We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best option in Turrialba”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Interamericano
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Turrialba
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed here having read some good reviews on here and in the lonely planet. The owner was absolutely lovely in sorting out everything we needed and the value was incredibly good. She arranged our rafting tour for us as well!

Rooms are very basic. but incredibly clean. The hottest showers we were able to find in any budget place in Central America! Her family and dogs are also lovely. The downstairs lounge area is great, as the wifi doesn't quite extend to the rooms. You must be considerate as you do have to share the downstairs with the family (and dogs) as it is also their home!

The only real downside was the noise due to the local market. If possible, ask to go on the opposite side of the building to the market (if you're there on a thursday or friday night)

Room Tip: If possible, ask to go on the opposite side of the building to the market!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

Centrally located downtown within walking distance to everything you need. Farmer's market is right outside the door two days a week. Patricia the owner is very nice and a great resource. The rest of the staff is always super friendly and helpful. Great common space downstairs to hang out and use the wifi. Rooms are plentiful, it's a big place. I was in a small room with a double bed, clean bathrooms down the hall. Great value.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Accepts credit cards. Room with private bathroom costs $25. Hot water. Very clean. Optional breakfast costs $5. Owned-managed by a friendly, helpful American woman who can give you excellent advice. This is a budget hotel--not a place to spend all day in the room. Bed was comfortable, and fans are available if requested. Free wifi. Good location close to decent restaurants and internet cafe. Walking distance to bus station. If you ask politely, you can store a drink in the fridge. Fresh towels every day. Good common areas for relaxing...

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBrandt77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Accommodation is pretty basic for the shared bath room options. Just a small room with a bunk bed which was a little hot so maybe ask if they have a fan? Best was Patricia the ex-pat owner with her amazing knowledge and tips that helps choose the right river rafting and other tour and transport options. Downstairs she lives with her family that gives a homely touch for long term travellers including the chance to pat the family dogs.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidhughtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I initially though we had a great find at this cheap spot. The owners were friendly and all... but I was eaten alive during the night. My husband woke up because I was scratching so much. There were bed bugs here. I was itching the rest of my trip in Costa rica, praying I wasn't transporting bed bugs to the other hotels I visited.
Again... this place was cheap and had warm water- but I would pay any price more than $20 to not have bed bug bites all over me (and perhaps mosquitos too, the tops of this inside rooms are open to the hallways)
Drive the 5 minutes out of town to Turrialtico lodge and you will be forever thankful.
oh, and they could splurge and replace their scrabble board - its missing tons of letters!

Room Tip: Don't pick one infested with bed bugs! Good luck with that
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ALWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turrialba
8.9 km away
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
#2 of 12 in Turrialba
292 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Wagelia Turrialba
Hotel Wagelia Turrialba
#9 of 12 in Turrialba
66 reviews
4.2 km away
Hotel Villa Florencia
Hotel Villa Florencia
#5 of 12 in Turrialba
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Hotel Casa Turire
Hotel Casa Turire
#3 of 12 in Turrialba
296 reviews
22.7 km away
Orosi Lodge
Orosi Lodge
#1 of 3 in Orosi
412 reviews
2.0 km away
Green Mountain and Lodge
Green Mountain and Lodge
#4 of 12 in Turrialba
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Interamericano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Interamericano

Address: Avenida 1 | Across the Park From the Banco Nacional, Turrialba 7150, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Cartago > Turrialba
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Turrialba
Price Range: $27 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Interamericano 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the hotel that becomes your home away from home. We can accommodate singles, couples, groups of friends and even larger student and travel groups. Receive hotel privacy at hostel prices. We are a family run business and very willing to help accommodate our guests' needs and requests. We can help you arrange tours and activities during your stay in Turrialba and we can even recommend some places to visit just to relax. We are located right in the center of Turrialba town, so you have easy access to restaurants, shops, bars, banks, post office and even three ice cream shops from which to choose your delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Interamericano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing