We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$78
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$241
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ApartHotel Tierra del Fuego(La Fortuna de San Carlos)(Great Value!)
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Backpackers Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)(Great Value!)
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brisas Arenal Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$103
US$92
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Allamanda Rooms(La Fortuna de San Carlos)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$22
Booking.com
View Deal
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$332
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nayara Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$593
US$563
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Bungalows(La Fortuna de San Carlos)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (3,585)
Filter reviews
3,585 results
Traveller rating
3,257
267
45
13
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,257
267
45
13
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine baroutdoor showerour honeymooncasita deluxecosta ricasushi restaurantarenal volcanoamor locoaltamira restaurantgranola barsprivate deckmain restaurantgolf cartwine pairing dinnerswim up barzip liningturn down service
Filter
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 3,585 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2018 via mobile

On first sight Nayara Resort looks very welcoming, bit of confusion over our allocated room thought we had Casita 12 turned out to be No 21. After a guided tour of the resort by buggy we were thoroughly lost. After we had settled in to the room and stepped on to the balcony there were unpleasant smells of cooking coming from the very nearby Alta Mira restaurant. We happened upon the manager Jairo who asked after our room and was dismayed to learn we were not very happy. After. Consulting their reservation system we were told we could move but not until the next day. To. Compensate we were upgraded to a Rainfall Villa; as nice as this was big does not always mean better. Villa No 26 is the first of the higher grade of rooms and by a very busy junction and also located near the car park. Consequently there always seemed to be either a buggy or guests passing by which spoiled the enjoyment of the balcony which was only separated from the paths by the shrubs.
On our last night after dinner we returned to find a bug in the room. When we mentioned it at checkout without hesitation the management gave us a credit on our bill.
The staff and management are highly visible, approachable and seemed genuinely to want to make your stay as good as possible.
All in all the Resort has much to offer and seems to have something for everyone. Really appreciated water in the rooms; tea and coffee making a warm smile every time we returned from a trip all made you feel very comfortable and welcome.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jairo_quesada, Gerente at Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Dear Sharon L,

Thank you very much for finding time to leave a very informative review. We really appreciate your kind comments about the staff and also your extremely helpful feedback. At Nayara, we believe that the best way in which we can improve the overall experience we offer is by listening to our guests and making sure we're respecting their wishes and trying to make up for incidents that are somewhat out of our control. We sincerely apologize for the mix up with the casitas and the bug in your room. Thank you for your visit!

Pura vida!

Jairo Quesada
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

Spent 4 wonderful nights at Nayara. We loved the setting, the beautiful gardens and magnificent views from the private terraces. The outdoor shower was also a treat. We would however have liked more light in the dressing area.
We used the private hot tubs on the resort side but preferred the pools at Nayara Springs and enjoyed the easy walk over the bridge.
Breakfast buffet each morning was wonderful as was the the wine tasting dinner at the wine bar. Other restaurants were good but not great.
Staff everywhere were friendly, personable, and went out of their way to make us feel special.
Nayara is a wonderful place to visit and truly a special experience.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank susan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jairo_quesada, Gerente at Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Dear Susan K,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a great review of our resort. We're so glad that you thought the gardens were beautiful, the views from the terrace magnificent and the outdoor shower a treat. We appreciate you letting us know that you really enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and the wine pairing dinner. At Nayara, we believe that the feedback we receive from our guests is the most important tool to improve areas that need strengthening and we really value your comments. Thank you for your visit, we hope that you think of us when planning your next trip.

Pura Vida!

Jairo Quesada
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018

Staff, location, villas: perfect. Beautiful views, We were able to check in early, most appreciated after a long flight from Europe and the place is magnificient. So why not perfect ? The food, except for breakfast is nothing to write home about in the resort restaurants we tried put. Asian was most disapointing as rather tasteless (or catering to over sensitive american palates ?) . Also, missing some advice on excursions, what to visit,etc. Staff sell tours (expensive) even though most can be done for half the price, without a guide, often not needed, provided you have a car. No info (and or maps) available on the hikes in Arena national park and surrounding area even though the hikes are really worth taking. But as I am rating a hotel and not a tour desk, i still go for "excellent"

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jairo_quesada, Gerente at Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Dear Michael W,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel. We really appreciate your compliments about the staff, the location and the villas. Also, we would like to take a minute to let you know that we really value the feedback we receive from our guests. At the moment, we're in the middle of giving the menus in all of our restaurants a very thorough makeover. We understand that the gastronomic aspect of your stay should be as remarkable as the accomodation, the service, etc and we want to be able to leave an unforgettable impression. Thank you again for your comments and we hope that you visit us again in the near future.

Pura Vida!

Jairo Quesada
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

What an experience. We chose this hotel as we had been told by friends that the guide Ana Villalobos was fabulous. And she was! She took us to the hanging bridges and the night walk and we had the best time with her. We learnt so much and saw so much. As for the hotel - well it is a five star hotel and totally sumptuous. The five restaurants were amazing - espcially the Asian fusiion and Amor Loco. All the staff were just lovely particularly Sonia and Frederic.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank yellowmellable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jairo_quesada, Gerente at Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Yellowmellable,

We take great satisfaction when our guests let us know they had an unforgettable experience when they visited Nayara. There is a lot to do and to see in La Fortuna and our lovely guide Ana is not only smart and knowledgeable but also fiercely passionate about her job. She will love to know she made your vacation even better. We're glad that you thought the hotel was sumptuous and that the restaurants were amazing. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a great review and we hope to see you again very soon.
Pura Vida!

Jairo Quesada
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

This boutique hotel is charming and well managed. The staff were great and the resort was stunning with endless pathways and discoveries to be made - little pools, fountains, jacuzzis, and views on Arenal volcano. The rooms were well designed with outdoor showers and jacuzzis and atmospheric terraces. The decor was not my fave style but it worked! The massages and spa were good, the fitness room quite pleasant and the food was great. We particularly enjoyed the breakfast which offered regional classics as well as more international fare. We did the outing to the hanging bridges which was easy, fab and saw loads of fun and scary creatures! We also did the armadillo night walk which was fun. The adjoining adults-only Nayara Springs hotel is naturally a bit more snazzy and the child-friendly resort only has a small (warm) pool which is good for making small friends but not great for adult swimming! However you can presumably go next door for a quick swim? I'd definitely come back.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TigerlilyTigerlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jairo_quesada, Gerente at Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Tigerlilly,

We really appreciate your kind comments about our hotel. We're glad that you thought the staff was great and the grounds were stunning. At Nayara, we believe that every aspect of your trip should be filled with fun surprises and we're so pleased that you enjoyed the rooms, the gym and the spa massages. Thank you for letting us know that you loved the food at the restaurants, especially our complimentary breakfast which is full of local cuisine and international options for every taste, just perfect to start a fun-packed day. We look forward to your next visit.

Pura Vida!

Jairo Quesada
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews