We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, tidy neat and the most helpful Manager Rocia who really made my stay enjoyable and wanting to go back again”
Review of Regina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Regina Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel Regina is a lovely, clean neat and wonderful little hotel in La Fortuna. The Manageress Rocia is the most helpful, kind and friendly person I had the pleasure of meeting, I will go back for a stay just to meet her again and spend time with her.

Room Tip: Rooms are clean and the service is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank drsconsultants1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocio V, Gerente at Regina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi,

Thank you very much for the nice comments and for staying with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Regina Hotel !

Warms Regards

Rocio Vargas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2018

I stayed there for about 4 nights back in May. The service was amazing they helped us book tours and other activities. Called cabs for us! Directed us to food! Gave us discounts to breakfast spots! The only down part was the rooms roof was leaking a little bit. But I'm not really high maintenance. The service was so good that i didn't even really complain about it. They treat you like family. This is a great little hotel with very good location.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony! views of the volcano are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocio V, Gerente at Regina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Eric,


I would like to express my sincere gratitude for taking the time to share your thoughts We are very grateful to know your experience and especially your appreciation on the help you got with our recommendations and tips. I´m sorry about water leaking, the problem is fixed now.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Regina Hotel !

Warms Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

Recently stayed at this hotel and was very pleased. The staff are wonderful; warm, welcoming, friendly and helpful. It felt like my home away from home and I felt very safe which is very important to me. I was offered suggestions for tours, booked all of my tours through Rocio the manager and I was not disappointed. Great prices and lots of fun. I’m learning Spanish and Rocio encouraged me to use it as much as possible and helped me when I stumbled.

The housekeeping staff kept the place spotless and every day I was welcomed with a new and very creative towel creation on my bed.

There is security overnight and Alan kindly made me a fresh pot of coffee in the early morning. There are small fridges in the room and some very basic dishes so I saved money by buying breakfast cereal, yogurt, fruit and juices etc and eating at the hotel. I understand that you can arrange with the hotel for a $5 breakfast.

The hotel is very small and that to me was a part of the charm and security of the place. It’s well situated in town and you can easily walk everywhere in town. Hot springs are just a short cab ride away.

You may see comments on other reviews about noise from the street. Yes you can hear the street noises but overnight I never found this to be an issue because the traffic dropped to a just a few vehicles so it didn’t keep me awake and I’m a light sleeper.

Bed was comfortable. A few of the rooms have excellent unobstructed views of the volcano.

Thanks for the great stay ladies!!!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank spayne.home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocio V, Gerente at Regina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Hi,

Thank you for staying at the Regina. We appreciate you taking the time to write such a detailed review, we are pretty sure this review will help others travelers to know about what they can expect at REGINA HOTEL.
Your great review says it all. I am glad were able to make your stay enjoyable and memorable. We hope to see you again and continue our spanish class again.

Regards,
Regina Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017

This hotel is spotlessly clean and the rooms are cleaned better than some 5 star hotels that I have stayed in. The rooms are spacious with a small kitchenette , crockery and cutlery provided so that you can have breakfast. There is a fridge in the room which is ideal for keeping things cool, good working air con and free WiFi. It is however next to a busy noisy road but don’t let this put you off as the traffic noise does stop at midnight and doesn’t start up again until 6am. Just make sure you bring ear plugs. I am a light sleeper and was able to sleep fine and also an early riser so didn’t find this an issue. On the positive note the busy road means that you are right in the heart of town with many good restaurants within spitting distance and very handy for the supermarket too. The staff are very friendly and helpful and I’m amazed at the variety of shapes the towels are made into each day by the cleaners. Yesterday was a mermaid; today was a couple of people !

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the volcano
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Leedstraveller2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocio V, Director General at Regina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Hi,

Thank you for choosing the Regina and taking the time to write nice review. Your review has made our day. We strive to provide outstanding service along with clean comfortable room.
Thank you for favorable comments. Our maid is so happy to know you did like the animal shape towels. Thanks for the ear plugs tip, hope others follow your lead.

Regards from Regina Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

The service from Roscio is always exceptional. We have stayed here several times. The room views are spectacular, and the rooms themselves are perfectly clean, and comfortable. We are always directed to the best local restaurants (they do change from visit-to-visit), and the best deals on local attractions well suited to our activity level (which also changes!!). The addition of Regina and Ricky (two local green parrots), added to the daytime charm of the lobby area. We will always return, for this unique, and very cost effective destination.

Room Tip: the upper rooms facing Arenal Volcano are a delight
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcvilleme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocio V, Director General at Regina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Hi,

Thank you for coming back to the hotel and taking the time to write this wonderful review, It was our pleasure to host you again.
Thank you for recognizing our staff. Comments as yours makes our day. We look forward to you next visit.

Happy holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.6 km away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#36 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
248 reviews
3.6 km away
Hotel Jardines Arenal
Hotel Jardines Arenal
#37 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
170 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Arenal Rossi
Hotel Arenal Rossi
#40 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel La Fortuna
Hotel La Fortuna
#32 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
537 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Paraiso Tropical
Hotel Paraiso Tropical
#57 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
9 reviews
0.5 km away
Arenal Rabfer Hotel
Arenal Rabfer Hotel
#41 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regina Hotel

Address: 150 Meters West of the Catholic Church, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 4417-26, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 59 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $65 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Regina Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regina Hotel is centrally located, close to many restaurants, shops, adventures tours, banks, pharmacies, and other services. Each room has: cable TV, air conditioning, mini-bar, safe deposit box, private bathroom with hot water. Some of the rooms offer great views of the Arenal Volcano. We offer travelers safe, private, clean and comfortable environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Regina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing