We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,501)
Filter reviews
1,501 results
Traveller rating
874
392
146
50
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
874
392
146
50
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews waterfall shower regular shower swim up bar heated pool costa rica la fortuna arenal volcano wet bar rocking chairs golf cart private jacuzzi hotel grounds are stayed here for three nights beautiful grounds perfect view hot springs hotel restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
774 - 779 of 1,501 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I am going to start my review by praising the incredible staff at Mountain Paradise. On our third day here, my husband and I were to be picked up from the hotel for a horseback riding tour at 8:30 on Monday morning. After 15 minutes of waiting, we asked the reception desk to call and find out about the delay. We were informed that they have been there to pick us up at 8:15 and they left with us. Apparently, there was a change on the pick up time and we were never notified. We called the tour operator and they said there was nothing they could do, the tour was about to start and they could not send a driver to pick us up.

The day seem to be lost, when Mauricio at the reception desk took over and told the agency to hold the tour that the hotel will bring us to the stables in time to join the rest of the group. We asked Mauricio who will be driving us and he said "one of our hotel managers"; and low and behold, the manager came out of his office, pulled out his SUV and drove us to the stables. (I am sorry, I can't remember his name, but he was very friendly and graceful). Luckily, the stable was about 10 minutes away from the hotel and we were able to embark on our wonderful horseback riding experience to the Fortuna waterfall.

Needless to say, how grateful we were that day. The hotel staff really saved our day and gave us a reason to agree with so many travelers that the Costa Rican people are very friendly and will do anything to make sure you feel welcome in their country.

The grounds of the hotel were like a tropical paradise, the room was beautiful & immaculately cleaned. We loved the waterfall shower and the jacuzzy on the deck! Make sure you enjoy the pool with the view of the volcano. We were lucky enough to see it one day for a brief period of time without clouds. It was priceless.

Gracias a todos por vuestra ayuda y nuestro gran recuerdo de unas lindas vacaciones. PURA VIDA!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovemytraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Mountain Paradise for 3 nights at the very end of January. This was our first time to Costa Rica all together and we were OVERLY thrilled with the way this amazing hotel gave us the complete Costa Rican feel. The grounds of this property were lush and extremley well kept. Every morning we would wake to the sound of hummingbirds and parrots right out side of our room. This is not your typical hotel. Each room is its own little bungalow with a hot tub on the patio. Very private. The room was HUGE and very clean. The shower was unforgettable. You have two options, a regular shower or a WATERFALL shower! The best part is the beautiful view of the Arenal Volcano right out of your back porch. There was also an amazing view of the volcano from the heated pool/bar which we NEVER left. You may not be able to see the Volcano in its entirety depending on the type of day, but by our last day it was so clear we were able to see the very top and the cone! Regardless, it still is very breath taking .The service at this hotel is outstanding. Every single staff member is friendly and willing to help you with any of your requests. The hotel is NEVER crowded and constantly keeps your eyes entertained with the beautiful wildlife that surrounds you. We ate at the restraunt for breakfast and lunch and the food was great. We even ate there for dinner one night and it was just okay. We loved taking the $10, 5 minute cab right into La Fortuna and trying the amazing restraunts there for dinner. Very safe and ver good. If you are wanting to do day adventures this is the best place to stay because you are so close to everything. My husband and I will return to Costa Rica and when we do, we will most DEFINITELY stay here!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonileet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We have been all over to the fancy 5 star hotels and when we walked into this place we were taken aback. Gorgeous. Huge rooms in a secluded duplex bungalow setting with waterfall shower, regular shower, and a jacuzzi on the deck! This place is spottless, the staff are incredible and I just cant say enough about this hotel. The restaurant is expensive but really really great quality food and the pool bar and pool snacks make up for it because the menu there is ridiculously cheap!
i would not hesitate to send anyone here. We loved every minute of it!
colin
calgary, ab

Room Tip: all rooms looked great
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colin a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Beautiful paradise...amazing view of the volcano (we got lucky with a sunny, clear day). Its not a typical hotel. More of a resort..rooms are like a luxurious hut with walk out backyard and private hot tub. The rooms are Big! The bathroom showers are to remember...they have waterfall in the bathroom..pretty amazing! Very clean. The pool is nice as well with a decent bar and a covered area with hammocks. The breakfast was excellent. Very much enjoyed our stay...would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigger2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed here at the end of July, 2011. The service was excellent from the time we checked in until our departure. We loved the location, the view, the room, the food, and the staff. We booked the middle of the road room, not the smallest, but not with a kitchen either. It was plenty for us with 1 king size bed and 1 double bed for our daughter. There was a mini hot tub on the porch with chairs facing the volcano... beautiful. The activities are pretty much the same no matter where you stay. The tour guides will come to your hotel and pick you up at a designated time. There is a free shuttle that will take you to town. We ate there as well and it was delicious. Alcohol is expensive in Costa Rica, even if you buy it in the grocery stores!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews