We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$109
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Arenal Montechiari(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$88
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$124
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$273
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Brisas Arenal Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$80
US$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nayara Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$563
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Allamanda Rooms(La Fortuna de San Carlos)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (1,472)
Filter reviews
1,473 results
Traveller rating
855
385
144
50
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
855
385
144
50
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaterfall showerregular showerswim up barheated poolcosta ricala fortunaarenal volcanowet barrocking chairsgolf cartlive plantsprivate jacuzziking bedour honeymoonhotel grounds arebeautiful groundsstayed here for three nights
Filter
Updating list...
1,109 - 1,114 of 1,473 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2009

The view of the volcano was spectacular. The rooms were the nicest we stayed in while we were in Costa Rica. We stayed in three different hotels, and all were very nice, but this was definitely the nicest. The best bathroom hands down. The staff was super nice especially Ivan. The breakfast buffet was delicious and different every morning.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CR_h0neym00ners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

Would like to thank the entire staff for the great service...highly recommend! The pool had a great view of the volcano.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
Thank alexei5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2009

We stayed at Mountain Paradise for 4 nights in early October. Although it as about 2km down an unpaved road, a 4x4 is not needed.

The rooms were some of the nicest I have had to pleasure of booking. The rooms are quite large and the showers are great (massaging and waterfall showers). We had a good view of the volcano from the front patio, and the hummingbirds were constantly flying arounds the vegetation closeby. We also had a couple visits from the tame bunnies that roam around the resort.

A buffet breakfast is provided in the morning at the resort's restaurant and features a good variety of cold and hot items including an ommlete station. Otherwise the dining at the resort was a little expensive, and although they tried to be "gourmet", the food fell a little flat in the execution.

For the most part, the staff was friendly and helpful. We did have a little trouble getting them to setup a reservation for Eco Thermales, but is was no big deal. They were having some problems with the phone and internet systems. I'm not sure if was just a resort problem or more widespread. A couple small issues with the room were taken care of quickly.

The location is convenient to the town of La Fortuna and the unpaved road to Arenal Observatory Lodge/SkyTrek. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Mountain Paradise and would consider it again if the price was good.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank racintiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

Don't plan on any help if you have a problem at this place. We went on a tour of the volcano and came back to find that our computer had been taken from our room out of our back pack along with numberous other small electronics by one of the personnel. Someone who had a key Which is quit a tragedy. It was a nice place to stay. We recieved no help in finding our computer or creating a police report. We want all who decide to stay here to remained armed and guarded.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Wounded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

My Boyfriend and I stayed at Mountain Paradise and from our arrival to our departure it was a wonderful experience. The staff are very friendly and help you in any way possible. The hotel offers free transportation to and from La Fortuna (Where the waterfalls are located) They have a wide variety of activities to choose from. Our room had a wonderful view of the volcano, 2 rocking chairs and a jacuzzi on the back. The beds are very BIG and COMFY. The bathrooms were very attractive - they have a regular shower that massages you and a waterfall shower. (AMAZING). During the day you hear the humming birds singing, and you see them feeding off the beautiful gardens that are literally outside your room. I give this place 110%. The pool is beautiful and it also has a bar. The hotel has a very nice restaurant, Spa, & souvenier store ...

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiamiTravelers09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews