We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great taste, friendly environment”

La Choza Del Marisco
Restaurant details
Reviewed 8 February 2016

Best seafood restaurant in La Fortuna. From red snapper to ceviche and sopa de mariscos this place has it all with a great taste. Surprisingly, prices are extremely friendly for such delicious dishes. A must visit in La Fortuna.

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2015

We stopped for dinner the first night and kept coming back the other 3 nights for more. Prices are VERY friendly. And the food has so much flavor! The place doesn't look like much, but what a surprisingly good kitchen and all the food is plated fantastic!
We tried the cheviche as appetizer, followed by Fish with Costa Rica sauce. (Tastes a bit curry like). YUMMY! Next day we tried the rice with shrimp. Again we were happily surprised. Last night we could not resist to try the Fish again. Staff is friendly. Restaurant is a fun place to eat. I highly recommend it!

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chrisfromlakeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2015

Where to start? We stopped for dinner the first night and kept going back the other 3 nights for more. Prices are very friendly. And the food has so much flavor! The place doesn't look like much, but what a surprisingly good kitchen and all the food is plated fantastic and looks like it comes straight from a five star kitchen!
We tried the cheviche as appetizer, followed by Fish with Costa Rica sauce. (Tastes a bit curry like). YUMMY! Next day we tried the rice with shrimp. Again we were happily surprised. Last night we could not resist to try the Fish again. Staff is friendly. Restaurant is a fun place to eat. I highly recommend it!

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ChrisDutchLingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2015 via mobile

Somebody recommended we eat lunch here and we were so glad he did. My arroz con camarones and his arroz con pollo were easily the best we've had so far in our three weeks in CR. Really flavoursome. His pineapple and my lemon juice were also really good, not watery as so often.

Unless the heavens open with a deluge (as they did last night) we will walk down the road and eat dinner there too. Nice feel to the place too. Our waiter was good and when the chef came out she was so full of personality. Recommended.

Date of visit: November 2015
Thank spanishkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2015

We've lived in Fortuna for 3 years, & can honestly say that this is one of the best places to eat. Everything is made to order, & seasoned to perfection. The service is attentive, friendly, & prompt! &, the prices are good!! I recommend any of the Ceviches', the fish soup is also a favorite. The recipes are from the Caribbean side, & offer flavors that are more unique than the typical food here in Fortuna. It's a welcome change!

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jessycantone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Choza Del Marisco also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to La Choza Del Marisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing