We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Nearby Hotels
Hotel El Silencio del Campo(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$286
US$168
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$332
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$293
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul(La Fortuna de San Carlos)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Fortuna Suites(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)(Great Value!)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$390
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nayara Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$750
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,433)
Filter reviews
1,433 results
Traveller rating
829
374
143
48
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
829
374
143
48
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaterfall showerregular showerswim up barcosta ricaheated poolla fortunaarenal volcanowet barrocking chairsfree shuttlegolf cartlive plantsprivate jacuzziking bedhotel grounds areour honeymoonperfect view
Filter
Updating list...
899 - 904 of 1,433 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2011

This Hotel is so beautinful, i had a graeat time in there, you got to check it up... you have to visit it... wounderfull

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonaryuleiton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

What an AMAZING experience!!!

The service was AMAZING from the moment we pulled up. We were met with cool fragrant towels which was certainly appreciated because we made the three hour journey from the San Jose right after we landed.

Check-in was a breeze and then we were wisked off to our AMAZING rooms " Rustic Styled Cabins" by the very pleasant and friendly Fabio ;).

The grounds were AMAZING and certainly something of being in Paradise with a view of the mountain from every vantage point.

At one point we had a short blackout, but Fabio was right there with candles, and when there was no hot water when the heater didn't kick back on once the lights were back, John was on the phone and AMAZINGLY we had hot water in no time.

Breakfast was AMAZING with a great variety to choose which included the sweetest pineapple.

I will always stay at the AMAZING Hotel Mountain Paradise whenever I am in La Fortuna....I am hooked!!!

Room Tip: Book well in advance because rooms go fast
Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
Thank KISSKAADEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Just came back from our Costa Rican trip and wanted to rave about the service we got at Mountain Paradise Hotel. My husband and I travelled with friends, one of whom had forgotten to bring an important medication with him. The hotel staff, especially John, and the manager worked all day to find a pharmacy and doctor who could help our friend get the medication he needed. He was driven into town by the hotel manager (thank you!) to find a pharmacy that was open on a holiday weekend. Ultimately, the medication was found and delivered to the hotel. Their care and concern was greatly appreciated.
The staff was friendly and helpful in suggesting tours, restaurants, arranging rides to and from La Fortuna, and all with good cheer. It is clearly a well-managed hotel.
The setting is beautiful, the rooms very comfortable and the area is full of things to do. We all felt very well cared for.
Breakfasts were delicious.....dinners not as good. But there are wonderful and reasonable restaurants in the area. We loved the grounds and the beautiful views of the volcano from our patio. We would definitely recommend this place, and hope to return.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bilanderg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Rooms are very spacious, hotel is very clean, restaurant is very good, pool area is very nice. Ivan and Carlos in the restaurant are outstanding.

Room Tip: Room 101 !!
  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nila007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Our first impression of Hotel Mountain Paradise was that it was a high end hotel. We were greeted by name with cool washcloths and juice, which was a nice start. We were driven by golf cart to our room (#400), which was a bit of a hike from the restaurant and reception area, but you are in Costa Rica and should expect a good bit of walking.

Our first impressions of the room were that it was very nice. The beds, like all beds we encountered in Costa Rica, were extremely hard. We had a small private pool in front of our bungalow which was nice, but constantly filled with bugs, so we never used it. A skimmer would be nice. We had a hot tub in our bungalow, but the smell of bleach was so overwhelming we never used that either.

The hotel rooms do not have minibars, which I find odd since you are a good distance from town. We ordered several bottles of water and soft drinks from room service (we also had to request a menu since there was nothing in the room), however the soft drinks were in glass bottles and they did not provide a bottle opener initially.

We wound up going to the restaurant and placing a room service order there. Carolina, an intern, was extremely helpful and friendly. Our food was delivered at 9, and the steak and shrimp were extremely overcooked. I found dinner in the restaurant extremely overpriced and not very good. Breakfast on the other hand was quite tasty and included in the room rate.

Last but not least, the bathrooms at first glance are beautiful. Very large with two separate showers. Our toilet started leaking after the reception desk closed the first night and it took all of the towels in the room to sop up the water. We notified reception on our way out the next morning and thought it was fixed when we got back late that afternoon. No such luck. It took another repairman three trips to fix the toilet. I also noticed that the paint job that was done in the bathrooms was appalling. It appears that the bathroom for our bungalow was purple at some point as there was purple paint dripped everywhere.

I think this hotel has some potential down the road. The grounds are beautiful and it really has the potential to be a mountain paradise. Some suggestions for the owners:
1. Minibars in the rooms
2. Invest in informational binders for each room (there was no info about the hotel, tv channels, the restaurant or room service, things to do in the area, etc.)
3. Improve the dinner menu
4. When a guest reports a problem, fix it correctly the first time
5. Provide a printer on the guest computer in the lobby so people can print out boarding passes.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cookmb03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews