tree frogs, a larger frog that changes colors--which Rolando let walk up our arms and across our cheeks), a sloth, a huge iguana, various bugs, a opossum, and--my favorite--an emerald basilisk. The people who make up the Tree House family are wonderful--Mark, Lucy, and Llandra will do whatever they can to make your visit memorable. They hooked us up with Juan Carlos, who took us to Arenal and gave us the most fascinating education, not just in the area's history and geography, but in botany and reflexology and social sciences and economics. He is in love with his country and his culture, and no one could have been a better guide. Back at the rancho--where the guests gather each morning for breakfast--Patricia and her friends whip up delicious breakfasts, something new every day. Fruit is all you can eat, as are coffee and juice. When we left early for the volcano tour, the ladies came in an hour early just to feed us.

If we ever go back to Costa Rica, we will definitely spend more time at Tree Houses Hotel. It provided us with memories for a lifetime.

Room Tip: Yguirro was wonderful. The trees surround it, so you'll see lots of birds and animals.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kesig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2015

Travelled here for 2 nights with my family (2 kids 10 and 11) and loved it. The drive from the pacific side is a bit scary and wind-y but directions were clear from San Ramon. We stayed at the Hummingbird which was lovely as it was big and had a beautiful wrap around deck. Also was more inside the grounds. You could still hear traffic but not as much. The breakfasts were super yummy and the entire staff great. The night hikes were lovely too. Yes it rained, but it is the rainforest. Allowed for a lovely experience to sit in the middle of the rainforest, see and hear animals and sleep wonderfully.
a Must-do for CR!!! warning.....book ahead!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dmgirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews