We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“resort in the clouds.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2013

we stayed at this resort for 7 days,which was a mistake,because if your not going on tours everyday their absolutely nothing to do on this property.The resort itself was quaint and needs some sprucing up.Further more it takes three hours from San Jose Airport too get their.The food at the restaurant was good but over priced.The best part of this resort were the rooms which are very nice and clean.Had a good time on the tours and learned alot about the egosystem,which was very interesting,but if i was to go back i'd land in Liberia Airport next time and stay in an all-inclusive resort their and i say this because i stayed their six years ago with my daughter,can't remember the resorts name,but it was sunny everyday and the resort was beautiful and the tours we took were much more fun.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank choppers61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

512 - 516 of 1,330 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2013

Amazing hotel, very nice, the view from the room !!!awesome!!!, the arenal volcano right in front of us, the private pool, the sorroundings amazing, to make it perfect they need a microwave oven in the rooms and in the restaurant a menu with local dishes instead of the international menu they offer.
I will go again, no doubt about it

Room Tip: Ask for room 405
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jose_R34618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

We came to this hotel from the Tortuguero area via a small plane to San Jose and private transport with Travel Excellence/Cox and Kings to Arenal. We made a stop at Zarcero to look at the sculptured shrubs and the church, this was an interesting stop. Our driver was excellent with very good English which means we could learn so much about the country. By the time we arrived at La Fortuna we were starving and immediately our driver took us to a small local restaurant where we all had good local food - a late Costa Rican breakfast of rice and beans, plantain and fried egg - as we had had a very early start. Our first impression of the hotel Mountain Paradise was mixed. Beautiful gardens and lovely pool area with pool bar. Very spacious accommodation in the form of cabins but we felt it needed a bit of a facelift with its waterfall shower, black jacuzzi on the patio surrounded by black rocks and strange bedroom walls with what looked like balls of cement on the walls and painted in bright yellow. However, we were to realise that our two day stay here was to have distinct good points.

The view of the Arenal volcano was magnificent and we were content to spend the remainder of the first day relaxing by the pool and exploring the gardens. Dining area was lovely but very few people came in for dinner. Food was very good. Service generally in the hotel was excellent. Shop was always shut and didn't appear to be well stocked. We found it impossible to get WiFi in the room or at the pool, but it was readily available in the reception area.

Our second day was an early private collection with a very good driver who was to take us to Cano Negro-Rio. En route we stopped to see a tree absolutely laden with the large Iguanas. We boarded a shared boat on the canal and again our guide was superb, both with English and his knowledge of the canal and it's wildlife. We saw kingfishers, herons, Ibis, lemmings, etc. then caimans, Jesus Christ lizards and howler and capuchin monkeys. The highlight was seeing two sloths actually moving around in a tree! When we got to the Nicaraguan border we were able to step off the boat and take photos at the boundary. Again our dinner was very good and the long drive was certainly worth it as it was a memorable day.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nandpfenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I've never been in such a cute place where you must pay for everything. They even try to charge me a $10 dollar fee for service, like the two tiny bottles of water in the room and the coffee. The rooms are very nice and worth the money and the grounds are gorgeous. The food is excellent but too expensive. I couldn't believe it how expensive it was. Also watch out for the tours they sell. They are much cheaper in town, La Fortuna. The volcano and other outdoor grounds are very close to this hotel. By the way, the wifi does not work most of the times.

Room Tip: go for the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank celta r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

The hotel looks nice, the rooms are big and the ammenities seem nice, however, they are understaffed and are not keeping up with maintenance. You have the issues with the showers in other reviews (floods the bathroom), the keys often do not work properly and other, minor, nagging concerns. What staff are there are nice, but they seem to be poorly managed/led. We saw much happier and helpful people at other hotels. The one restaurants food was medicore, over-priced and again, not well staffed. With so many ohter nice hotels available near La Fortuna (like the Nagora), skip this until the management decides they want to run a proper hotel--certainly do not spend more than one night here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonHo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
5.2 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,574 reviews
0.6 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,002 reviews
0.9 km away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#13 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,511 reviews
6.4 km away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,369 reviews
2.3 km away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Address: La Palma De La Fortuna | 7 km del centro de la Fortuna ,carretera al Volcán Arenal , La Palma de la Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 183-4400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $153 - $577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing