We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain Paradise-Where the service is the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2009

Mountain Paradise Hotel sits adjacent to scenic Arenal Volcano. The area is no shortage of Hotels in La fortuna and around Mount Arenal . Mountain Paradise sets itself apart with Beautiful views of the volcano from many of the cabanas (just 48 in all so it always feels very private), meticulous gardens & excellent Meals. But what truly sets mountain paradise apart is the service. The staff @ Mountain Paradise is as good as you will find anywhere. They were the most accommodating hotel staff I have ever come across. I would rate the hotel as a 3 & 1/2 star hotel, but the staff is 5 star all the way. ( they lose half a star for not having a fitness center, but whose really concerned w/ that ). Although Mount Paradise does not cater to a predominately gay cliental, they are very gay friendly even offering one the "honey Moon suites" 203 at a reduced rate to my partner and I. Keep in mind though that this was off season in Oct.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessycantone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,046 - 1,050 of 1,360 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2009

The view of the volcano was spectacular. The rooms were the nicest we stayed in while we were in Costa Rica. We stayed in three different hotels, and all were very nice, but this was definitely the nicest. The best bathroom hands down. The staff was super nice especially Ivan. The breakfast buffet was delicious and different every morning.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CR_h0neym00ners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

Would like to thank the entire staff for the great service...highly recommend! The pool had a great view of the volcano.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
Thank alexei5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2009

We stayed at Mountain Paradise for 4 nights in early October. Although it as about 2km down an unpaved road, a 4x4 is not needed.

The rooms were some of the nicest I have had to pleasure of booking. The rooms are quite large and the showers are great (massaging and waterfall showers). We had a good view of the volcano from the front patio, and the hummingbirds were constantly flying arounds the vegetation closeby. We also had a couple visits from the tame bunnies that roam around the resort.

A buffet breakfast is provided in the morning at the resort's restaurant and features a good variety of cold and hot items including an ommlete station. Otherwise the dining at the resort was a little expensive, and although they tried to be "gourmet", the food fell a little flat in the execution.

For the most part, the staff was friendly and helpful. We did have a little trouble getting them to setup a reservation for Eco Thermales, but is was no big deal. They were having some problems with the phone and internet systems. I'm not sure if was just a resort problem or more widespread. A couple small issues with the room were taken care of quickly.

The location is convenient to the town of La Fortuna and the unpaved road to Arenal Observatory Lodge/SkyTrek. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Mountain Paradise and would consider it again if the price was good.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank racintiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

Don't plan on any help if you have a problem at this place. We went on a tour of the volcano and came back to find that our computer had been taken from our room out of our back pack along with numberous other small electronics by one of the personnel. Someone who had a key Which is quit a tragedy. It was a nice place to stay. We recieved no help in finding our computer or creating a police report. We want all who decide to stay here to remained armed and guarded.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Wounded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.6 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,091 reviews
0.9 km away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,906 reviews
5.2 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,377 reviews
2.5 km away
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort &...
#24 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
886 reviews
2.3 km away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Address: La Palma De La Fortuna | 7 km del centro de la Fortuna ,carretera al Volcán Arenal , La Palma de la Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 183-4400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $139 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing