We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but surroundings a bit ugly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Interamericano
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Turrialba
Reviewed 2 March 2017

The outside of the building is rather ugly, like a big warehouse, and faces a large covered-in section of roadway where there is sometimes a market. Beggars frequent it by day and homeless people sleep there at night. It's a pretty depressing area and on market days can be very noisy,

The inside is a lot nicer. All of the accommodation is now at first floor level, with just the reception desk downstairs, and the woman who runs it (a former New Yorker) is pleasant and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable and have good storage space and a few surfaces to put things down. The Wi-Fi was very good in the room in which we stayed. The kitchen is clean and well appointed. We thought that it was good value for what we paid, very central despite the grottiness of the surroundings, but nothing out of the ordinary. It suited our needs for a chilling-out stop between visits to the various National Parks. Turrialba in the dry season doesn't have a great deal to offer.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that doesn't face the market area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

We were here with our family before an early rafting trip. We had a Family room incl private bathroom. This place hasn't been invested in in 20 yrs or so. We were here on Saturday night, we had disco in our room until 02.00 hrs.... The musquito nets have big, big holes. And it was quite hot... We had Roomnr 13. It was the seize of a cupboard with 4 people and 3 travelbags.

Positive: The USA lady of the house was very friendly and very helpful, compliments!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Elisabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2015

Even if there's a suspicious park in front of it (meaning, with strange people at night), the hotel is quite central and rather close to some restaurants and clubs with nightlife. Besides, the staff was very friendly and all the rooms and spaces were clean. The only annoying point was not having the bathroom inside our bedroom and the fact that the wi-fi signal was very weak there.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lorena463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2015 via mobile

Stayed for two nights, hotel was quiet...indoors anyway. There was various noise coming from outside but I'm not unused to sleeping with earplugs so no major drama for me!
Centrally located in the town. Room and toilet/shower facilities were clean, hosts and staff were friendly and accommodating. Parking out the front for couple of cars, secure premises. No fan or aircon but didn't need it in June.
Overall good stay for a budget hotel.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
Thank de6s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2015 via mobile

We had read about how Turrialba had become a backwater town since the new road bypassed it and it's true. Unfortunately this hotel had the feeling of being a victim of the times. The building is shabby from the outside but you can see that it would have once been a grand place.
The room was clean enough but the halls were echoey and very loud, lots of school children shouting and banging doors. Everything looked very tired and sad.
The area immediately around the hotel was also not too salubrious and you were left with an overall feeling of being less than safe. We left on the first bus the next morning.

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Laurence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turrialba
8.9 km away
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
#2 of 12 in Turrialba
290 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Wagelia Turrialba
Hotel Wagelia Turrialba
#9 of 12 in Turrialba
66 reviews
4.2 km away
Hotel Villa Florencia
Hotel Villa Florencia
#4 of 12 in Turrialba
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Hotel Casa Turire
Hotel Casa Turire
#3 of 12 in Turrialba
296 reviews
22.7 km away
Orosi Lodge
Orosi Lodge
#1 of 3 in Orosi
412 reviews
2.0 km away
Green Mountain and Lodge
Green Mountain and Lodge
#5 of 12 in Turrialba
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Interamericano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Interamericano

Address: Avenida 1 | Across the Park From the Banco Nacional, Turrialba 7150, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Cartago > Turrialba
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Turrialba
Price Range: $27 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Interamericano 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the hotel that becomes your home away from home. We can accommodate singles, couples, groups of friends and even larger student and travel groups. Receive hotel privacy at hostel prices. We are a family run business and very willing to help accommodate our guests' needs and requests. We can help you arrange tours and activities during your stay in Turrialba and we can even recommend some places to visit just to relax. We are located right in the center of Turrialba town, so you have easy access to restaurants, shops, bars, banks, post office and even three ice cream shops from which to choose your delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Interamericano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing