We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flashy gimmicks over substance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2011

The communal areas are nice with lots of flowers and the pool area is also really nice with a bar. The hotel food isn't great and really expensive and you are miles from the town. There is a free bus that goes to La Fortuna but it finishes at 5.30pm.

The bungalows are a bit tacky in all honesty. There was a waterfall shower which flooded the whole bathroom when switched on and hot water and electricity were not consistently available during our stay. There was no duvet cover on the duvet which is quite unhygienic and the coffee maker wasn't very clean. There was an outdoor jacuzzi in the room which I wouldn't want to use as it was visible to people walking past. The hotel would have been better losing the cheap gimmicks and making sure everything fitted in the rooms worked properly. In all it's not a bad hotel but the area has a lot of very good hotels which offer better value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdventureMat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

836 - 840 of 1,330 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2011

This Hotel is so beautinful, i had a graeat time in there, you got to check it up... you have to visit it... wounderfull

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonaryuleiton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

What an AMAZING experience!!!

The service was AMAZING from the moment we pulled up. We were met with cool fragrant towels which was certainly appreciated because we made the three hour journey from the San Jose right after we landed.

Check-in was a breeze and then we were wisked off to our AMAZING rooms " Rustic Styled Cabins" by the very pleasant and friendly Fabio ;).

The grounds were AMAZING and certainly something of being in Paradise with a view of the mountain from every vantage point.

At one point we had a short blackout, but Fabio was right there with candles, and when there was no hot water when the heater didn't kick back on once the lights were back, John was on the phone and AMAZINGLY we had hot water in no time.

Breakfast was AMAZING with a great variety to choose which included the sweetest pineapple.

I will always stay at the AMAZING Hotel Mountain Paradise whenever I am in La Fortuna....I am hooked!!!

Room Tip: Book well in advance because rooms go fast
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
Thank KISSKAADEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Just came back from our Costa Rican trip and wanted to rave about the service we got at Mountain Paradise Hotel. My husband and I travelled with friends, one of whom had forgotten to bring an important medication with him. The hotel staff, especially John, and the manager worked all day to find a pharmacy and doctor who could help our friend get the medication he needed. He was driven into town by the hotel manager (thank you!) to find a pharmacy that was open on a holiday weekend. Ultimately, the medication was found and delivered to the hotel. Their care and concern was greatly appreciated.
The staff was friendly and helpful in suggesting tours, restaurants, arranging rides to and from La Fortuna, and all with good cheer. It is clearly a well-managed hotel.
The setting is beautiful, the rooms very comfortable and the area is full of things to do. We all felt very well cared for.
Breakfasts were delicious.....dinners not as good. But there are wonderful and reasonable restaurants in the area. We loved the grounds and the beautiful views of the volcano from our patio. We would definitely recommend this place, and hope to return.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bilanderg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Rooms are very spacious, hotel is very clean, restaurant is very good, pool area is very nice. Ivan and Carlos in the restaurant are outstanding.

Room Tip: Room 101 !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nila007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
5.2 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,574 reviews
0.6 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,004 reviews
0.9 km away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#13 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,512 reviews
6.4 km away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,371 reviews
2.3 km away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Address: La Palma De La Fortuna | 7 km del centro de la Fortuna ,carretera al Volcán Arenal , La Palma de la Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 183-4400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $152 - $560 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing