We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Explore trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Sueno Dorado & Hot Springs
Reviewed 1 February 2015

A very comfortable inexpensive hotel located 2 miles from town of La Fortunate.
Stayed whilst on tour with 16 British travellers - manager of 2 weeks couldn't have been more helpful . Sorted out bathroom problems quickly and politely . Laundry was done overnight and inexpensive. Breakfast was basic although ham and eggs were excellent . Hot spring pools were great - good temperatures and in a lovely garden .

Room Tip: Rooms are all the same facing garden .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dorothy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2015

Don't let go by the bad reviews, it's really a nice place to stay.

Minor, the manager is an excellent person that really tries his bed to make everyone feel like home, the Peruvian chef is amazing and the food couldn't be better...

Has a great location, close to everything but yet not at all noisy, plus has the beautiful pools with thermal waters facing the great volcano.

Rooms were always clean and always had what we needed.

I understand they recently changed the management for better and it's a really good value place, great food and optimal location.

I hope I can come back soon and have my family spend a great time as well.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jessicarvajal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2015

We were supposed to go there, fortunately though we had troubles with our reservation and didn't have to stay there. We were free to choose other hotels. After having visited others in the area I could compare really good and fact is that value for money wise - this hotel is really bad. They charge u middle class, but u get a backpacker quality. Don't get me wrong, there is nothing wrong with that, it's just that u could get the same for a fourth or even less of the price.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miamaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2015

Small, 11 attached rooms, one floor and all rooms facing the nicely kept tropical garden, owned by a local and managed by a very friendly and ready to serve staff. Included a tasty typical breakfast (not much variety), a hot spring and cooling pools. The rooms were not luxurious but comfortable and had everything we needed. The grounds are very beautiful and it is located near all the best sites (great view of the Arenal volcano).

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2014

On the Plus side: Friendly host, tasty breakfast, convenient location, good AC

On the OK side: Room was freshly repainted and in an overall good state. So, although I do not recommend this place, I cannot say that it was run down. Host tried to promote local businesses (hot springs and restaurant) on which he has a kickback. Your might be OK with the practice... or not

On the Minus side: Where do I start... All you would expect of a cheap (yet overpriced) motel: no wifi in the room (wasn't working), dead bugs left everywhere and alive ones galore, ants in the bathroom, a smell of mold, no fridge, shabby furniture, lack of towels (small ones), unusual (yet functional) electric shower heater, leaking shower knob, no hot water in the sink.

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Luc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
4.2 km away
Arenal Rabfer Hotel
Arenal Rabfer Hotel
#41 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
87 reviews
0.6 km away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#19 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,470 reviews
9.4 km away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Sp...
#31 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,271 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#34 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
178 reviews
7.1 km away
Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge
Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge
#17 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sueno Dorado & Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sueno Dorado & Hot Springs

Address: West Of la Fortuna On the Way To the Arenal Volcano 5 km | 5 km west of la Fortuna on the way to the Arenal Volcano, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sueno Dorado Hotel)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 59 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $115 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sueno Dorado & Hot Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are facing the imposing Volcan Arenal in Costa Rica, surrounded by lush nature and places very close icons attraction is as hot Baldi, places Kalambu Water Park, where exotic animals are observed in the incredible tropical vegetation that characterizes us, enjoys a great view of the volcano with our warm hospitality, spacious and comfortable rooms offering amenities to rest and relax in our pools thermo-mineral waters volcanic owned and taste of our food high in our beloved Costa Rica ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Sueno Dorado & Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing