We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2012

this was very nice place to take my family to, i really don't have anything bad to say, the price was good for such an awesome room. would definately go back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

684 - 688 of 1,330 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2012

I am going to start my review by praising the incredible staff at Mountain Paradise. On our third day here, my husband and I were to be picked up from the hotel for a horseback riding tour at 8:30 on Monday morning. After 15 minutes of waiting, we asked the reception desk to call and find out about the delay. We were informed that they have been there to pick us up at 8:15 and they left with us. Apparently, there was a change on the pick up time and we were never notified. We called the tour operator and they said there was nothing they could do, the tour was about to start and they could not send a driver to pick us up.

The day seem to be lost, when Mauricio at the reception desk took over and told the agency to hold the tour that the hotel will bring us to the stables in time to join the rest of the group. We asked Mauricio who will be driving us and he said "one of our hotel managers"; and low and behold, the manager came out of his office, pulled out his SUV and drove us to the stables. (I am sorry, I can't remember his name, but he was very friendly and graceful). Luckily, the stable was about 10 minutes away from the hotel and we were able to embark on our wonderful horseback riding experience to the Fortuna waterfall.

Needless to say, how grateful we were that day. The hotel staff really saved our day and gave us a reason to agree with so many travelers that the Costa Rican people are very friendly and will do anything to make sure you feel welcome in their country.

The grounds of the hotel were like a tropical paradise, the room was beautiful & immaculately cleaned. We loved the waterfall shower and the jacuzzy on the deck! Make sure you enjoy the pool with the view of the volcano. We were lucky enough to see it one day for a brief period of time without clouds. It was priceless.

Gracias a todos por vuestra ayuda y nuestro gran recuerdo de unas lindas vacaciones. PURA VIDA!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovemytraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Mountain Paradise for 3 nights at the very end of January. This was our first time to Costa Rica all together and we were OVERLY thrilled with the way this amazing hotel gave us the complete Costa Rican feel. The grounds of this property were lush and extremley well kept. Every morning we would wake to the sound of hummingbirds and parrots right out side of our room. This is not your typical hotel. Each room is its own little bungalow with a hot tub on the patio. Very private. The room was HUGE and very clean. The shower was unforgettable. You have two options, a regular shower or a WATERFALL shower! The best part is the beautiful view of the Arenal Volcano right out of your back porch. There was also an amazing view of the volcano from the heated pool/bar which we NEVER left. You may not be able to see the Volcano in its entirety depending on the type of day, but by our last day it was so clear we were able to see the very top and the cone! Regardless, it still is very breath taking .The service at this hotel is outstanding. Every single staff member is friendly and willing to help you with any of your requests. The hotel is NEVER crowded and constantly keeps your eyes entertained with the beautiful wildlife that surrounds you. We ate at the restraunt for breakfast and lunch and the food was great. We even ate there for dinner one night and it was just okay. We loved taking the $10, 5 minute cab right into La Fortuna and trying the amazing restraunts there for dinner. Very safe and ver good. If you are wanting to do day adventures this is the best place to stay because you are so close to everything. My husband and I will return to Costa Rica and when we do, we will most DEFINITELY stay here!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonileet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We have been all over to the fancy 5 star hotels and when we walked into this place we were taken aback. Gorgeous. Huge rooms in a secluded duplex bungalow setting with waterfall shower, regular shower, and a jacuzzi on the deck! This place is spottless, the staff are incredible and I just cant say enough about this hotel. The restaurant is expensive but really really great quality food and the pool bar and pool snacks make up for it because the menu there is ridiculously cheap!
i would not hesitate to send anyone here. We loved every minute of it!
colin
calgary, ab

Room Tip: all rooms looked great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colin a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Beautiful paradise...amazing view of the volcano (we got lucky with a sunny, clear day). Its not a typical hotel. More of a resort..rooms are like a luxurious hut with walk out backyard and private hot tub. The rooms are Big! The bathroom showers are to remember...they have waterfall in the bathroom..pretty amazing! Very clean. The pool is nice as well with a decent bar and a covered area with hammocks. The breakfast was excellent. Very much enjoyed our stay...would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigger2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
5.2 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,574 reviews
0.6 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,004 reviews
0.9 km away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#13 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,511 reviews
6.4 km away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,371 reviews
2.3 km away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Address: La Palma De La Fortuna | 7 km del centro de la Fortuna ,carretera al Volcán Arenal , La Palma de la Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 183-4400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $153 - $569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing