We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
18
26
15
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
26
15
4
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Centrally located downtown within walking distance to everything you need. Farmer's market is right outside the door two days a week. Patricia the owner is very nice and a great resource. The rest of the staff is always super friendly and helpful. Great common space downstairs to hang out and use the wifi. Rooms are plentiful, it's a big place. I was in a small room with a double bed, clean bathrooms down the hall. Great value.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Accepts credit cards. Room with private bathroom costs $25. Hot water. Very clean. Optional breakfast costs $5. Owned-managed by a friendly, helpful American woman who can give you excellent advice. This is a budget hotel--not a place to spend all day in the room. Bed was comfortable, and fans are available if requested. Free wifi. Good location close to decent restaurants and internet cafe. Walking distance to bus station. If you ask politely, you can store a drink in the fridge. Fresh towels every day. Good common areas for relaxing...

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBrandt77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Accommodation is pretty basic for the shared bath room options. Just a small room with a bunk bed which was a little hot so maybe ask if they have a fan? Best was Patricia the ex-pat owner with her amazing knowledge and tips that helps choose the right river rafting and other tour and transport options. Downstairs she lives with her family that gives a homely touch for long term travellers including the chance to pat the family dogs.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidhughtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I initially though we had a great find at this cheap spot. The owners were friendly and all... but I was eaten alive during the night. My husband woke up because I was scratching so much. There were bed bugs here. I was itching the rest of my trip in Costa rica, praying I wasn't transporting bed bugs to the other hotels I visited.
Again... this place was cheap and had warm water- but I would pay any price more than $20 to not have bed bug bites all over me (and perhaps mosquitos too, the tops of this inside rooms are open to the hallways)
Drive the 5 minutes out of town to Turrialtico lodge and you will be forever thankful.
oh, and they could splurge and replace their scrabble board - its missing tons of letters!

Room Tip: Don't pick one infested with bed bugs! Good luck with that
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ALWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The manager and his wife are adorable, really helpful. They gave us really good advice concerning the rafting agency and the surroundings of the hotel.
The hotel is clean but a bit noisy. The wifi is powerfull enough to skype and the laundry service is good. It's a good value for money

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarineHugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews