We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Costa Rican Hotel! Amazing.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Mountain Paradise for 3 nights at the very end of January. This was our first time to Costa Rica all together and we were OVERLY thrilled with the way this amazing hotel gave us the complete Costa Rican feel. The grounds of this property were lush and extremley well kept. Every morning we would wake to the sound of hummingbirds and parrots right out side of our room. This is not your typical hotel. Each room is its own little bungalow with a hot tub on the patio. Very private. The room was HUGE and very clean. The shower was unforgettable. You have two options, a regular shower or a WATERFALL shower! The best part is the beautiful view of the Arenal Volcano right out of your back porch. There was also an amazing view of the volcano from the heated pool/bar which we NEVER left. You may not be able to see the Volcano in its entirety depending on the type of day, but by our last day it was so clear we were able to see the very top and the cone! Regardless, it still is very breath taking .The service at this hotel is outstanding. Every single staff member is friendly and willing to help you with any of your requests. The hotel is NEVER crowded and constantly keeps your eyes entertained with the beautiful wildlife that surrounds you. We ate at the restraunt for breakfast and lunch and the food was great. We even ate there for dinner one night and it was just okay. We loved taking the $10, 5 minute cab right into La Fortuna and trying the amazing restraunts there for dinner. Very safe and ver good. If you are wanting to do day adventures this is the best place to stay because you are so close to everything. My husband and I will return to Costa Rica and when we do, we will most DEFINITELY stay here!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonileet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

686 - 690 of 1,329 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2012

We have been all over to the fancy 5 star hotels and when we walked into this place we were taken aback. Gorgeous. Huge rooms in a secluded duplex bungalow setting with waterfall shower, regular shower, and a jacuzzi on the deck! This place is spottless, the staff are incredible and I just cant say enough about this hotel. The restaurant is expensive but really really great quality food and the pool bar and pool snacks make up for it because the menu there is ridiculously cheap!
i would not hesitate to send anyone here. We loved every minute of it!
colin
calgary, ab

Room Tip: all rooms looked great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colin a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Beautiful paradise...amazing view of the volcano (we got lucky with a sunny, clear day). Its not a typical hotel. More of a resort..rooms are like a luxurious hut with walk out backyard and private hot tub. The rooms are Big! The bathroom showers are to remember...they have waterfall in the bathroom..pretty amazing! Very clean. The pool is nice as well with a decent bar and a covered area with hammocks. The breakfast was excellent. Very much enjoyed our stay...would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigger2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed here at the end of July, 2011. The service was excellent from the time we checked in until our departure. We loved the location, the view, the room, the food, and the staff. We booked the middle of the road room, not the smallest, but not with a kitchen either. It was plenty for us with 1 king size bed and 1 double bed for our daughter. There was a mini hot tub on the porch with chairs facing the volcano... beautiful. The activities are pretty much the same no matter where you stay. The tour guides will come to your hotel and pick you up at a designated time. There is a free shuttle that will take you to town. We ate there as well and it was delicious. Alcohol is expensive in Costa Rica, even if you buy it in the grocery stores!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I want to start this review off by saying, when I was in Costa Rica I stayed at 5 different hotel including Tabacon. I must say this hotel topped them all. The service, staff, rooms, and the food were all out standing. I really like the water fall shower, and the hot tub on the balcony with great views of Arenal. The food in the dinning room was fantastic.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IslandDrifter23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
5.2 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,573 reviews
0.6 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,996 reviews
0.9 km away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#13 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,506 reviews
6.4 km away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,367 reviews
2.3 km away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Address: La Palma De La Fortuna | 7 km del centro de la Fortuna ,carretera al Volcán Arenal , La Palma de la Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 183-4400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $137 - $571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing