We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Arenal Bungalows(La Fortuna de San Carlos)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Arenal Container Hostel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$27
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 01/08
US$78
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$104
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
ApartHotel Tierra del Fuego(La Fortuna de San Carlos)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Backpackers Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brisas Arenal Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$88
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Allamanda Rooms(La Fortuna de San Carlos)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$20
Booking.com
View Deal
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$241
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$193/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$332
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,586)
Filter reviews
3,586 results
Traveller rating
3,258
267
45
13
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,258
267
45
13
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine baroutdoor showerour honeymooncasita deluxecosta ricasushi restaurantarenal volcanoamor locoaltamira restaurantgranola barsprivate deckmain restaurantgolf cartwine pairing dinnerswim up barzip liningturn down service
Filter
Updating list...
3,053 - 3,058 of 3,586 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2010

The staff were, without exception, quite superb - friendly, efficient, polite & always helpful. We found our room to be of a very high standard - well appointed, spotlessly clean with a fantastic view of the volcano. Restaurant, pool and gardens were also excellent. We would commend & thank the manager & staff for making our stay so memorable.

Haydn & Carol Hughes

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G0ECJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

I went on vacation with a few friends and I can't say enough about this hotel...the rooms,the service, the volcano view...ALL SPECTACULAR. I would definately return to this hotel and if you go to Arenal this is the place to stay!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sushssh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights during our honeymoon. We had booked a suite with a private jacuzzi and outdoor showers. The room was the BIGGEST room I have ever slept in, with a fantastic view of the volcano.
The pool was also fantastic with a swim up bar. The restaurant, although the food was good, was a little overpriced. The only downside to this hotel was the bar. It is a wine bar, with selfserve wine machines, you slot in a card and the charge immediately goes on your room. It is a good concept, but the wine they were selling for $10 a glass, can be bought for £6 a bottle in the UK. It would be good if they could just have a standard more relaxed bar. We ended up driving to the supermarket, buying some decent wine and sitting on our terrace in the evening.
We booked the volcano walk and the boat trip through the hotel, after their advice not to do the night hike. Both trips were fantastic with knowledgable guides. We saw a lot of wildlife.
All in all, great hotel. It is very new, and there is still some building work going on. There a still a few things they could improve on, but the bedrooms are beautiful, with helpful staff and amazing views.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen_holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2010

We didn't want to leave...even the kids....they chased and held sweet white bunnies, sat on the porch and relaxed in the hammock and viewed the volcano, awesome pool, yummy food....there wasn't a staff member who wasn't helpful, courteous and nice. The beds were the best (best of all the places we stayed in Costa Rica) by leaps and bounds, private outside and inside showers....beautiful gardens, small and not a lot of people. We were in the pool (by the way it has a swim up bar and tables in the pool for your drinks) and the volcano spewed a little lava...saw it poolside. Note here is that none of the hotels (except for the observatory and a hotel way out of the way) has view of the lava flow...that changed a couple years back with an earthquake. Stay here....you'll LOVE it! Ask for a room with a volcano view and enjoy.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diggernut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2010

Anyone who didn't love this hotel is too critical and picky to be trusted. It is the second-most beautiful hotel I've ever stayed at in my life (The first is Mykonos Grand in Greece, which I also discovered on this website) It is lush, romantic, private and full of understated luxury. I loved the pool and the pool bar made excellent cocktails. The suite I stayed in was enormous and I loved the African-vibe of the decorations. A few observations- the restaurant is only ok. Take a taxi into town and try one of the many great (and far less expensive) places on the main strip. Also, you're coming to the jungle. Anyone overly squemish about bugs needs to remember that you are in nature- relax. You'll be back to your perfect, sanitized bug-free life in no time. Enjoy your stay in the jungle. I recommend sleeping with the balcony doors open so you can hear the jungle noises outside, truly unforgettable.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chicagogirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews